Yes, I have failed at one of my “New Years Resolutions”.  I actually failed on January 2nd.  I was going to update this blog every day…and was so, so, SO very excited to do this.  Then, we spent January 2 traveling, and I was just too exhausted to post.  This was followed by a few days completely packed with work….and of course, I’m trying to spend as much time with The Mister, and Wee One, as I possibly can…And, there it went—the infamous downward spiral of my resolution–right down the “porcelain pagoda” (as my dear Driver’s Ed/Econ teacher, Erv, used to say).

However, after feeling just awful about this “failure” of mine, I reflected on one of my “goals” for the year, and my mood quickly brightened.  You see, I want to live my life ENJOYING life, and making the most of each moment.  I want to view things from a positive perspective.  After giving it some thought, I realized I hadn’t failed!!  My goal was just off.  Now, some of you may think that’s my way of turning lemons into lemonade, and that may be true.  However, why should I feel bad about missing my arbitrary deadline?  Instead, I will blog when I am able, and hopefully take some time each week to catch up on the posts I’ve missed.  If there are only a few posts each week, or month, rather than a post-a-day, so be it!  This may be disappointing to you, oh-so-loyal readers, and if anything, that is probably the one thing that causes me sadness.  However, I know you understand…right?

QUOTABLES.

I made no resolutions for the New Year.  The habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me.  

Anais Nin

Hear, hear!!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

This book always makes me laugh…

Are You My Mother?

By P.D. Eastman

Oh, Wee One…I am your mother!

DO RE MI.

This song really gets stuck in my head…it is so lyrical, and great for a goodnight tune.

Dona Nobis Pacem

Sung by Susie Tallman (from the album “Lullaby Themes for Sleepy Dreams”)

To purchase and download Dona Nobis Pacem by Susie Tallman, click below:

Dona Nobis Pacem

Lyrics:

Dona nobis pacem.

(Pretty simple, huh?)

To download a two-part choral version of “Dona Nobis Pacem”, arranged by Hal H. Hopson, click here.

I am ashamed to admit this, but I don’t think I knew that “Dona Nobis Pacem” was a famous classical tune….isn’t that just shameful of me??  I grew up listening to “Wee Sing”, and this was one of the songs on the “Wee Sing Around the Campfire” cassette.  Now, I’ve gotten nearly all of the new Wee Sing CDs for Wee One, but sadly, they are just not the same…new singers, seemingly new effects or arrangements…blah blah blah.  Is it very difficult to transfer cassettes to CD format?

NOURISHMENT.

On our way back home last evening, we stopped at Pei Wei.  Have you ever been there?  I am in love!  Too bad the closest location is over two hours away.  The portion size is extremely generous, so each entree is totally more than enough for two meals.  (Even The Mister agrees!)  I had a Teriyaki Tofu Bowl…it was chock full of huge pieces of delicious tofu, pea pods, carrots, onions, and brown rice (and probably some other goodies that I’ve forgotten.)  I need to learn how to make this.  NOW!  I am craving it already…..

So, here is a recipe I found for Vegetarian Adventure’s Version of Pei Wei Teriyaki Tofu…can’t wait to try it!

Teriyaki Tofu by Vegetarian Adventure

Teriyaki Tofu by Vegetarian Adventure

Teriyaki Stir Fry by Vegetarian Adventure (with my thoughts/modifications January 7, 2012)

1 lb extra-firm tofu, drained and pressed (we used a package of cubed SUPER-firm tofu, which I highly recommend—didn’t need to be drained/pressed much, and turned out quite well)
2 Tbs canola oil
2 cups sugar snap peas
2 cups broccoli florets
3 green onions, chopped (reserve some green parts for garnish)
(I would also suggest adding 1 c sliced carrots, and 1 c bean sprouts)
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
1/4 cup maple syrup (It ended up being a little sweet, so I would reduce the maple syrup a bit)
2 Tbs rice vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
Pinch of red pepper flakes
2 tsp cornstarch
2 cups hot cooked brown rice

Cut the tofu into thin strips. In a small bowl, combine the teriyaki sauce, maple syrup, vinegar, garlic, red pepper, and cornstarch. Mix well and set aside. In a large skillet (or wok), heat one tablespoon of the oil over medium-high heat. Add the tofu and cook a few minutes without stirring, until lightly browned. Flip over and cook a few minutes more, until both sides are browned. Remove from pan to a plate. Wipe out skillet and add the remaining oil. Add the broccoli and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes. Add the snap peas and green onions and cook, stirring for 3 minutes. Add the tofu. Stir the teriyaki mixture, and then add to the pan. Cook 1 minute until heated through. Serve on top of the brown rice.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 3: Oatmealy

Follow me on Pinterest.

CELEBRATIONS.

January 3, 2012 is…

National Chocolate-covered Cherry Day

Drinking Straw Day

Chocolate-covered cherries?  Eh…I could take ’em or leave ’em.  But drinking straws?  Boy, am I a huge fan!!  Seriously, there is nothing quite like the treat of fountain Coke, sipped with a straw!  (And, I’ve read that sipping drinks, including coffee/tea, with a straw, can potentially reduce the yellowing of teeth…and might even reduce decay!)  Sip away!

In honor of Drinking Straw Day, I just had to find some cute straws…and gosh, do these fit the bill!

Polka Dot Paper Straws from Hey Yo Yo

ACTION.

Wee one has become increasingly fascinated by things around her….her toys, noises, faces…she just takes it all in with such enthusiasm, it’s a joy to watch.  However, I realize that, even though she’s experiencing these things, she does not comprehend what she’s experiencing.  Therefore, the activity today is:

Explain the world around you and your wee one.

“I am tickling your toes!  Does that feel silly?” “You are petting the puppy!  Is he furry?”  “Mama just stuck out her tongue.  Can you do that?”  “Your shirt is pink!  What a pretty color!  P-I-N-K spells pink!”

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Tuesday is the first caucus for the 2012 elections.  This got me thinkin’….what IS a caucus, anyway?

Iowa Caucus: What Actually Happens? by Chris Good and Elizabeth Hartfield

WORK IT.

Fighter Pilot

(from Self.com)

Targets: Shoulders, obliques, back

Stand with feet hip-width apart, knees bent, a weight in each hand, arms down. Bend forward slightly at waist; extend arms to sides at shoulder level, palms forward. Rotate torso left. Let arms follow; look at left hand. Return to center; rotate right to finish rep. Do two sets of 10 reps.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

I was in SUCH a scramble to get a picture….trying to find SOMETHING unique in under .2 seconds, as I had just a TON of work to do.  Came across my husband’s bookshelf, and thought the buffalo would suffice!

WWW.

Came across the cool blog during one of my “Pinning” sessions:

Ginger and George

Such an neat collection of crafty tutorials, links, etc. etc. etc.  Por ejemplo, these gorgeous leather + feather napkin rings:

HMMM.

If you could elect any past or current president to run our country for the next four years, who would it be, and why?

Let the election season begin!

