Yesterday, I posted about religious freedom, and Planned Parenthood…whew!  What controversial topics, eh?

Therefore, let’s have today be a FUN day!  :)

QUOTABLES.

Fun is good.
Dr. Seuss

I don’t think adults have enough FUN…how often do we actually laugh and play?  Perhaps we should try to do this more often.

CELEBRATIONS.

February 2, 2012 is…

Bonza Bottler Day

Groundhog Day

Hedgehog Day

Sled Dog Day

World Wetlands Day

Hedgehogs AND groundhogs….what other kinds of hogs are there?

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Today is a bit different…I didn’t actually READ to Wee One today.  Instead, I told her the story of Goldilocks and the Three Bears, from memory

Goldilocks and the Three Bears

OH MY!  This porridge is JUST RIGHT!

DO RE MI.

Wee One is our BLUE eyed girl!

Brown Eyed Girl

By Van Morrison

To purchase and download “Brown Eyed Girl”, by Van Morrison, click below:

Brown Eyed Girl

Lyrics:

Hey where did we go,
Days when the rains came
Down in the hollow,
Playin’ a new game,
Laughing and a running hey, hey
Skipping and a jumping
In the misty morning fog with
Our hearts a thumpin’ and you
My brown eyed girl,
You my brown eyed girl.

Whatever happened
To Tuesday and so slow
Going down the old mine
With a transistor radio
Standing in the sunlight laughing,
Hiding behind a rainbow’s wall,
Slipping and sliding
All along the water fall, with you
My brown eyed girl,
You my brown eyed girl.

Do you remember when we used to sing,
Sha la la la la la la la la la la te da

So hard to find my way,
Now that I’m all on my own.
I saw you just the other day,
My how you have grown,
Cast my memory back there, Lord
Sometime I’m overcome thinking ’bout
Making love in the green grass
Behind the stadium with you
My brown eyed girl
You my brown eyed girl

Do you remember when we used to sing
Sha la la la la la la la la la la te da.

To download the piano, vocal, guitar sheet music version of “Brown Eyed Girl”, click here.

I remember when I first heard this song…ah, such great memories.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 2: Hogs: Hedge and Ground (Hedgehogs and Groundhogs)

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I turned to some recently pinned items on Pinterest board for today’s post, and found this:

Overnight, Slow Cooker, Banana & Coconut Milk Steel-Cut Oatmeal by The Yummy Life

Doesn’t this look SO NUMMY for a cold winter’s day?  Sign me up!

ACTION.

Long car trips call for fun activities for Wee One

This little piggie:

This little piggie went to market.  This little piggie stayed home.  This little piggie had roast beef.  This little pigge had none.  And this little piggie went “Wee, wee, wee, wee!” all the way home. 

Since it was a bit chilly, and Wee One was wearing footie pjs, we did this with her fingers instead of the usual toes….it worked really well!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

The title of this article poses an interesting question:

Should All Americans Have to Earn Their Citizenship? by Eric Liu

Excerpt:

Why should citizenship be a matter of birth? The premise held by those who want to end birthright citizenship is that some people deserve it and some do not – that the status shouldn’t be handed out automatically. Frankly, that’s a premise worth considering.

What if being born here counted for exactly nothing? How would you earn citizenship if it weren’t given conferred by the accident of birth? To put it more sharply: What if, in order to earn citizenship, Americans whose families have been here for generations were subject to the very same requirements as newcomers?

How do YOU feel about citizenship requirements?

WORK IT.

Wings Be Gone

(From familycircle.com)

Targets: Arms, legs, core

Sit on floor with knees bent and feet hip-width apart. Lean torso back slightly and place palms on floor directly in line with shoulders. Lift your hips off floor, bend elbows and lower butt toward floor without letting body touch the ground. Push back to start. Repeat for 30 seconds. Rest and repeat.

Take it up a notch: As you lower body, bring one knee into chest, alternating knee each time you dip.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Wee One’s diaper bag…

Oooh…sometimes I LOVE Vera Bradley!

WWW.

I just found a neat site!

Celebrations at Home

Recipes, party plans, and so much more…how cool!

Check out this recipe for pumpkin pie dump cake:

Pumpkin Pie Dump Cake from Celebrations at Home

Is there ever a season in which pumpkin pie is NOT appropriate?

HMMM.

What do you do regularly for FUN?

I hope to be caught up tomorrow with posts…thanks for bearing with me!  :)