Over our holiday break, our family decided to watch movies.  And, by “our family decided to watch movies”, I mean, “I sent the Mister out to get some movies from Redbox, and hoped that he would come back with some real winners that people would want to watch.”  I should probably explain a bit:

I love movie days.  Growing up, my parents never really took me to movies.  We didn’t have cable (don’t feel bad, I really wasn’t a deprived child), so, instead, we watched movies on TV (does anyone remember the Saturday night movie, usually a Disney movie, on Saturday nights??), or rented them.  I have such fond memories of watching movies on Saturdays or Sundays (I wasn’t really allowed to watch TV during the week, except for maybe The Cosby Show…otherwise, we VHS-ed stuff, and I got to watch it on the weekends….again, no tears…please…).

For most of my life, I have lived in places that are frigidly cold and snowy in the winter months, and cuddling up with The Mister (and now Wee One!), eating pizza (or other comfort foods), drinking hot cocoa, and watching a slew of movies is truly a treat that I have come to relish.

Anywho….back to my story.  The Mister picked up some Redbox movies, and when he presented me with his choices, I was a little disappointed with one of them.  “Midnight in Paris”, a starring Owen Wilson and Rachel McAdams, and Kathy Bates (among other great actors), and written and directed by Woody Allen.  I’ve tried a couple of Woody Allen movies, but they’ve been a bit obscure for me.  I’m not an indie film kinda gal, and just haven’t really been able to get into films by Mr. Allen.  But, I have to tell you something, dear readers:

I have a new favorite film.  Yes, it’s “Midnight in Paris”!!  I ADORED this film.  Wonderful story, likeable characters, gorgeous setting in Paris (modern day, and 1920’s), good ending, references to “A Moveable Feast” by Ernest Hemingway….absolutely PERFECT.  I cannot find words…you MUST WATCH THIS FILM!!  If you’re anything like me, it will just make you happy.

QUOTABLES.

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.

T.S. Eliot, “Little Gidding”

I love new, exciting beginnings, and am attempting to approach each day as such a new adventure!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I had never read this book before, but got it in the clearance section at Half Price Book before Wee One was born.  This is an adorable book, and apparently there are several more in the series…how exciting!

Angelina Ballerina

By Katharine Holabird 

Fanciful illustrations, and a great lesson about focus and determination.

DO RE MI.

This is one of the first songs I remember hearing my mama sing to Wee One the week she was born.  It brought back fond memories of childhood, and I can’t hear this song without getting just a teensy bit sentimental about the day we welcomed Wee One into the world….(funny, ’cause this song isn’t a sentimental song at all!)

Today is Monday (er…Wednesday?)  🙂

From the album “Wee Sing Sing-Alongs”

To purchase and download Today is Monday from Wee Sing Sing-Alongs, click below:

Today Is Monday

Lyrics:

Today is Monday,
Today is Monday,
Monday wash day,
All you hungry brothers,
We wish the same to you.

Today is Tuesday,
Today is Tuesday,
Tuesday string beans,
Monday wash day,
All you hungry brothers,
We wish the same to you.

Today is Wednesday,
Today is Wednesday,
Wednesday soup,
Tuesday string beans,
Monday wash day,
All you hungry brothers,
We wish the same to you.

Today is Thursday,
Today is Thursday,
Thursday roast beef,
Wednesday soup,
Tuesday string beans,
Monday wash day,
All you hungry brothers,
We wish the same to you.

Today is Friday,
Today is Friday,
Friday fish,
Thursday roast beef,
Wednesday soup,
Tuesday string beans,
Monday wash day,
All you hungry brothers,
We wish the same to you.

Today is Saturday,
Today is Saturday,
Saturday pay day,
Friday fish,
Thursday roast beef,
Wednesday soup,
Tuesday string beans,
Monday wash day,
All you hungry brothers,
We wish the same to you.

Today is Sunday,
Today is Sunday,
Sunday church,
Saturday pay day,
Friday fish,
Thursday roast beef,
Wednesday soup,
Tuesday string beans,
Monday wash day,
All you hungry brothers,
We wish the same to you.

To purchase the Wee Sing Sing-Alongs songbook and CD, click here.  (I couldn’t find any legal downloadable music for this song…sorry!)

Oh my gosh!  In my search to add the link and words to this song, I learned that the beloved Eric Carle has actually written a book called “Today is Monday”!

There’s even a game to go along with it!

AND, there is a series of books called “Today is Monday in ______”, by Johnette Downing and Deborah Kadair for places like Louisiana, Texas, Kentucky, and New York.

Neat, huh?  I think we have some new books to add to our collection!

NOURISHMENT.

Today, we celebrate spaghetti…and I am craving some sort of seafood pasta.  With oodles of different kinds of seafood–scallops, shrimp, maybe mussels…in some sort of garlicky broth, maybe?  Let’s see what we can find…

Seafood Pasta in Paper Bag by Sea Salt with Food

I have modified the recipe a bit, and converted some of the ingredient measurements, as they were in grams:

Seafood Pasta in Bag (modified from the recipe by Sea Salt with Food)

1 Package Linguine

1 Bag of Frozen Large Peeled Shrimp, with Tail On (defrosted) (our small market does not carry fresh—could also use 15 fresh large peeled shrimp, or other sizes as preferred)
1 1/2 Pounds Clams (Unfortunately, I need to use jarred or canned—and therefore, use less than this); could also use 1 1/2 Pounds Mussels, if available
1 Bag of Frozen Medium Size Scallops (defrosted)
1/2-3/4 pound Roma Tomatoes, quartered
3 Cloves Garlic, sliced thinly
1 Small Bunch Fresh Basil Leaves, torn
1 Cup White Wine, divided
4 Tbsp Unsalted Butter, divided
Sea Salt
Freshly Ground Black Pepper

1 Small Bunch Italian Flat Leaf Parsley, finely chopped
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Lemon Wedges

Parchment Paper
Kitchen Strings

Preheat the oven to 375˚F.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the pasta, and cook according to the directions on the package for AL DENTE noodles.  Be sure to drain well.

Now…unto the paper portion!

You will need to use 2 large pieces of parchment for each serving.  Divide the noodles into 4 equal portions, and place on paper.  Top the noodles with all of the ingredients in the second section of recipe (seafood, tomatoes, garlic, basil, wine, and butter).  Season with salt and pepper.

Wrap paper, and tie with kitchen strin.

Put the bags on a wide-rimmed baking tray, and bake for approximately 20 minutes, until the seafood is thoroughly cooked.  When ready to serve (which should be quite shortly after removing from oven), cut the strings, open the bag, top with drizzled olive oil, and garnish with parsley and lemon wedges.  You may also want to add salt and pepper as needed, to taste.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 4: Lotsa Pasta

Follow me on Pinterest.

CELEBRATIONS.

January 4, 2012 is…

National Spaghetti Day

I’m not a HUGE pasta fan, but I do like pasta toppings…with just a little bit of pasta.  And, for the longest time, I would only eat Ragu pasta sauce?  How silly of me!  One of the first things The Mister made me when we were dating Vodka Pasta….marina + cream = delicioso!!

ACTION.

My dad recently came to visit, and he did the cutest activity with Wee One: He counted her fingers, then compared them to his fingers.  “You have five fingers. I have five fingers too!”  Throughout the day, whenever he saw her, he would say “Five!  Five!  Remember?  You have five fingers on your hand!  I do too!”  It was pretty adorable!

Count objects (like fingers, ears, books, etc.)

It’s neat to find ways to work counting of everyday things into an educational game.

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Time for a break from all of this political stuff.  I didn’t have much time to look for news, and for some reason, something reminded me of this article I read last spring about Kristin Wiig, one of my fav comediennes of our day (SNL, Bridesmaids, Knocked Up):

Can Kristen Wiig Turn On the Charm? by Susan Dominus

Ah.  She is SO funny.  And yet, quite the intellectual, and a bit self-effacing as well.

Excerpt:

“In person, Kristen Wiig comes off as a little nervous. When we met, she was wearing a black wool cap that hid most of her dark blond hair, giving her the same anonymity that sunglasses would, and she was worrying about the restaurant she chose. She had never been there before — what if it were weird? She seemed to reconsider every statement shortly after making it. Did she just say she could draw? Just a little — it’s not as if she thinks she is some great artist. Talking about “Bridesmaids,” she said, “It’s my first . . . starring role, I guess, is the term?” as if owning up to an embarrassing disease. “And it is a comedy, and comedy is very subjective, and yeah, I’m nervous.” Once again, she autocorrected: “But in a good way.”

She is not explosively anxious, or neurotic and hyperverbal, like many of her best-known characters on “Saturday Night Live”; all that energy seems tamped down into a more controlled cautiousness. She is unfailingly reserved and polite.”

WORK IT.

Standing Adduction

(from RealSimple.com)

Targets: Glutes

With feet shoulder-width apart, raise your right leg to a 45-degree angle. Cross it in front of your body and point your toe. Hold for four seconds. Repeat on the left side.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

A couple of years ago, The Mister and I had a blast buying after-Christmas sale ornaments…we got SUCH a good deal, and really found some we loved.  I thought we had a lot, but in putting up this year’s tree, it turns out we don’t have as many as we thought.  So, I’m definitely keeping my eyes peeled for some gorgeous ones.  This is one of my favorites.  (And, mo, we have not taken our tree down yet!)

WWW.

I was doing my pinning and recipe-search of the day, and came across this delicious-looking site:

Food 52

Doesn’t this “Grilled Kale Caesar Salad” look yummy?

HMMM.

What is your favorite type of pasta?  Linguini, spaghetti, penne?

MMM…mmm…good!


