Our first snow day!  Yay!  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I don’t want TOO many of these this year….but a few sprinkled here and there is fine by me!

I used to LOVE the winter when I was younger.  Playing “Fox and Geese”, or “King of the Mountain”, sledding, hot cocoa, curling up with a good book.  It brought me a lot of joy.  However, as I’ve gotten older, I tend to be less and less amenable to the snow and cold, and poor driving conditions.  THANKFULLY, The Mister gets very excited for snowstorms, and now that we have Wee One, I think I may once again begin to relish all that EACH season has to offer, EVEN the long, cold, blizarrdly days of winter!

QUOTABLES.

“Anne came dancing home in the purple winter twilight across the snowy places.”

L.M. Montgomery

In my search for snow-related quotes, I came across this bit from Anne of Green Gables, one of THE best books EVER written!  I grew up with Anne Shirley (that’s ANNE with an “E”!”), in both book and PBS-movie form.  Each winter, I would watch the PBS “Anne of Green Gables” specials, and be taken back to a time I wished I could experience in person….a time of puffed-sleeves, trains, jaunts about Prince Edward Island, and oh-so-much more.  If you’ve never seen these movies, you MUST, dear reader.  You ABSOLUTELY MUST.

(And, of course, you must read the books as well!!)

CELEBRATIONS.

January 12, 2012 is…

Curried Chicken Day

Hmmm…curried chicken?  That’s easy enough to celebrate, I suppose!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I found the Toot and Puddle books at a local used bookstore, but neglected to buy them….only to later regret my decision.  So, I found some of them online, bought them, and was VERY pleased with my purchases!

Toot and Puddle: Charming Opal

By Holly Hobbie

Opal comes to visit, and is about to lose a tooth….but will the tooth fairy find her?

DO RE MI.

I have fond memories of watching a Peter, Paul, and Mary special on PBS.  (As you can tell from this post, PBS was a big part of my childhood home!)

(To purchase a Peter, Paul, and Mary concern dvd, click: Peter, Paul & Mary: 25th Anniversary Concert)

Blowin’ in the Wind

Sung by Peter, Paul, and Mary

To purchase and download “Blowing in the Wind” sung by Peter, Paul, and Mary, click below:

Blowin’ In The Wind

Lyrics:

How many roads must a man walk down
Before they call him a man?
How many seas must a white dove sail
Before she sleeps in the sand?

How many times must the cannonballs fly
Before they’re forever banned?
The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind
The answer is blowing in the wind.

How many years must a mountain exist
Before it is washed to the sea?
How many years can some people exist
Before they’re allowed to be free?

How many times can a man turn his head
and pretend that he just doesn’t see?
The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind
The answer is blowing in the wind.

How many times must a man look up
Before he can see the sky?
How many ears must one man have
Before he can hear people cry?

How many deaths will it take till he knows
That too many people have died?
The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind
The answer is blowing in the wind.

The CD “The Very Best of Peter, Paul, and Mary” is also worthy of your ear-time!

To purchase and download the easy piano sheet music for “Blowin’ in the Wind” by Bob Dylan and Peter, Paul and Mary, click here; for the piano, guitar, and vocal version, click here.

Thought this song was appropriate, considering the “tail” we read today.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 12: Snow Day

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I’m really not a fan of curry…but The Mister is, so, in honor of him AND Curried Chicken Day, I found the following recipe, which I may try to make for him:

Chicken Curry at Culinate .com

I’ll let you know how this turns out!

ACTION.

Wee One and I did the following experiment today, using a variety of toys:

Give baby choices of toys, and see which she likes best.

Now, I’m not sure whether she was choosing her FAVORITE toy, the one that was most COLORFUL, or the one CLOSEST to a particular hand….or whether her choices were completely random.  But, whatever the reason for her decisions, it was a fun activity nonetheless.

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Are any of you fluent in more than one language?  I took Spanish for 4 years in high school, plus a semester in college, and can only remember very rudimentary details of “Espanol”.  (I also took a semester of Greek, thinking it would be “fun”, and was sorely mistaken….don’t get me started on how I thought “Astronomy” (aka “ASTROPHYSICS” (?!?!?!) would solely be limited to fun jaunts in the crisp night air looking at stars.)

Anyway, Slate.com had this interesting article on a new (albeit odd) way to learn German, for free.  My cousin, KH, is fluent in German, and has studied and taught in Germany….I wonder if this new way of learning languages will become more prevalent…?

An Invisible Woman Taught Me German by Mark Garrison

Excerpt:

Deutsch—Warum Nicht? (German—Why Not?) is the most extensive program for beginners. Roughly 26 hours long, the series hits all the expected grammar and vocabulary points. But it does it through a kooky cast of characters, led by X, the aforementioned invisible woman.”

WORK IT.

Floor Extensions

(From cookinglight.com)

Targets: Back

Lie facedown with your legs extended and your hands gently touching the sides of your head, elbows extended to the sides. Keeping your hands in place, slowly lift your head and chest off the floor. Pause at the top, then slowly lower until you’re flat on the floor again.

Repeat 8 to 12 times.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Today was a snow day, so I just HAD to have a mug of hot cocoa.

MMMMM!!

WWW.

What a great blog!

Luvinthemommyhood

Lots of tutorials.  Great photography.  Unfortunately for ME, most of the tutorials have to do with sewing, and I, dear reader, am NOT a sewer.  I’ve always WANTED to be one, but have never truly mastered this craft.  And, I am ALSO not a knitter.  I’ve been taught a few times, but never seem to keep up with my newly-learned skills, and they are always quickly forgotten

However, if I COULD knit, I think this would be such a cool project:

The Mallory Cowl from Luvinthemommyhood

HMMM.

What is your most favorite winter activity?

It’s almost the weekend—yee haw!!

