AHHH!  Today was SO NICE.  I got to spend time with lots of family members, and gosh…I feel SO BLESSED to have such WONDERFUL people in my family, and in Joe’s family, too.  Seriously….his family is AWESOME, my family is FABULOUS—what more could we ask for?  Well…I DO SO wish we lived a lot closer, and could see each other MUCH more frequently….but, other than that, we are LUCKY.  The thought of ya’ll (and yes, this includes YOU lovely friends and dear readers) just makes me SMILE.  Thank you!

(And thank you to the creators of “Duet”, this blog’s “theme” for all of their helpful assistance!)

QUOTABLES.

“Intelligence plus character-that is the goal of true education.”

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Of course, there are TONS of really profound quotes by Dr. King.  What an amazing man.  This isn’t necessarily is “grandest” quotation, but it expresses what I want for Wee One.  YES.  Education to promote intelligence is important.  BUT, education to promote character is crucial.  Not only do I want Wee One to know facts and figures—I want her to know how to be honest, to live with integrity, to be full of grace and kindness…to help others, and fight against injustice.  THIS is what will make me proud of her, not just mere grades or traditional “accomplishments”.

CELEBRATIONS.

January 16, 2012 is…

Martin Luther King Day

International Hot and Spicy Foods Day

Fig Newton Day

National Religious Freedom Day

What a big day.  I guess I never really thought about it until just now, but today is just chock full of important things to celebrate.  (And, no, I’m not just talking about Fig Newtons!  ha ha ha)  Seriously, though.  I can’t even begin to count how much Dr. King has contributed to our society, and how much of an ultimate inspiration he is.  And, a day to celebrate religious freedom, especially in today’s current climate, is vital.  And, yes….I do love Fig Newtons, too…and spicy foods, sometimes…so, yes.  It is QUITE the celebratory day.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I remember first “reading” this book at my Grandma’s when I was a wee one myself.  And, frankly, I appreciate it JUST as much today as I did back then!

Pat the Bunny

By Dorothy Kunhardt

Did you know this was originally published in 1940?  AND, there are oodles more of these books, such as “Pat the Cat”, “Pat the Puppy”, and “Pat the Pony”!

DO RE MI.

I mentioned above that I got to see many much-loved family members today, and one of those included my dear Grandma.  We were at her home, and as we drove there, I couldn’t help but think of a song my mama and I used to sing nearly every time we went there.

She’ll Be Comin’ Around The Mountain

From The Best of Baby Genius

To purchase and download “She’ll Be Comin’ Around The Mountain, click below:

She’ll Be Comin’ Around The Mountain

Lyrics:

She’ll be coming round the mountain
When she comes
(Toot, toot!)

She’ll be coming round the mountain
When she comes
(Toot, toot!)

She’ll be coming round the mountain,
She’ll be coming round the mountain,
She’ll be coming round the mountain
When she comes
(Toot, toot!)

She’ll be driving six white horses
When she comes
(Whoa back!)

She’ll be driving six white horses
When she comes
(Whoa back!)

She’ll be driving six white horses,
She’ll be driving six white horses,
She’ll be driving six white horses
When she comes
(Whoa back! Toot, toot!)

Oh, we’ll all go out to meet her
When she comes
(Hi there!)

Oh, we’ll all go out to meet her
When she comes
(Hi there!)

Oh, we’ll all go out to meet her,
We’ll all go out to meet her,
We’ll all go out to meet her
When she comes
(Hi there!
Whoa back! Toot, toot!)

She’ll be wearing red pajamas
When she comes
(Scratch, scratch)

She’ll be wearing red pajamas
When she comes
(Scratch, scratch)

She’ll be wearing red pajamas,
She’ll be wearing red pajamas,
She’ll be wearing red pajamas
When she comes
(Scratch, scratch, Hi there!
Whoa back! Toot, toot!)

She will have to sleep with Grandma
When she comes
(Snore snores!)

She will have to sleep with Grandma
When she comes
(Snore snore!)

She will have to sleep with Grandma,
She’ll have to sleep with Grandma,
She will have to sleep with Grandma
When she comes
(Snore snore!
Scratch, scratch, Hi there!
Whoa back! Toot, toot!)

And we’ll all have chicken and dumplings
When she comes
(Yum yum!)

And we’ll all have chicken and dumplings
When she comes
(Yum yum)

And we’ll all have chicken and dumplings,
And we’ll all have chicken and dumplings,
And we’ll all have chicken and dumplings
When she comes
(Yum yum!
Snore snore! Scratch, scratch, Hi there!
Whoa back! Toot, toot!)

To download the vocal, guitar, and piano sheet music version of “She’ll Be Comin’ Around the Mountain”, click here; for the easy piano version, click here.

My grandparents live in the countryside, and one way to get there involves a steep and windy tree-lined road, on a hill….this song always just seemed SO appropriate!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 16: Figs.  They’re not just for Newtons anymore.

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

The Mister ADORES spicy food.  In fact, I might say he is “slightly” addicted.  MUST have Tabasco with any sort of egg dishes, and every time we eat sushi, without fail, he takes WAY too much wasabi, and gets a major “spice” headache.  (Literally.  Without fail.)  Me?  Well, I do NOT like Tabasco sauce, am more of a medium-to-SOMETIMES-hot salsa lover, and rarely use much wasabi at all.  Am I a wimp?  Maybe!!

Anyway….today is an international celebration of spicy foods, and the following dish came to mind.  The Mister and I were recently out to eat with a friend (who just happens to be THE MOST adventurous person I have ever met), and he took us to a wonderful Indian restaurant.  (OF COURSE he had lived in India for a few months, and spoke some of the native language.  Of course.)  This was one of the many, many dishes we had that night, and it was DE-LICIOUS.  And, surprisingly spicy…it kind of snuck up on us.

Saag Aloo from The Perfect Pantry

I am not that well-versed in Indian food, so I’m not sure if this is typically spicy or not…or if this recipe will be very spicy…I’m guessing that’s something that can be adjusted.  All I know is that what I ate was delicious, and I want to eat it again, and again, and again.  I will try this recipe, and hope it recreates what I’ve been craving!  (It looks absolutely amazing.)

ACTION.

Seeing a baby standing makes me chuckle.  For some reason, she looks like such a person when she’s standing up!!

Help baby stand, and bear weight on legs.

Wee One bears more and more weight on her legs each day…who knows?  Maybe she will decide to just forget crawling all together, and will just take off walking or running!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

I assumed that today, on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, I would be wading through page upon page upon PAGE of article after article about Dr. King, the Civil Rights movement, equality and freedom, and other such important matters.  Not so.  In fact, I found I actually needed to do a pretty thorough search to find any articles even worth mentioning.  I wonder why that is…?  I mean, there was much more obvious mention of the Golden Globes than MLK, Jr. Day.  That seems odd to me.

I DID find (after quite a search) this opinion piece, which was quite insightful:

Martin Luther King: Science Advocate by Cara Santa Maria

Excerpts:

From Dr. King—

“Science investigates; religion interprets. Science gives man knowledge which is power; religion gives man wisdom which is control. Science deals mainly with facts; religion deals mainly with values. The two are not rivals. They are complementary. Science keeps religion from sinking into the valley of crippling irrationalism and paralyzing obscurantism. Religion prevents science from falling into the marsh of obsolete materialism and moral nihilism.”

 “So men conveniently twisted the insights of religion, science, and philosophy to give sanction to the doctrine of white supremacy…they will even argue that God was the first segregationist. ‘Red birds and blue birds don’t fly together,’ they contend…they turn to some pseudo-scientific writing and argue that the Negro’s brain is smaller than the white man’s brain. They do not know, or they refuse to know, that the idea of an inferior or superior race has been refuted by the best evidence of the science of anthropology. Great anthropologists, like Ruth Benedict, Margaret Mead, and Melville J. Herskovits agree that although there may be inferior and superior individuals within all races, there is no superior or inferior race. And segregationists refuse to acknowledge that there are four types of blood, and these four types are found within every racial group.”
“Slavery in America was perpetuated not merely by human badness but also by human blindness…Men convinced themselves that a system that was so economically profitable must be morally justifiable…Science was commandeered to prove the biological inferiority of the Negro. Even philosophical logic was manipulated [exemplified by] an Aristotelian syllogism: ‘All men are made in the image of God. God, as everyone knows, is not a Negro. Therefore, the Negro is not a man.'”

WORK IT.

Wall Angels

(From shape.com)

Targets: Shoulder blades

Start standing with your feet wide and your head and back flat against a wall. Bring your arms out to your sides at shoulder height and bend your elbows 90 degrees, keeping your shoulders, arms, and the backs of your palms lightly touching the wall. Slowly raise your arms overhead, extending arms into a wide ‘V,’ staying in contact with the wall. Bend your elbows and slide arms back to the starting position.

Do two sets of 15 reps.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Argh!  I was so busy with family fun today that I forgot to take my picture o’ the day.

I need to spend more time honing my photography skills, and attempting to develop a “photographer’s eye”.

WWW.

This blogger is SUPERB.  Seriously…SO. TALENTED.  An artist, mama, wife….SUCH a creative soul.

This Heart of Mine

I mean…I saw this, and was SPEECHLESS.  I could NEVER do this…and it seems like she whipped it up in no time.  WOW.

Cardboard Play Tower on This Heart of Mine

RUN (don’t you dare walk!) to this site….Amy, you ROCK!  🙂

HMMM.

Would Dr. King be proud of the improvements our country has made to date, or disappointed in what is still left to be done?

Just one more time—THANK YOU to all of you….WONDERFUL family, DEAR friends, and loyal blog followers!!

