Wee One was talking up a storm today….rarararadadadararadara!  (Can YOU understand that?)  :)

QUOTABLES.

Yay!  I try to be enthusiastic a LOT around Wee One, so this quote makes me feel as though I’m not TOTALLY overdoing my upbeat manner!

CELEBRATIONS.

January 31, 2012 is…

Backward Day

Brandy Alexander Day

Inspire Your Heart with Art Day

I could try to write backwards…but gosh, that takes a lot of effort!  I’m sure there are OTHER fun ways to celebrate this day!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

This book is SO cute….

Peek-a-boo Forest

A Lamaze Cloth Book

I just adore the images, and rhymes of this book. Definitely two thumbs up! (I just wish it was longer!!)

DO RE MI.

Another favorite of mine, sung by Anne Murray (but originally sung by Shirley Temple, I think):

Animal Crackers

Sung by Anne Murray

To purchase and download “Animal Crackers”, sung by Anne Murray, click below:

Animal Crackers

Lyrics:

Animal crackers in my soup

Monkeys and rabbits loop the loop

Gosh oh gee but I have fun

Swallowing animals one by one

In every bowl of soup I see

Lions and Tigers watching me

I make ‘em jump right through a hoop

Those animal crackers in my soup

When I get hold of the big bad wolf

I just push him under to drown

Then I bite him in a million bits

And I gobble him right down W

hen their inside me where its dark

I walk around like Noahs Arc

I stuff my tummy like a goop

With animal crackers in my soup

Animal crackers in my soup

Do funny things to me T

hey make me think my neighbourhood

Is a big menagerie

For instance there’s our Janitor

His name is Mr Klein

And when he Hollers at us kids

He reminds me of a Lion

The Grocer is so big and fat

He has a big moustache

He looks just like a Walrus

Just before he takes a splash

This song sure brings back good memories of cruising around town with my dad in his truck!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 31: Crackers in my soup

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

No idea what a Brandy Alexander is….so let’s find out!

Brandy Alexander from Suburban Bliss

Hmmm…I might have to try this.  Now, like most cocktails, there are lots of variations of this recipe floating around, so I recommend doing a quick search to find YOUR favorite…this picture just happened to be nice!

ACTION.

Today, we tried to get Wee One to repeat what we were saying.

Repeat words and sounds

We did this by making sounds (mama, papa, dada, etc.), and ALSO by repeating HER sounds, and seeing if she would mimic us back…this is a great way to encourage more vocal and language development!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Stephen Colbert is SO witty…I don’t watch “The Colbert Report” much anymore, but when I do catch snippets of it, he always makes me chuckle.

How Many Stephen Colberts Are There? By Charles McGrath

Excerpt:

The Colbert on-screen persona is actually less rigid than it used to be, and Colbert can dial it up or down as he chooses. There is now more of a winking quality to the act, a sense that we’re all in on the joke. And in the last part of the show, when Colbert typically leaps up from his desk and bounds across the set to a table in front of a fireplace with the Latin motto “Videri quam esse” (“To seem to be, rather than to be”), where he interviews a guest about a new book or movie, he usually tamps the character down enough to allow the guest a few minutes to get his or her own message across.

When Harry Belafonte was on recently, for example, Colbert cut him some admiring slack and even joined in singing “Jamaica Farewell,” instead of ripping into Belafonte for being a lefty agitator. A month earlier, in September, the Colbert presence was so friendly and relaxed that Al Gore, on to talk about the Climate Reality Project, forgot himself and violated the show’s cardinal rule — he broke the fictional wall. Talking about Keith Olbermann, Gore said, “He scares Fox News, and he scares your character, as he should.” “My character?” Colbert cried in mock bewilderment.

Colbert is not Ali G. He doesn’t sandbag the unsuspecting. And he is particularly careful to visit guests beforehand in the green room and prepare them for what’s going to happen. When John Lithgow was on recently to promote his new memoir, “Drama,” Colbert warned him that his character would become the biggest jerk Lithgow had ever met. “Just pretend I’m the drunk in a bar who won’t shut up,” he said.

 Maybe I need to tune in more frequently!

WORK IT.

Pushups

(From redbookmag.com)

Targets: Arms, core

Get down on all fours on a mat or carpeted surface, place your knees on the floor, and lift your feet. Support your upper body by placing your hands directly under your shoulders (your arms should be completely parallel). Got it? Good. Now rotate your elbows so that they’re pointing toward your hips and press your fingers into the mat. And be careful not to let your back “sag”; tighten your core muscles so that your spine isn’t curved one way or the other.

Slowly lower your body toward the mat as you exhale. Keep your arms close to your body and concentrate on controlling your hips so your movements are completely controlled. Remember: Your chest and your hips should move in one line — no flopping down on the mat!

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Butterflies in Wee One’s room…

Quickie photo with bad lighting….thanks for sticking with me!

WWW.

I have really enjoyed this website for quite a long while, and just had to share it with ya’ll.

alphamom

From pregnancy, to parenting, and beyond, this site has everything a mama (or papa!) could wish for, and is INCREDIBLY well done!

For example, check out this recent tutorial:

DIY Valentine Hand-Warmers from alphamom

Such a great craft to warm the hands AND a great site to warm the soul during these winter months (and in the spring, summer, and fall, too!)

HMMM.

Would you ever vote for a third-party candidate?  If so, would you do so because you feel they actually may win, or for some other reason?

It’s still beautiful here this week, and hope it is JUST as beautiful wherever you are!

