Well, I ventured out today, and it was C-C-C-COOOOOLD!  BRRRR!  I had forgotten how truly bone-chillingly bitter it can get in our neck of the woods, and questioned why we live here.  But then, I got home, hot coffee in hand, about to make a warm fire in the fireplace, to relax, read, and just spend a leisurely day with The Mister and Wee One, and all was well.

QUOTABLES.

If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant: if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.

Anne Bradstreet

Isn’t it interesting how comparisons truly CAN change how we look at things?  While spring is “nice”, compared to the below-zero temperatures we are currently having, the thought of warmer weather seems GLORIOUS!  (Of course, I DO so enjoy staying bundled up warm inside during these winter months, feeling okay about being a little less active, and savoring time with family and friends….)

CELEBRATIONS.

January 14, 2012 is…

Ratification Day

Dress-up-your-pet Day

National Hot Pastrami Sandwich Day

What an interesting combination of celebrations—the end of the American Revolution, dogs in dresses, and mounds of meat + bread…?

THE WRITTEN WORD.

This is a book I had when I was younger, and LOVED.  It is so interesting to pick up these old treasures as an adult….I open the pages, and am immediately transported back to my childhood.  For example, in this book, I remember the red shoes and eggbeater, and wanting one of each (well, TWO shoes, silly!) SO badly!

Let’s Go All Around the Neighborhood

By Patricia Thomas

My mama found a pic for this book, but I couldn’t get it to upload.  😦

Click below to find some used versions:

Let’s go all around the neighborhood (A First little golden book)

A romp around a 1980s city neighborhood?  Yes, please!

DO RE MI.

I wonder how many kids think this is about a rescue hero pooch?  🙂

Did You Ever See A Lassie?

Sung by The Wonder Kids, from the album Clifford the Big Red Dog’s Counting Songs

To purchase and download “Did You Ever See A Lassie” sung by The Wonder Kids, click below:

Did You Ever See a Lassie?

Lyrics:

Did you ever see a lassie,
A lassie, a lassie
Did you ever see a lassie
Go this way and that?

Go this way and that way,
Go this way and that way

Did you ever see a lassie
Go this way and that?

Did you ever see a laddie,
A laddie, a laddie
Did you ever see a laddie
Go this way and that?

Go this way and that way,
Go this way and that way

Did you ever see a laddie
Go this way and that?

To purchase and download the easy piano sheet music for “Did You Ever See A Lassie?”, click here.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 14: Sammies

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

Hot Pastrami Sandwich Day DEFINITELY calls for, well, um, yes, okay…you guessed it—some sort of sandwich, heated, with mounds of pastrami.  I don’t like the stuff, myself, but The Mister does, and if he thinks this looks good, I’m sure it is!

Pastrami Reuben at Yumsugar.com

I’m just no really familiar with pastrami, since deli meat isn’t a fav of mine—are there are lot of OTHER sandwiches, besides Reubens, that can be made with pastrami?

ACTION.

This is probably one of the most popular “clapping” games around…most of you probably even remember it from YOUR childhood!

Since Wee One loved clapping so much, today we tried:

Pat-a-cake.  

“Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake, baker’s man.

Bake me a cake as fast as you can.

Pat it, and roll it, and mark it with a “B”

And put it in the oven for baby and me.” 

She seemed a little less impressed by this than clapping itself, so I think we may stick with that for now….but, in a few months, maybe she’ll really enjoy this!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Ah yes….the election year is here, and things are just getting started….have you thought much about it, are you waiting until closer to November, or is it such an easy decision that it doesn’t require much thought?

“‘Ron Paul Is My Homeboy’:  Why the candidate appeals to men under 30” by Libby Copeland

Excerpt:

“The notion that this year’s election is a choice between freedom (in the form of Paul) and tyranny (in the form of any other candidate) encapsulates Paul’s grand appeal to men in their late teens and 20s: He traffics in absolutes. Political scientists point out that age and newness to politics predispose young voters to a less nuanced view of the political world. They’re less likely to take the long view, less likely to have patience, less likely to spin out the implications of their political theories.”

WORK IT.

Plie Squat

(From lifescript.com)

Targets: Inner thigh

Step 1: With both hands, grasp a dumbbell and stand with your feet about two shoulder-widths apart. Turn your toes out to the sides, keeping them aligned with your knees.

Step 2:
 Squat down, as if you were about to sit in a chair, through a count of 10 seconds. 

Step 3: Hold for 2 seconds at the maximum tension point. Then, for a count of 10 seconds, push through your heels and return to starting point.

Step 4:
 Repeat three times without resting.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

One of the nights we were in the hospital when Wee One was born, she started coughing from some of that “stuff” that is typically found in the body after babies are born…I think maybe it was amniotic fluid or something?  I don’t really remember, as my mama started calling for a nurse—she was SO worried!  (PS  My mama IS a nurse herself!)  But, hadn’t been around babies in awhile, and wanted to make sure everything was okay.  (It was.)

However, this incident really scared me a TON, and I remember telling The Mister that we would never be able to sleep at the same time ever again, because SOMEONE had to be awake to watch WEE ONE, to make sure she never choked.  (We were new parents, exhausted—what were we SUPPOSED to do??)  🙂

The day we got home from the hospital, I found an apron, tied it around my waist, and tucked a bulb syringe into its pocket…for a couple of days, I wouldn’t go ANYWHERE without that thing, in fear that if I did, Wee One would choke, and I would be completely unprepared.

Needless to say, after a couple of days, I realized that she was going to be fine, and an apron + syringe wasn’t completely necessary.  (Keeping a watchful eye on her during her sleep was also found to be not needed!)

I saw the apron hanging, and just had to get a picture of it to share with you….

Ah….memories!

WWW.

This photographer is A-MAZING!

Kristine Erickson Photo

Her business typically focuses on small business photography, but she’s taken some truly WONDERFUL pics of her family and friends, and does some outdoor work as well.  I know she even takes “headshots” for business or web use….and her food photography skills are just OUTSTANDING!!  I wish I had a small business for her to photograph….if you do, she comes highly recommended!!  (And, I’m sure she’d be willing to discuss other types of work too….can’t hurt to ask!)

If you haven’t seen it, you absolutely cannot let another minute go by without going to her site.  NOW!  What are you waiting for???  🙂

I don’t know how she finds such cool shots!!

HMMM.

If you could only have ONE season, year round, what would it be?

I am SO excited for tonight.  We are cooking a plethora of Indian and Thai food (random combination, but LOVE both), making a fire, and enjoying a night in on this chilly winter’s eve…hope your plans are JUST as enjoyable!

