At last…I may actually be caught up on this blog!  Woo hoo!!  🙂

So excited that it is FRIDAY!!  The Mister and I have flexible schedules, which is both good, and bad.  It’s nice, because we’re able to work at more convenient hours (such as, oh, 3 am when Wee One is asleep!), but it also means that we work whenever we need to, which can get to be a LOT sometimes.  We definitely work on the weekend, but it’s nice to have a bit of a respite from work calls and e-mails, which tend to slow down a bit over Saturday and Sunday.

QUOTABLES.

Every man should be born again on the first day of January.  Start with a fresh page.  Take up one hole more in the buckle if necessary, or let down one, according to circumstances; but on the first of January let every man gird himself once more, with his face to the front….

Henry Ward Beecher

Perhaps not just the first of January—but every day, or week, or month.  Start with a fresh page, born again.

And now, for the weekly features:

TOYLAND.

Wee One is a bit obsessed with this.  So much so that, once we thought we lost it, my mama had one shipped to us, overnight…wait, it wasn’t just ONE…she shipped us TWO of them…just in case!  Not ONLY does that speak highly for how wonderful the toy is, but clearly explains how UTTERLY DEVOTED (and quite simply fabulous) my mama is!  (xo!)

This toy is so great, since Wee One is beginning to teethe.  However, it’s so cool looking, it will be fun even as she gets older…I believe they list the “recommended age” as 0-18 months.

WEARABLES.

For Wee One’s baby shower, my mama got us a box of Trumpette socks.  Have you heard of these?  Apparently, they’re pretty popular…and, gosh, I can’t even BEGIN to count the number of compliments we’ve gotten whenever Wee One has worn them…what a HIT!

Trumpette Socks

These are the socks Wee One initially got:

Trumpette Mary Janes

But, oh my gosh—the OPTIONS!!!!

*I’ve only listed a few—there are many more (and for boys too!)

Trumpette Ballet Socks

(Notice the bows—on the BACK!)

Trumpette Lucy  (or Lucia
in pastel)

Trumpette T-Straps Mary Janes

Trumpette Mary Jane Tights

Have I mentioned the boxes are SO DANG CUTE?

ANNND…they come in 12-24 months as well!  EEEEEK!!!!

FABULOUS FINDS.

I was doing some holiday shopping online, when, what to my wondering eyes should appear, but two magic wand shakers, I must have them, I fear!  🙂

Fred and Friends Salt + Magic Salt and Pepper Shakers

Aren’t these the cutest things??  I can imagine that Wee One will just get such a KICK (see above post…ha ha ha) out of seasoning things with her magic wands!!  What a cool, cool idea!  (Or “HOT” idea, if pepper is involved.  HA!  I’m on a roll!  jk)

WEEKEND TO-DO LIST.

Are you ready for your to-do list?  (Don’t worry…it’s pretty laid back this week!)

1.  Clean at least ONE bedroom, top to bottom, organizing, sorting, dusting…EVERYTHING.

2.  Try one BRAND NEW recipe.

3.  Take a nap.

And…no worries…they’re still here—

The Dailys:

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I love rhyming poems.  Yes, I know, that may seem a bit, oh, I don’t know, “silly”…but hey, what’s wrong with being silly??  Wee One really seems to like the cadence of rhymes as well.  So, we read the following today:

My Little Mother Goose

First Little Golden Book

Illustrated by Amye Rosenberg

I couldn’t find this book in print anywhere, but some places still carry used copies….the illustrations are truly lovely!  Some sellers list this here:

My Little Mother Goose

Now…unto a related tune:

DO RE MI.

To coordinate with our book selection of the day, today we sang all 12 verses of:

Hickory Dickory Dock

From Wee Sing Children’s Songs and Fingerplays

To purchase and download Hickory Dickory Dock from Wee Sing Chidren’s Songs and Fingerplays, click the link below:

Hickory, Dickory, Dock

The entire album is also just fabulous!

Wee Sing Children’s Songs and Fingerplays

Lyrics:

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
The clock struck one
The mouse ran down,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
The clock struck two
And down he flew,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
The clock struck three
And he did flee,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
The clock struck four,
He hit the floor,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
The clock struck five,
The mouse took a dive,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
The clock struck six,
That mouse, he split,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
The clock struck seven,
8, 9, 10, 11,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
The mouse ran up the clock,
As twelve bells rang,
The mousie sprang,
Hickory Dickory dock.

Hickory Dickory dock,
“Why scamper?” asked the clock,
“You scare me so
I have to go!
Hickory Dickory dock.”

To download the easy piano version of “Hickory Dickory Dock”, click here.

I was so disappointed by the versions of this song I found out there….so many are super slow, or have melodies I’m not used to.  I hate to recommend the same stuff, but I just love the Wee Sing version the best!  Isn’t funny how we get so used to the stuff we grew up with?

NOURISHMENT.

Since I’m sort of re-living my childhood today, thought I’d post a recipe for one of my all-time favorite childhood treats—Oatmeal Cream Pies!

Oatmeal Cream Pies by Buns in My Oven

Have ya’ll had the Little Debbie version recently?  I did when I was pregnant, and I have to admit—I was sorely disappointed.  They seemed to have gotten smaller, and flatter.  I know, perhaps my memories from childhood were just inflated, but The Mister thought they were not nearly as good either, so….I’m excited to try this version!  I looked around the web a bit, and there are several versions of this recipe….you might also try:

Oatmeal Cream Pies at Craving Chronicles

Oatmeal Cream Pies at Back to the Cutting Board

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 6: Keen on Beans

Follow me on Pinterest.

CELEBRATIONS.

January 6, 2012 is…

Epiphany/Three Kings Day

Apple Tree Day

Bean Day

National Shortbread Day

Sherlock Holmes’ Birthday

Wow…that’s a lot of celebrations in one day!

A bit about each:

Epiphany/Three Kings Day: In the New Testament the word “epiphany” is used in 2 Timothy 1:10 to refer either to the birth of Christ or to his appearance after his resurrection.  Epiphany is celebrated with a wide array of customs around the world. In some cultures, the greenery and nativity scenes put up at Christmas are taken down at Epiphany. In other cultures these remain up until Candlemas on February 2. In countries historically shaped by Western Christianity (Roman Catholicism, Protestantism) these customs often involve gift giving, “king cakes” and a celebratory close to the Christmas season.

Apple Tree Day: I couldn’t really find anything on this holiday (so if you have any information, please let me know, would ya?).  However, maybe a good day to celebrate Johnny Appleseed?

Bean Day: Fun fact—Did you know that North Dakota is America’s top bean grower?

National Shortbread Day: And, another bit o’ trivia: Shortbread was classified as a bread by bakers to avoid paying the tax placed on biscuits.

Sherlock Holmes’ Birthday: The Mister has started to read a collection of Sherlock Holmes stories, and seems to really, really enjoy them.  I think he’s excited to see the second movie, too.  Me, well, it’s a bit “Elementary, my dear Watson” for my taste…ha ha ha.  Just kidding…I like Sherlock Holmes as much as the next guy (or gal, as the case may be)…I just wanted to fit that phrase in, and couldn’t come up with anything more witty than that…off my game tonight!

The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Short Stories (2 Vol. Set)

By Arthur Conan Doyle

ACTION.

Wee One is at the age where she’s not QUITE sitting up by herself.  So, for the past few weeks we’ve been practicing this skill….

Help with “situps”.

We do “situps”, with me either holding on to her hands, or supporting her back.  She starts by laying on her back, and I lightly pull/nudge her into a sitting position, and back down again.  We usually do this five times, and she LOVES it!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

In my search for today’s news, I came upon something a bit peculiar:

A man named Mick Hodgkin supposedly tweets a limerick a day, related to the days news.  The Washington Post had a brief spot about him:

The News in Limericks: See Ya Later, Ex-Dictator

In that piece, they posted the following limerick, which I enjoyed.

Anchors Aweigh!

A sailor whose name is Marissa
Saw her gf & started to kiss ‘er
Now gays are allowed
To be out & proud
So the navy today can’t dismiss ‘er.

Check out the Washington Post for additional limericks + photos, or follow him on Twitter (@twitmericks).

WORK IT.

Warrior II

(from WholeLiving.com)

Targets: Legs, back, and arms

Standing at the top of your mat, step your right foot back about 4 feet and turn it 90 degrees to the right. Turn your left foot slightly in. Adjust your torso so that it faces to your right, inhale, and raise your arms out, shoulder blades wide, palms down. Exhale, bending your left knee until your thigh is parallel to the mat. Switch sides.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

My dad got this rocking horse for Wee One a few months ago…he is SO GOOD at finding neat stuff like this!  I had one exactly like it when I was little, and he found this at an auction….

WWW.

It all started this fall.  I made a 30th birthday book for Kristine, my college roommate, DEAR friend, and GodMoo of Wee One—and, well…I’m hooked.  I want to make a book for EVERYTHING.  Photo book.  Blog book.  Recipe book.  Quote book.  You name it.  Ah. This website is just awesome.

BLURB

Hardcover, softcover, small, medium, large—the software is easy to use, and the pricing isn’t nearly as bad as you’d think.  Get writing, er, or Blurbing?

HMMM.

If you had one day with NO obligations, but it was the only day you would have like that for the rest of the year, what would it be like?  What would you do (or not do)?  When would you want this day–summer, winter?  Who would you spend it with?  What would you eat, drink, listen to….?

Oh, the possibilities!  Happy weekend everyone!

