Thank you all for sticking with me these past couple of days, when I was unable to post daily.  Although I feel bad about not doing the daily post on its actual DAY, sometimes work just has to come first!  Ah, such is life, right?

Today we celebrate words…and Pooh.  (Winnie the Pooh!)

QUOTABLES.

This is how I became a reader, and sure hope it prompts Wee One to become a reader as well.  There is nothing quite as comforting as sitting near a fire on a cold winter’s day, mug of hot goodness in hand, delving into a world of fiction, or poetry, or biography….ah, it warms my heart just thinking of it!!

This quotation print came from the blog of Lemon Tree Creations.  Gosh, these ladies had some really good posts.  Unfortunately, they’ve decided to go on a bit of a hiatus from the blog, but I definitely recommend looking at some of their past projects.  Best wishes to them in their future endeavors!

CELEBRATIONS.

January 18, 2012 is…

National Peking Duck Day

Thesaurus Day

Winnie the Pooh Day

I have a confession to make.  I don’t like Winnie the Pooh.  Well, not the “new” Disney version.  Okay, maybe it’s not that I “don’t like” him…I just am not a huge fan.  However, I LOVE the old Pooh, by A.A. Milne, illustrated by E.H. Shepard.  Thankfully, the original Pooh illustrations are coming en vogue again, and this makes me so happy!!

And, a day to celebrate the thesaurus?  Make that every day for me.  Seriously, I use a thesaurus ALL of the time, as I have to do a lot of writing for work, and hate using the same words over and over again.  It’s always fun to find new and creative ways to say the same types of things, right?  (Or maybe I’m just a huge dork!  That is a DEFINITE possibility!)

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Speaking of Winnie the Pooh….

Winnie-the-Pooh’s Giant Lift-the-Flap Book

By A.A. Milne, Illustrated by Ernest H. Shepard

When I was younger, I used to LOVE flap books…the surprises underneath the flaps were SO intriguing!  Needless to say, I was thrilled to find this book at a little bookstore I frequent…and it was on sale!  (That’s always an added bonus!)  This book has tons of flaps, great illustrations, and is a wonderful learning tool, too.

DO RE MI.

One of the first movies I ever remember watching is “The Sound of Music.”  I was only a Wee One myself.  Ah….this is by far my most favorite musical.  I would just be ECSTATIC if I ever got to play Maria, in a community theater production or something…

The Sound of Music

From The Sound of Music, Sung by Julie Andrews

To purchase and download “The Sound of Music”, sung by Julie Andrews, click below:

The Sound Of Music

Lyrics:

My day in the hills has come to an end, I know
A star has come out, to tell me it’s time to go
But deep in the dark green shadows
Are voices that urge me to stay
So I stop and I wait and I listen
For one more sound, for one more lovely thing
that the hills might say

The hills are alive with the sound of music
With songs they have sung for a thousand years
The hills fill my heart with the sound of music
My heart wants to sing every song it hears

My heart wants to beat like the wings of the birds
that rise from the lake to the trees
My heart wants to sigh like a chime that flies
from a church on a breeze
To laugh like a brook when it trips and falls over
stones on its way
To sing through the night like a lark who is learning to pray

I go to the hills when my heart is lonely
I know I will hear what I’ve heard before
My heart will be blessed with the sound of music
And I’ll sing once more

To download “The Sound of Music”, easy piano version, click here; for the piano, vocal and guitar version, click here.

Of course, the entire “Sound of Music” soundtrack is OUTSTANDING:

EVERY song from this musical is breathtaking!  I cannot listen to it often enough.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 18: Winnie.the.Pooh

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I don’t like duck, so I haven’t posted a peking duck recipe today.  However, I have been very excited to post the recipe we made this weekend, so today seemed like as good a day as any….

Pad See Ew from Omnivorous Fox

This recipe is SO. Good.  In fact, we just made it again!  AND, the leftovers are just as yummy, if not even better.  We couldn’t find flat rice noodles, so we just used standard rice noodles, and these worked fine.  We also added a lot more garlic, just ’cause we’re big garlic lovers!

The blog, Omnivorous Fox, is great….I can’t wait to try the recipe for Pea Pesto and Ricotta Crostini!!!

ACTION.

The Mister inspired today’s activity:

Take baby on tour of your yard, explaining what you see.

Now, it’s the middle of winter, and quite cold here, so he did this tour from INSIDE, looking out the windows all around our house.  She LOVED it!  Quite the cute papa-Wee One bonding moment.

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

I’ve never really thought about spaces between periods.  I mean, you MUST put two spaces between them, and if I find that I haven’t, I quickly correct my error.  That’s why this article caught my eye:

Space Invaders.  Why you should never, ever use two spaces after a period.  By Farhad Manjoo

Excerpt:

Type professionals can get amusingly—if justifiably—overworked about spaces. “Forget about tolerating differences of opinion: typographically speaking, typing two spaces before the start of a new sentence is absolutely, unequivocally wrong,” Ilene Strizver, who runs a typographic consulting firm The Type Studio, once wrote. “When I see two spaces I shake my head and I go, Aye yay yay,” she told me. “I talk about ‘type crimes’ often, and in terms of what you can do wrong, this one deserves life imprisonment. It’s a pure sign of amateur typography.” “A space signals a pause,” says David Jury, the author of About Face: Reviving The Rules of Typography. “If you get a really big pause—a big hole—in the middle of a line, the reader pauses. And you don’t want people to pause all the time. You want the text to flow.”

What do you think?  Two spaces, or one?

WORK IT.

Crisscross Press

(From prevention.com)

Targets: Chest

A. Hold a 3- to 8-pound dumbbell in each hand and lie faceup on bench (or on a mat on the floor) with knees bent, feet flat on bench. With arms out at sides, bend elbows so upper arms are at shoulder level and palms are facing forward.

B. Contract chest and press weights up so that left wrist crosses over right. Lower to start. On next rep, cross right wrist over left. Continue alternating crisscrosses for 8 to 16 reps.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

The Mister took this picture in Rome, and his wonderful mama had it framed.  (I tried to take a pic of it straight on, but the glare was really bad, even without flash.)

Doesn’t it look like a professional print?  Maybe HE should have a blog!  (hint, hint!)

WWW.

A Happy Nest is a really neat blog, and quite the popular one to boot!  Nikole is such an interesting and inspiring woman…we’ve never met, but her blog posts are really remarkable.  She is crafty, and a mama, and I think we’d get along quite well.  🙂

A Happy Nest

She made this tent for her daughter, and let me tell ya….that is one lucky little one!

I wonder if I could do this….

Thea’s Play Tent from A Happy Nest

If Wee One had THIS and the castle from This Heart of Mine, she’d have SO much fun!  I’d better get building asap!

HMMM.

Which Winnie the Pooh do you like the best?  The Disney version, or the original?

I still need to update a couple of more posts, so I had better keep writing!!

