YAY!  It is FRIDAY, which means the weekend is only one short day away!  How exciting is that?

OK.  Because it’s almost the weekend, and I just experienced my first snowstorm of the winter, I have something super exciting to announce (cue trumpets–dooo do do dooooo!):

I HAVE DISCOVERED THE PERFECT WINTER ADDICTION.  DOWNTON ABBEY (from Masterpiece Theater).


Have any of ya’ll seen this?  Now, hold on for one brief moment.  I know what some of you are thinking.  Masterpiece Theater?  Are you kidding me?  No, lovely reader, I KID YOU NOT.  I, too, was dubious when The Mister asked if I wanted to watch this, because he was “hearing good things about it”.  BUT, he has fairly discriminating taste (well, I mean, he likes some TERRIBLE TV, but if HE was recommending something from Masterpiece Theater, I knew there had to be some reason for it…).  So, the other night, we cued up Netflix, and watched an episode.  AND.  WE.  WERE.  HOOKED.  It is SOOO good!!!  I don’t really know what it is about the show, but (like Anne of Green Gables, as I mentioned yesterday), it is THE PERFECT thing to watch on a cold and snowy winter’s day.  Or eve.  Or anytime, really.  You need to at least try one episdoe, okay?  Promise you will??

QUOTABLES.

(If you know the origin of this art, please let me know, so I can link/credit appropriately.  I found on Pinterest, but the only thing I could find was a Tumblr site, which I HATE (well, I mean, I love, because there’s neat stuff, but HATE) because there’s no crediting of sources…blerg.)

Anywho…This quote is particularly appropriate for today, because I made the decision to announce this blog to the world, and am nervous (as I think a lot of people are) about critique and criticism of my work.  BUT, if people find the blog fun/useful/interesting, or WHATEVER, then I will be happy!  🙂

And, thank you to YOU, dear readers, for joining me!

The features of the week are:

TOYLAND.

I found this toy when I was searching for the “best” baby toys, before Wee One was born.  Little did I know how POPULAR this little squeaky teether actually is!  SO many people have one, and for GOOD REASON!  Wee One LOVES her Sophie, and over the holidays, actually figured out how to “squeak” it on her own, which was a big deal.  One of my friends, a Ms. E.L.S., said this was crack for babies, and I have to agree.  I mean, I have no experience with crack, but from what I hear, it’s awfully addicting….and if it’s anything, this Sophie is DEFINITELY addicting!

Vulli Sophie the Giraffe Teether

I will admit, it’s a bit pricey if you think of it as “just” a teether, but it is WELL worth it.  Wee One can literally spend HOURS entertaining herself with her Sophie, and it really seems to help her teething/pre-teething state.

WEARABLES.

One of the BEST pieces of advice I got while pregnant was to get a bunch of ZIPPABLE sleepers for Wee One.  I purchased a few, and thankfully, I have some AMAZING friends and family members who also gave us several.  Seriously, if you or someone you know is pregnant, one of the best things for newborns, and even not-so-new babies to wear are zippable sleepers.  I took a snap-button sleeper with me to the hospital, and it was a big mistake.  Wee One HATED to be dressed, and I was on the verge of tears trying to get the darn thing ON her, let alone snapped.  What was I thinking?  The zippered sleepers are SO great.  No messing around with trying to line up the snaps, and then trying to GET them snapped…just put it on your baby, zip, and go!

The Children’s Place Stretchie Sleepers

Some of Wee One’s favorite zip sleepers are these stretchy PJs from The Children’s Place.  Her Auntie Kates got them for her, in a bunch of different sizes, which was SO GENEROUS….xo!

FABULOUS FINDS.

When I drink something warm, like tea, or hot cocoa, or coffee, I usually like to drink out of a BIG mug.  I don’t really care if my coffee or tea gets a bit lukewarm; in fact, I actually DISLIKE getting coffee at coffee shops, because, although I enjoy the taste, it’s always too darn HOT!  I don’t like having to go back to the coffee pot for seconds, or eighths, so, as far as mugs go, the bigger the better.

During one of our recent trips to the in-laws, I saw that they had this mug, and I fell in love.  It was pretty big, and I just loved the “hand warmer”.  (And, it was pretty too!)

Hand Warmer Mug Right-Handed Ocean Tide

Now, my mom-in-law thinks that the mug gets too hot to actually hold, if you use it with coffee fresh from the pot…I tried it, and I agree.  However, if you’re like me, and like to let your java set for a bit before guzzling it down, this mug may be perfect for you….your beverage will be warm enough to drink, and will be warm enough to warm your hands at the same time.

WEEKEND TO-DO LIST.

Last weekend, I was pretty productive.  And really enjoyed it.  I’m hoping to get some things done around the house this weekend as well, BUT have decided to make the “To-Do” list focus on more relaxing things.

1.  Find a band or CD that you have never heard of, or never listened to  before.  Let me know what it is!

2.  Make a pot of soup, for the weekend, to freeze, or, on Sunday, for the early part of the week ahead.

3.  Do something to pamper yourself.  Take a bath, paint your nails, grab a beer with the boys (Hey…I can hope guys read this too, right??)….whatever it is that’s a tiny luxury.

And now, for the regular features…..

The Dailys:

CELEBRATIONS.

January 13, 2012 is…

National Peach Melba Day 
Public Radio Broadcasting Day 
Rubber Duckie Day 

I have really come to enjoy National Public Radio, along with its state affiliates.  (Which reminds me, today is Science Friday with Ira Flatow!)  The Mister is SUCH a big NPR fan that he was actually interviewed by Don Gonyea.  It was such a treat for him (The Mister…and probably Mr. Gonyea as well!), and I was SO PROUD of the way The Mister was SO well spoken!

Anyway, what a great day to celebrate good radio.  Although we listen to Sirius/XM a LOT, nothing can beat good ol’ public radio.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I grew up with little hardcover versions of books by Beatrix Potter, which I received one Christmas long, long ago, from my dear grandparents.  I remember cuddling up next to my mama while she read me the stories of Peter Rabbit, Mrs. Tittlemouse, and many more.  However, this may have been one of my favorite.

The Tale of Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle

By Beatrix Potter

My, how fun it is to re-enter these imaginary worlds I once knew as a child!

DO RE MI.

I’m not sure I ever really learned all of the verses to this song, but boy, do I like it!

Rubber Duckie

Sung by Ernie from Sesame Street

To purchase and download “Rubber Duckie”, sung by Ernie from Sesame Street, click the link below:

Rubber Duckie

Lyrics:

Rubber Duckie
Your the one
You make bath time
Lots of fun!
Rubber Duckie
I’m awfully fond of you! (bobobodeo)

Rubber Duckie
Joy of joy
When I squeeze you, you make noise
Rubber Duckie
You’re my very best friend its true

Every Day
When I make my way to the tubby
I find a little fella who’s
Cute and yella
And chubby
Rubba dub dubby!

Rubber Duckie
Your so fine
And I’m lucky that you’re mine
Rubber Duckie, I’m awfully fond of you

ooh….
Every Day
When I make my way to the tubby
I find a little fella who’s
Cute and yella
And chubby
Rubba dub dubby!

Rubber Duckie, you’re so fine
And I’m lucky that you’re mine
Rubber duckie I’m awfully fond of
Rubber Duckie I’m awfully foooond
Of you!

To download the easy piano version of “Rubber Duckie”, click here; for the piano, voice, and guitar version, click here.

I only remembered the first verse to this song, but it’s really fun to sing it in its entirety!

NOURISHMENT.

National Peach Melba Day calls for nothing other than a recipe for….peach melba!

Peach Melba Parfait from Girl Cooks World

Although I’d heard of it, I wasn’t really familiar with “peach melba” until I researched it for today’s posting.  I LOVE peaches, but do find it a bit strange that there is a day dedicated to a peach delicacy…in the middle of winter…?  I’m not even sure I can find fresh peaches this time of year, but I will look…

(By the way, the above blog is a wonderful source of gluten-free recipes!)

If you’re interested in a peach melba COCKTAIL, click here.  (The Noble Pig site is ALSO quite wonderful!)

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 13: Soup’s on!

Follow me on Pinterest.

ACTION.

Wee One recently learned to grab something she had dropped at her side, and I was SO PROUD of her!  The next step is to encourage reaching for objects….

Encourage baby to reach for objects, by placing them just a bit off to the side, or in front.  Give lots of praise, especially for effort!

Although she really does have an extraordinary amount of patience, I try to gauge how much to let her struggle to figure things out on her own (which is VERY important, I’ve read), and when to step in and prevent a complete, frustrated meltdown….it’s a work in progress!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Since today is to be spent in recognition of public radio, I definitely had to post something from npr.org.  This headline caught my attention:

Could A Soda Tax Prevent 26,000 Deaths Per Year? by Allison Aubrey

Excerpt:

“But researchers are divided. And there’s also data suggesting that price manipulations would not be effective in trimming Americans’ waistelines or getting us to eat better. As I reported back in 2010, a study done at the University of Buffalo found that mothers will buy more fruits and vegetables if the prices are deeply discounted. But, if they save money on the healthy stuff, this means they have money leftover. And what do they do? Buy more junk food.”

WORK IT.

Bridge Pose

(from shape.com)

Targets: Chest, shoulder

Lie on your back with your knees bent, feet hip-distance apart and flat on the floor. Reach down with your fingertips to see if you can feel your heels.  If not, walk your heels a little closer to your body.

Press your weight into your feet to lift your hips up towards the ceiling. Keep your thighs parallel. Bring your arms underneath you and try to clasp your hands together (Don’t worry if you can’t do it at first). Roll your shoulders blades toward each other and hold this pose for 45 seconds to 1 minute. Release and roll slowly back to the floor. Repeat two more times.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Was in a BIG hurry today to take this picture….apologies!

View of the backyard…yay snow!

WWW.

Design Sponge is a collection of DIY tips, articles, decorating ideas—it has a great layout, and just TONS of cool info.

Design Sponge

I like this tutorial, although I’m not very crafty:

Vintage-Style Book Dustcovers from Design Sponge

HMMM.

Would you be willing to pay a tax on your favorite indulgence?  (Fast food, soda, coffee…?)

OH…and be sure to tune in to NPR today!  Happy Friday!

