Ah.  It was a GOOD WEEKEND.  Productive + relaxing, spent with family and friends.  What more could a person ask for?  I’m hoping yours was JUST as enjoyable!

QUOTABLES.

I found this quote on Pinterest (what CAN’T you find on Pinterest?), and it really resonated with me.  The Mister and I have been traveling oodles for work (so thankful Wee One can come with us when we are across the country!), and were gone from home for about three months this fall, followed by holiday travel.  This quote expresses the sentiment of a travel-weary soul…It was SO NICE to be home this weekend!

CELEBRATIONS.

*I changed the order of the blog slightly, putting “Celebrations” closer to the top.  Hope this is alright with ya’ll…let me know what you think!*

This week is:

Folic Acid Awareness Week

National Pizza Week

National Letter Writing Week

January 8, 2012 is…

Bubble Bath Day

Elvis Presley’s Birthday

National English Toffee Day

I have to say, a week to celebrate “letter writing” is wonderful!  The speed and ease of sending emails, or making Facebook or Twitter updates is great, but there is something incomparable to receiving a lovely handwritten note in the “real” mail—and, packages—well, don’t get me started!!  I am going to try to write a letter every day this week…wish me luck!

Elvis’ birthday— Should have had fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches!!

Bath Time

And a day for bubble baths?  Make that every day for me!

My favorite bath salts are Agraria Lemon Verbena Bath Salts which they use at our favorite hotel in CA….so relaxing!

Martha Stewart has a recipe for homemade bath salts here.

And this idea for kids’ (or adults!) bubble bath paint looks so fun!

By the way—this site is AWESOME!  So many cool educational/craft ideas….gets a “highly recommended” vote from me.  🙂

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Amelia Bedelia….do any of y’all remember her?  She was a childhood favorite that had somehow slipped my mind, until Wee One’s GodMoo got her the book for her baby shower.  Wee One’s Nana read it to her today, and it just made me chuckle….the book is really quite clever!

Amelia Bedelia

By Peggy Parish

Reading it was a blast from the past, and an enjoyable one at that!

DO RE MI.

Wee One has been teething or something lately, and it’s been awfully difficult to get her to sleep.  Poor li’l dear.  We’ve been doing a lot of rocking and singing, and this song is such an old favorite:

Annie’s Song

By John Denver

To purchase and download “Annie’s Song” by John Denver, click below:

Annie’s Song

Lyrics:

You fill up my senses
Like a night in a forest
Like the mountains in springtime
Like a walk in the rain
Like a storm in the desert
Like a sleepy blue ocean
You fill up my senses
Come fill me again

Come let me love you
Let me give my life to you
Let me drown in your laughter
Let me die in your arms
Let me lay down beside you
Let me always be with you
Come let me love you
Come love me again

You fill up my senses
Like a night in a forest
Like the mountains in springtime
Like a walk in the rain
Like a storm in the desert
Like a sleepy blue ocean
You fill up my senses
Come fill me again

To download the piano solo sheet music version of “Getting to Know You”, click here; for the vocal + accompaniment version, click here.

My mama saw John Denver in college…gosh, he’s an old standard, isn’t he?

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 8: I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

It’s English Toffee day, so a related recipe seems appropriate.  I am a sucker for “bars” (maybe my Midwest upbringing has something to do with this?), and these English Toffee Bars look soooo good.

English Toffee Bars at My Baking Addiction

English Toffee Bars at My Baking Addiction

ACTION.

“C’mon dearie….roll over.”  “Rooooolllll over!”  Okay, so little ones are not like dogs, in that, they don’t perform on command.  Gosh, isn’t that the truth?  I mean…she’s only five months old (well, tomorrow’s her five month birthday, but close enough!), and still, I try to show people her new “tricks” (like laughing, and rolling over)…often, to no avail!  Unlike our puppy, no matter how much we beg, and try to encourage her to perform on cue…no luck!  And, gosh…when I think about it, well, in asking her to do a trick, what am I thinking?!?!?  Sometimes, I can just be so silly!

Anywho…today, we worked on the following activity

Encourage baby to roll over by rolling a few times in one direction, and back the other direction.  If baby is already rolling in one direction on own, encourage movement in the opposite direction.

She thinks it’s a game, and yet, I think it’s a learning opportunity too.  Score!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Apparently, the Girl Scouts cookie-selling season is about to begin (For some reason, I can never keep track of cookie-selling-season, but a good “Thin Mint” or “Samoa” just can’t be beat…).  And, apparently, this year, a new, lemon cookie is being unveiled.

Gearing up for Girl Scout Cookie Season with a New Cookie

For you lemon fans out there, hope it’s good!

WORK IT.

Tricep Dips

(From health.com)

Targets: Triceps

Sit with knees bent and feet hip-width on floor, hands behind you on either side of hips, fingers forward. Lift hips off floor and shift weight back. Bend and straighten elbows 20 times, leaving feet flat, then come onto heels and repeat.

Staying on heels, walk feet forward (keep weight shifted back) and do 20 more dips.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

I’m apparently on a “Things-belong-to Wee-One” photo kick.  I’m just a budding photographer, so I need easily accessible subjects…and, in looking around the house, her things are just so cute and colorful!

Thank you to GodMoo Teens for these super cute ornaments!

WWW.

Me + recipes = hours of happiness.  This blog is a FAVORITE.  AND, the author, the absolutely gorgeous Luisa Weiss, announced in the most recent post that she is pregnant!  Yay!  Heart-felt congratulations!!

The Wednesday Chef

Her most recent post was about cabbage soup, and it looked delicious, so I just had to post a pic…check out her blog for the recipe.  I’m sure you’ll be as entranced with the oodles of OTHER delectables on her site as well!

HMMM.

Elvis—do you have a favorite song by “The King”?

Rejuvenated for a week ahead…put on some blue suede shoes, and let’s rock ‘n’ roll!

