Well, dear reader, I accomplished every single one of my weekend goals!  And it’s only Saturday!  Can you even believe it?  Cleaned Wee One’s room, took a nap, AND, The Mister tried the Teriyaki Tofu recipe I posted earlier in the week (WONDERFUL recipe, btw.)  YAY!!!

Some weekend days I love just relaxing, but gosh, it sure felt good to be productive day!

QUOTABLES.

I think I saved the best New Years quote for last:

A happy New Year! Grant that I
May bring no tear to any eye
When this New Year in time shall end
Let it be said I’ve played the friend,
Have lived and loved and labored here,
And made of it a happy year. 

Edgar Guest

I ADORE this quote—it could be by mantra for the year, I think: to be a better person, happy, who has loved and worked hard, caused no one hurt , and been a friend.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Thank you, Ms. Kristen Johnson, for introducing us to Sandra Boynton!  We have become BIG fans.

Moo Ba La La La

By Sandra Boynton

Ms. Boynton’s illustrations are super adorable, and make me chuckle every time….and the text is easy to follow along with, and quite lyrical as well…

DO RE MI.

I. Love. Broadway. Musicals.  I got my first taste when I acted in one each fall in high school, and fell head over heels when I got to see a few shows in NYC during a choir trip there.  There are so many nights I dream of being a star on Broadway….so unrealistic, I know.  After all, I’m 30, no dance training, and would need a lot of acting lessons, and some more vocal training, and….but, a girl can dream right?  :)

Anyway, today (and yesterday too, for that matter), while I was cleaning and organizing Wee One’s room, I blasted some good ol’ fashioned showtunes (and some not-so-ol’-fashioned-ones as well).  She loved them nearly as much as I do!

“On Broadway”, Channel 72 on SiriusXM is phenomenal!

This was one we sang today:

Getting To Know You

From “The King and I”

Sung by MY ALLTIME FAVORITE–Julie Andrews

To purchase and download “Getting to Know You” sung by Julie Andrews, click below:

Getting to Know You [The King and I

Lyrics:
[Spoken] It’s a very ancient saying,
But a true and honest thought,
That if you become a teacher,
By your pupils you’ll be taught.

[Singing] As a teacher I’ve been learning –
You’ll forgive me if I boast –
And I’ve now become an expert,
On the subject I like most.

[Spoken] Getting to know you.

[Singing] Getting to know you,
Getting to know all about you.
Getting to like you,
Getting to hope you like me.

Getting to know you,
Putting it my way,
But nicely,
You are precisely,
My cup of tea.

[ANNA AND THE MOTHERS]

Getting to know you,
Getting to know all about you.
Getting to like you,
Getting to hope you like me.

Getting to know you,
Putting it my way,
But nicely,
You are precisely,

[ANNA]

My cup of tea.

[ALL]

Getting to know you,
Getting to feel free and easy
When I am with you,
Getting to know what to say

Haven’t you noticed
Suddenly I’m bright and breezy?
Because of all the beautiful and new
Things I’m learning about you
Day by day.

Getting to know you,
Getting to feel free and easy
When I am with you,
Getting to know what to say

Haven’t you noticed
Suddenly I’m bright and breezy?
Because of all the beautiful and new
Things I’m learning about you
Day .. by … day.

To download the piano solo sheet music version of “Getting to Know You”, click here; for the piano and vocal version, click here.

“The King and I” original Broadway soundtrack, with Yul Brenner, is also wonderful.

Words cannot even BEGIN to explain how much I admire Julie Andrews….she is such a strong, graceful, charming, TALENTED woman.

A few bits o’ trivia (courtesy of IMDB.com):

She adopted two children from Vietnam

While she played the original Eliza Dolittle in the Broadway musical “My Fair Lady”, Audrey Hepburn played the part in the movie My Fair Lady(1964). The studio executives did not want Andrews because she hadn’t had any experience in film and thought Hepburn would be the better choice. However, while the film My Fair Lady took home several Oscars in 1964, it failed to win the Best Actress category. That award went to none other than Julie Andrews for her performance in Mary Poppins (1964).

Has a rose named after her.

Pen name: Julie Edwards

Has owned a chalet in Gstaad, Switzerland, for many years. Every year she pays for Gstaad’s Christmas lights. In July she presents the prize for the winner of the annual Gstaad Tennis Open. She once said if she was nervous before a performance on stage, she’d just have to look at a photo from ‘lovely’ Gstaad, and she was reassured

Sings scales rather than songs in the shower.

Has perfect pitch.

Best friends with Carol Burnett. Carol is godmother of Julie’s daughter, Emma Walton.

Could sing notes only dogs could hear at the age of seven.

 Turned down her Tony nomination for “Victor/Victoria” for Best Actress in a Musical in 1996 because the rest of the cast and crew were overlooked for consideration.
Learned to play the guitar specifically for the role of “Maria” in The Sound of Music (1965).
Quotes:

“Singing has never been particularly easy for me.”

“Films are much more my level. On stage I never feel quite enough.”

[upon answering whether Mary Poppins and Bert ever got it together]: “I hope so. She wouldn’t admit it, but I do hope so.”

“I had a teacher who stressed for me the importance of diction in terms of – I want to be very careful about how I say this – in terms of supporting one’s voice when one is singing. In other words, if you hold on to your words, your voice will pull through for you when you’re singing. So be true to your vowels. Supposing you have to sing [from "The Messiah"] “Behold thy king cometh unto thee”. If you do a strong “thee”, it will help you with the “-hold”, which is a much higher note. And it’s the note before the note that matters, then you unpeel a song backwards.”

“A lot of my life happened in great, wonderful bursts of good fortune, and then I would race to be worthy of it.”

“I’ve learned things about myself through singing. I used to have a certain dislike of the audience, not as individual people, but as a giant body who was judging me. Of course, it wasn’t really them judging me. It was me judging me. Once I got past that fear, it freed me up, not just when I was performing but in other parts of my life.”

“Sometimes I’m so sweet even I can’t stand it.”

Oh, Ms. Andrews…..you are my hero(ine)!

NOURISHMENT.

It is “National Tempura Day” (see below)—what?  There’s a holiday for EVERYTHING!  Sheesh!!  Not a huge fan of tempura, but I DO love sushi.  However, the making of any sort of sushi/roll at home intimidates me beyond measure.  So, I wonder if we can find something a little easier, but just as tasty…?

Well, a couple of years ago, I attempted to make this recipe by Heidi Swanson of 101 Cookbooks.  I failed MISERABLY.  Burnt the “toasted” sesame seeds, and the nori.  I’m sure it is super delicious….I just didn’t have the skill to make it.

However, the idea of sushi + bowl still intrigues me, so I looked for another, somewhat similar, recipe, and came upon this:

Sushi Bowl by Crumbly Cookie

Sushi Bowl by Crumbly Cookie

Sushi Bowl by Crumbly Cookie (with my own modifications)

4 servings

1⅓ cups rice, rinsed well (I would like to possibly try brown rice..?)
1⅓ cups water
¼ cup soy sauce (low sodium)
2-3 teaspoons wasabi, depending on how “spicy” you want your bowl to be
4 teaspoons rice vinegar
4 teaspoons sugar
½ teaspoon salt
2 (8 by 7-inch) sheets nori/seaweed, cut into strips 1½ inches long and ⅛ inch wide
1 avocado, pitted, flesh scooped from skin and cut into chunks 1 inch long and ¼ inch wide
1 cucumber, peeled and cut into matchsticks 1½ inches long and ⅛ inch wide
2 green onions, halved lengthwise and cut into strips 1 inch long
1 package imitation crab meat, chopped, sliced, or shredded, or 8 oz cooked shrimp
¼ cup sesame seeds, toasted

1. Rinse the rice. Place the rice and water in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over high heat, uncovered. Once it begins to boil, reduce the heat to the lowest setting and cover. Cook for 15 minutes. Remove from the heat and let stand, covered, for 10 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, combine the soy sauce and wasabi in a small bowl. Combine the rice vinegar, sugar and salt in a separate small bowl and heat in the microwave on high for 30 to 45 seconds, until the sugar dissolves. Transfer the rice into a large wooden or glass mixing bowl and add the vinegar mixture. Fold and cut thoroughly to combine and coat each grain of rice with the mixture. Fan until rice is near room temperature. (If you use an electric fan, this will only take about a minute.) Do not refrigerate.

3. Combine rice, wasabi mixture, and remaining ingredients. Serve.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 7: A place for everything

Follow me on Pinterest.

CELEBRATIONS.

January 7, 2012 is…

Old Rock Day

National Tempura Day

Harlem Globetrotter’s Day

I’m a bit underwhelmed by today’s celebrations…although fossils ARE pretty cool!

ACTION.

As I was cleaning, cleaning, and cleaning away today, Wee One sat in her Bumbo, chewing on some plastic keys, and watching me…Then, a few more lively showtunes came on, and I started to DANCE!  She found this SO AMUSING, and laughed, and laughed!  I picked her up, and we danced around the room, therefore:

DANCE!

It’s great exercise, and SO FUN.  For mama AND Wee One.  Why not??

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

So, I found a list of some upcoming tech stuff for 2012.  I was pretty underwhelmed, but, I’m not a “techie” by any stretch of the imagination, so there could be some great stuff coming up that just doesn’t mean a lot to ME, but could mean a lot to YOU.

Most-anticipated tech products of 2012 at cnet.com

New iPad, new iPhone…yadda yadda yadda…

WORK IT.

Front Leg Lifts

(From cosmopolitan.com)

Targets: Abs

Lower legs until they’re 6 inches off the floor, and then bend knees into chest. Extend legs straight out, lowering right leg back near the ground while kicking left leg toward the ceiling. Switch legs and repeat 25 times.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Wee One’s mobile…I looked everywhere for this, but it was sold out….until I checked eBay, where I found it for a super good deal!  Aren’t good deals so FUN?

WWW.

This blog has become QUITE popular, and deservedly so.  OOOOOh she is so creative!!!

Bakerella

The Mister got me a cake ball maker for my 30th birthday, and I am SO excited to try out one of Bakerella’s recipes….like this one!

HMMM.

If you could create a national holiday to celebrate anything at all, what would it be, and which day would you dedicate to honor your choice?

What a first week of 2012!

