Wow.  Tuesday already!  As you can see, I THINK I got most of the formatting things fixed…Now, it’s just a matter of going BACK to older posts, making sure they’re all a-okay…OH, and making sure all of the menu items have content….and, trying to post the night BEFORE.  Yup…”wow” sums it up.  Blogging is hard work!  But I love it, and TRULY APPRECIATE all of your support and feedback.  Thank you!

QUOTABLES.

Grandma always made you feel she had been waiting to see just you all day and now the day was complete.  

Marcy DeMaree

This quote is SPOT ON.  My grandma always makes me feel this exact way, and it’s such a wonderful feeling.  I realize, though, that this isn’t limited to grandmas.  My mom makes me feel this way too…and I want to be able to provide this feeling of safety and love to Wee One…definitely something to strive for!

CELEBRATIONS.

January 17, 2012 is…

Ben Franklin Day

Cable Car Day

Hot Buttered Rum Day

Kid Inventors Day

I love the idea of a Kid Inventors Day!  What a day of inspiration!  (Check out this site dedicated to the day: Kid Inventors Day.)  Did you know that kids invented television, waterskis, the popsicle, AND ear muffs?  That is sooo neat!  AND….so appropriate that this day fell on the birthday of Benjamin Franklin, right?

A few interesting factoids about Mr. Franklin:

He always had a printing press, in all places he lived.

Was an avid swimmer.

Taught himself to read French, Spanish, Latin, and Italian.

Established the colonies’ first circulation library.

Organized the colonies’ first insurance company.

Developed new electricity terminology, including “battery”, “conductor”, “charged”, “positively” and “negatively”.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I got a lot of Lois Ehlert books online before Wee One’s birth, and this book is really neat.  It teaches about shapes AND animals.  Wee One seemed FASCINATED by this.  Truly.

Color Zoo

By Lois Ehlert

I’m definitely looking forward to the other books by Ms. Ehlert that we own…and will likely look into finding even MORE of her books that we don’t have!

DO RE MI.

In addition to my father’s “Anne Murray” tape, I also remember listening to a lot of Neil Diamond growing up.  I never would have thought I would like him into adulthood….but I DO!

This song is definitely by far one of my favorites that Neil has done.

Sweet, Caroline

By Neil Diamond

To purchase and download “Sweet Caroline” by Neil Diamond, click below:

Sweet Caroline

Lyrics:

Where it began, I can’t begin to know when
But then I know it’s growing strong
Oh, wasn’t the spring, whooo
And spring became the summer
Who’d believe you’d come along

Hands, touching hands, reaching out
Touching me, touching you
Oh, sweet Caroline
Good times never seem so good
I’ve been inclined to believe it never would

And now I, I look at the night, whooo
And it don’t seem so lonely
We fill it up with only two, oh
And when I hurt
Hurting runs off my shoulder
How can I hurt when holding you

Oh, one, touching one, reaching out
Touching me, touching you
Oh, sweet Caroline
Good times never seem so good
Oh I’ve been inclined to believe it never would

Ohhh, sweet Caroline, good times never seem so good….

To download “Sweet Caroline” by Neil Diamond, easy piano version, click here; for the piano, vocal and guitar version, click here.

I especially love when this song is played at summer baseball games!!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 17: Print-a-riffic

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

Today is apparently Hot Buttered Rum Day.  I had HEARD of this drink before, but never really knew what it was.  Well, it’s basically what it sounds like–a warm drink involving rum and butter.  Sounds delicious…?  Okay.  I’ll be honest with you.  This does NOT sound like the kind of drink I would normally drink.  HOWEVER, I did a bit of research, and this recipe, for Pumpkin Hot Butter (to be mixed with rum) sounds alright.  I mean, hey!  Leila, the blogger, begins her post talking about how one of her favorite childhood treats was buttered toast with cinnamon and sugar.  This was MY favorite snack growing up as well…I think she and I would get along just fine!  :)

Pumpkin Hot Butter from Spinach and Skittles

Hmm….sounds interesting!  I wonder if the butter could be used for something OTHER than a drink?

ACTION.

I am trying to get Wee One to talk.  By repeating “mamamamamamama” over and over and over again.  Before you think I am trying to trick her into saying “mama” first, I quickly follow this up by repeating “papapapapapapapa”, too, just to be fair to The Mister.

Repeat words.

She hasn’t actually said any words yet, but DOES find this charade hilarious.  Especially when I emphasize “MMMMMMMMMMMama”.  Oh, Wee One…you make me giggle.  A lot.

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

How much do the past actions of politicians, or their spouses, other family members, or friends, impact your vote?

This article explores the prior “indiscretions” of Candidate Santorum’s wife:

Karen Santorum’s Impure Youth by Amanda Marcotte

Excerpt:

“Rick and Karen Santorum really take the cake in the “do as I say, not as I do” department. Building on earlier revelations that the Santorums themselves considered abortion for health reasons while Rick Santorum worked diligently to deny that right to others is the new revelation that Karen Santorum spent most of her 20s living with her much-older boyfriend out of wedlock. Oh yeah, and that boyfriend was an outspoken abortion provider, the kind of person her husband would very much like to throw in jail.”

What are YOUR thoughts on this?  Does it matter to you, or not?

WORK IT.

The Bicycle Row

(From harpersbazaar.com)

Targets: Arms and butt

Get on all fours and reach your arm towards the wall and then back towards your hip. At the same time, raise the opposite leg, raise it straight up behind you engaging your abs and bring it back down to the floor. Do 12 reps on each side.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

The Mister made tofu stirfry tonight, and it was delicioso!

He is QUITE the chef!

WWW.

G.O.R.G.E.O.U.S.  It’s the only word I can think of, and that doesn’t even BEGIN to describe how BEAUTIFUL the blog of “Honey & Jam” is.  I could literally peruse this site for HOURS.

Honey & Jam

I mean, Hannah, the author, is just SO UBER talented.  And, of course, it’s not just that the photographs are stunning; the recipes are amazing too.

I’ve been on a pancake kick recently, and these just made my jaw drop:

Whole Grain Pumpkin Pancakes with Apple Maple Compote from Honey & Jam

How gooooood do these look??

HMMM.

Do you have any “inventions” you’d like to share?

Okay…as mentioned above, I have a LOT to do to get this blog in tip top shape….so off I go!  (No promises this will be done by tonight or tomorrow, but it is definitely a work in progress!)  If you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

