Pink is the theme of the day.  Gosh, I love pink.  But not in the “pink is for princesses” sort of way.  That’s just not me.  (And I have vowed to never call Wee One a princess!)

I just enjoy pink’s gracefulness, its cheery demeanor….its simplicity.

QUOTABLES.

Ah, the classic Ms. Hepburn—

My favorite part:  I believe that happy girls are the prettiest.   After all, you’re never fully dressed without a smile!

CELEBRATIONS.

January 10, 2012 is…

Houseplant Appreciation Day

National Bittersweet Chocolate Day

National Cut Your Energy Costs Day

Ah, chocolate!!  I love it.  Not as much as SOME people, I suppose…but I do enjoy a good chocolate dessert!  And sometimes, just a small piece of GOOD milk or dark chocolate is enough to put a little pep in my step!

Houseplants are not my thing.  I have not been blessed with the green thumb of my mama’s parents, unfortunately….most that I’ve had sort of just shrivel and expire.  Alas.  Thank goodness The Mister knows what he is doing in that department!

I am ALL FOR saving energy, cutting costs, being “green”….however, I am ashamed to admit one secret: I DESPISE florescent lights, and REFUSE to use them.  (Much to the chagrine of my father!)  And, I heard some distressing rumor that non-florescent light bulbs will no longer be produced after a certain upcoming date—oh, say it isn’t so!!  Can anyone confirm or deny this horrid news??

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Wee One got this book from Ms. KJ for her baby shower, and we’ve been on the edge of our seats to read it.

Pinkalicious

By Elizabeth and Victoria Kann

The illustrations are quite cute, and the colors vividly captured Wee One’s attention!  (I don’t think she’ll want to eat a dozen pink cupcakes any time soon!)

DO RE MI.

Billy Joel is just awesome!  The Mister and I got to see him in concert, along with Sir Elton John, and just had a BLAST!

The River of Dreams

By Billy Joel

To purchase and download “The River of Dreams” by Billy Joel, click below:

The River Of Dreams

Lyrics:

In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
From the mountains of faith
To the river so deep
I must be lookin’ for something
Something sacred i lost
But the river is wide
And it’s too hard to cross
even though I know the river is wide
I walk down every evening and stand on the shore
I try to cross to the opposite side
So I can finally find what I’ve been looking for
In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
Through the valley of fear
To a river so deep
I’ve been searching for something
Taken out of my soul
Something I’d never lose
Something somebody stole
I don’t know why I go walking at night
But now I’m tired and I don’t want to walk anymore
I hope it doesn’t take the rest of my life
Until I find what it is I’ve been looking for
(Three beat Pause)
In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
Through the jungle of doubt
To the river so deep
I know I’m searching for something
Something so undefined
That it can only be seen
By the eyes of the blind
In the middle of the night (break)

I’m not sure about a life after this
God knows I’ve never been a spiritual man
Baptized by the fire, I wade into the river
That is runnin’ through the promised land (Long Five beat Pause)

In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
Through the desert of truth
To the river so deep
We all end in the ocean
We all start in the streams
We’re all carried along
By the river of dreams
In the middle of the night

To purchase and download the piano, vocal, and guitar sheet music for “The River of Dreams” by Billy Joel, click here.

Wee One really seemed to enjoy my dancing about to this song today!  It sure inspires one to MOVE!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 10: Chocoholic

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I couldn’t let National Bittersweet Chocolate Day pass without a related recipe, could I?

Polar Express Hot Chocolate Recipe by Honey and Fitz

Polar Express Hot Chocolate Recipe by Honey and Fitz

I am quite fond of a steaming mug of hot cocoa.  Ghiradelli and Godiva are some favorites, but this bittersweet chocolate recipe also looks delish.

ACTION.

For Christmas, Wee One got a fun Skip Hop Treetop Friends Mirror to match her activity gym, and other Treetop Friends toys.

We definitely made good use of it for today’s activity!

Play in front of the mirror.  Point out baby’s features, talk about the faces you’re making, explain that your baby is the reflection in the mirror.

Wee One kept laughing and giggling at her new “friend”…I wonder if she realized it was actually her looking back from the mirror?  🙂

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

I used to really enjoy television shows—could watch reality tv for hours on end, and find great pleasure in doing so.  However, since Wee One’s birth, for some reason, I just find no immense joy in watching random television, ESPECIALLY reality TV.  I’ve pondered the cause of this change, and can only attribute it to my desire to spend as much quality time with Wee One, watching her grow and develop.  And, when she’s asleep, I have so much catching up to do on daily activities, I really don’t have time to waste on any ol’ TV…is that odd or what??  I mean, if you told me this would be the case a year ago, I would have vehemently denied it!!  Oh, the joys of parenthood, dear reader….oh, the joys.

This isn’t to say that I don’t enjoy ANY TV—I’m just much more particular about the television I DO choose to watch.  And, it’s actually fun to limit television watching to only select options…

This article seems to express some of my newfound sentiments….

“Talk of TV’s golden age misses big picture” by Brian Lowry

Excerpt:

“So yes, there’s plenty of gold spilling out of the TV, and more goodies to squander one’s time than ever before. Yet while the TV is literally bigger and brighter, an old adage still applies: All that glitters is not gold.”

WORK IT.

Leg Toner

(From womansday.com)

Targets: calves, quads

Stand behind a chair, hands resting on the back. Bend your knees and lift your heels off the ground so that you’re balancing on the balls of your feet. Hold for 30 seconds, then lower heels. Repeat 2 more times.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Wall art for Wee One’s room:

(Apologies for the reflection…my photography skills are still a work in progress!)

WWW.

Crafts, and recipes, and more—oh my!!!

Smashed Peas and Carrots

Maggie seems like such a cool gal!  Wonderful mama, super creative soul—yay!

The site is really awesome too.  For example….did you know you can MAKE YOUR OWN window clings???  I didn’t either.  But she does it!

DIY Window Clings from Smashed Peas and Carrots

I MUST try this!

HMMM.

What is your most favorite television program, present or past?

Oh dear reader, I believe it’s time to warm up some hot cocoa, and do a little work.  Good night!

