Well, The Mister is about to watch football, Wee One is napping, and I am sitting on the couch, sipping some hot beverages, staring at the sunny, but bitterly cold outdoors, thankful to be inside, writing to you, lovely readers!

How was your weekend, dear ones?  I DO have a confession to make….I did NOT meet my weekend goals.  And, although disappointed, I’m okay with that too.  Bath/pampering time?  Check.

New CD?  Check.

The Head and the Heart by The Head and the Heart

Soup?  Fail.  You see, The Mister made pad see ew last night, and we have SO much left over, I couldn’t bring myself to make another pot o’ goodness….I’m sorry!  Forgive me?

*By the way, I have enabled a new layout/theme for the blog, and am working out the kinks…thanks so much for bearing with me!*

QUOTABLES.

I got this on Pinterest—if you know its original source, please let me know.

I think I spoke about this before—for me, it seems like I am always planning for “THE FUTURE”.  I am always looking FORWARD, while failing to live in the present.  This quote puts it perfectly—I always have to get through something, accomplish something, and THEN life can begin…funny thing is, going through those challenges, accomplishing those momentous things–that IS life.  This quote reminds me that I need to relish the experiences I am currently having, for that is my life…life doesn’t “begin” once something happens—-life is happening RIGHT NOW.  In this new year, I have really tried to remind myself to live in the present, and let me just say—it is very satisfying!  Give it a try…enjoy each moment.  Make the best out of each day.  Experience things.  LIVE.  To some of you, this may seem obvious, but to others, well, maybe you can relate (?).

CELEBRATIONS.

This week is:

Hunt for Happiness Week

National Fresh Squeezed Juice Week

January 15, 2012 is…

Golden Globe Awards

National Hat Day

National Strawberry Ice Cream Day

Hunt for Happiness Week was decreed by some random organization, but I like the IDEA (see “Quotables” for today!), so I just had to mention it.

Tonight is the Golden Globe Awards.  I’ve never really gotten into these award shows, but Ricky Gervais is hosting, and I guess he did a bang up job last year (nope, didn’t see it), so I MAY tune in for a bit…we’ll see.  We also have been in LA a ton this year, and I wonder if they’ll feature our favorite hotel, so I may watch just to see some familiar scenery.  Will YOU be watching?

I do NOT wear hats.  The Mister does, and is quite handsome in them.  Me?  Um….not so much.  I’ve always WANTED to wear a hat.  I mean, not a winter hat, but a cool, trendy, “I’m really hip” kind of head gear…but, I just can’t pull it off.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

This book always reminds me of my Grandma.  When she was little, she had a period when  she only wanted to eat homemade bread and jam.  Can you blame her?

Bread and Jam for Frances

By Russell Hoban

Apparently, there is a “Frances” computer-animated cartoon.  Blech.  There are some fun computer-animations out there…but of “Frances”…really?  I looked at an image, and it was a poor imitation of the real thing.  But, I guess if it exposes her to a new generation, maybe it won’t be all bad…?  (I’m not convinced.)

DO RE MI.

Love Elton John.  As mentioned before, saw him + Billy Joel in concert, and fell in love.  I wasn’t really totally familiar with him until then, and now, I can’t get enough.

This song reminds me of Moulin Rouge, and singing the soundtrack while I worked at camp the summer after my freshman year in college.  (Big hugs to a dear friend, KBR-S!!) Gosh…I haven’t seen that move in a LONG time. I wonder if it’s as good as I remember it?

Your Song

Elton John

To purchase and download “Your Song” by Elton John, click below:

Your Song

Lyrics:

It’s a little bit funny this feeling inside
I’m not one of those who can easily hide
I don’t have much money but boy if I did
I’d buy a big house where we both could live

If I was a sculptor, but then again, no
Or a man who makes potions in a travelling show
I know it’s not much but it’s the best I can do
My gift is my song and this one’s for you

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind
I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world

I sat on the roof and kicked off the moss
Well a few of the verses well they’ve got me quite cross
But the sun’s been quite kind while I wrote this song
It’s for people like you that keep it turned on

So excuse me forgetting but these things I do
You see I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue
Anyway the thing is what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen

To download the vocal, guitar, and piano sheet music version of “Your Song”, click here; for the easy piano version, click here.

Do you have a favorite Sir Elton song?

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 15: Juice it

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

Strawberry Ice Cream Day.  Not my favorite flavor—I’m more of a fan of something with chocolate in it.  BUT, for those of you strawberry ice cream fans out there, this is for YOU!

Strawberry Jam Ice Cream by Pinay in Texas

I DO like strawberry jam, sometimes, so I bet this recipe is delicious….

ACTION.

Laundry.  It “piles” up.  Tee hee, tee hee!  This weekend, I am trying to catch up on all of the laundry I’ve neglected over the past week or two, and I thought Wee One could help!

Have baby “help” with chores, such as laundry.

Now, of COURSE she isn’t really “helping”, but I have her sit in her Bumbo seat, and hand her some clean clothes to “fold” (aka play with)…pretty soon, she’ll be doing the laundry all on her own…right?  🙂

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Wow.  I found this, and it definitely caught my attention.  I question what the term “overpaid” really means, and whether their definition of “being paid more than they would in the private sector” qualifies as truly being overpaid. I know a lot of teachers.  I know how hard they work, and how several actually need to have second jobs to support their families.  I know how DIFFICULT parents can be, and I know how good teachers work tirelessly, often spending their own money to outfit their classrooms with goods (both essential, and non-“essential”, but necessary to promote an environment of fun learning).

What are your thoughts on this?

Researchers Defend Study Concluding Teachers Are Overpaid by John O’Connor

Excerpt:

Instead of relying on paper educational credentials, our study analyzed salaries using more-objective measures of ability, such as SAT and GRE scores, and we found that teachers are paid salaries right around where we’d expect, given their skills as measured by these metrics. Moreover, teachers receive pensions, retiree health benefits, and vacation time far exceeding private-sector averages. This makes their total benefits roughly twice as generous as those found in private-sector jobs.

“What will not improve teacher quality are across-the-board increases in teacher pay.”

In response to this evidence, critics have raised three types of objections. The first involves emotional statements about teachers. We have received hundreds of calls and emails from teachers who detail the rigors of their workday, challenge us to join them in their classrooms, and suggest that scholars at think tanks are the people who really are overpaid.

In contrast to these emotional reactions, our report is a sober, data-driven contribution to an ongoing policy discussion. Of course, the teaching profession is crucial to our society and economy. However, teachers should still receive no more and no less than fair-market compensation for their skills. Only the data can tell us whether that is happening.

WORK IT.

Tree Twist

(From fitnessmagazine.com)

Targets: Hips, butt, calves

Stand on tiptoes, feet together, a couple of feet behind chair, hands on top of chair back.

Keeping back flat, hinge forward slightly from waist and lift bent left knee to hip level in front of you, left foot by right knee.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

It’s SOOOO chilly, and I feel like I may be getting a teensy bit o’ a cold, so The Mister made me some tea.  (Aw…I know!  He’s so great!)

Yes, that is hot tea.  In a Mason jar.  He is quite the creative.  (PS  I really love Mason jars.)

WWW.

I can’t believe I hadn’t see this blog before yesterday.  I AM IN LOVE!!!  GORGEOUS photography, incredibly well written, such a cheerful premise….again, I repeat.  Me = IN LOVE.

Happyolks

Recipe, after recipe, after oh-so-mouth-wateringly-delicious recipe.  SO difficult to pick just one, so I did it randomly, and this is what came up:

Mighty Grain Salad on Happyolks

I cannot wait to try this, and many, many other recipes, from Happyolks.  I will be very disappointed if you don’t check out this site!

HMMM.

Are public sector jobs “overpaid”, compared to those in the private sector?  Why, or why not?

I have some favorite relatives visiting, so am SUPER excited for the week ahead…..what are YOU looking forward to?  I dare you to list 5 things!!  🙂

