Gosh…it is snowing up a storm, and it sure looks like Christmas today!  A bit late, but better late than never!  It is on days like this I am thankful to be able to do some work from home!

QUOTABLES.

Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.  

John Ruskin

This is sure a positive way to look at ALL types of weather….I may need to adopt this attitude when I need to go out in weather that is much below zero this winter, or in pouring rain this summer!

CELEBRATIONS.

January 19, 2012 is…

National Popcorn Day

Tin Can Day

My taste for popcorn goes in streaks—sometimes I like it sweet, sometimes I like it salty, and sometimes I can really just take it or leave it.  However, I just HAVE to share my new favorite popcorn treat with you—The Mister brought it home, and I was dubious, but it is So. SOOOO. GOOOD.  It is Dark Fudge Chocolate Chip Kettle Corn by Popcorn Indiana….You NEED to try this stuff.  (Their White Cheddar Popcorn is also awesome.)  In fact…hold on just a sec….I need to go grab a handful!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Wee One has just started to learn to reach toward me, and she is also becoming a bit of a cuddler whenever she is picked up—not quite into “hugging” yet, but close!

Mommy Hugs

By Anne Gutman and Georg Hallensleben

They have also written “Daddy Cuddles”, which we may need to read too!

DO RE MI.

I was thinking of something to do in honor of tin can day, and this song came to mind:

There’s a Hole in the Bucket

From Wee Sing Silly Songs

To purchase and download “There’s a Hole in the Bucket”,from Wee Sing Silly Songs, click below:

There’s a Hole in the Bucket
Lyrics:

There’s a hole in the bucket, dear Liza, dear Liza,
There’s a hole in the bucket, dear Liza,
There’s a hole.

Then fix it dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
Then fix it dear Henry, dear Henry, fix it.

With what should I fix it, dear Liza, dear Liza,
With what should I fix it, dear Liza, with what?

With a straw, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
With a straw, dear Henry, dear Henry, with a straw.

But the straw is too long, dear Liza, dear Liza,
The straw is too long, dear Liza, too long.

Then cut it dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
Then cut it dear Henry, dear Henry, cut it!

With what shall I cut it, dear Liza, dear Liza,
With what shall I cut it, dear Liza, with what?

With an ax, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
With an ax, dear Henry, an ax.

But the ax is too dull, dear Liza, dear Liza,
The ax is too dull, dear Liza, too dull.

Then, sharpen it, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
Then sharpen it dear Henry, dear Henry, sharpen it!

With what should I sharpen it, dear Liza, dear Liza,
With what should I sharpen, dear Liza, with what?

With a stone, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
With a stone, dear Henry, dear Henry, a stone.

But the stone is too dry, dear Liza, dear Liza,
The stone is too dry, dear Liza, too dry.

Then wet it, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
Then wet it dear Henry, dear Henry, wet it.

With what should I wet it, dear Liza, dear Liza,
With what should I wet it, dear Liza, with what?

With water, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
With water, dear Henry, dear Henry, with water.

But how shall I get it?, dear Liza, dear Liza,
But how shall I get it?, dear Liza, with what?

In the bucket, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry,
In the bucket, dear Henry, dear Henry, in the bucket!

But there’s a hole in the bucket, dear Liza, dear Liza,
There’s a hole in the bucket, dear Liza, a hole.
There’s a hole.

To download the piano vocal version of “There’s A Hole In My Bucket”, click here.

I didn’t realize there were so many verses to this song!  Wow!!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 19: POPcorn!

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I have liked this blog for awhile, so imagine my joy when I did a search for chocolate popcorn, only to discover this delectable treat!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Popcorn Poppy Chow from Browneyed Baker

I am DEFINITELY making this as one of the many Super Bowl treats I plan on creating!

I think I’m going to spend some time on the Browneyed Baker’s blog tonight….everything looks delicious!

ACTION.

Wee One is sure a fan of music, even at this young age, so today’s activity is:

Help baby create music.

I help her hit the piano keys, shake noisy containers (today we played with a plastic almond container), and I even downloaded a piano app for my phone—she finds each of these things super fun!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

A lot of Paula Deen’s recipes look tasty.  Hazardous to health, perhaps, if eaten in mass quantities, but tasty.  I’ve wondered about her health, and then saw this proclamation of her diabetes diagnosis:

Paula’s Big Fat Secret from Thedaily.com

Excerpt:

Sources say Deen, 64, who never addressed the diabetes question, has worked out a multimillion-dollar deal to be the spokeswoman for a pharmaceutical company and endorse the drug she is taking.

What are YOUR thoughts?  Are you an “all things in moderation” person, or are there some foods that should never cross your lips?  (I’m an “all in moderation” person, myself…)

WORK IT.

Jazz-Style Lunge and Stretch

(From cookinglight.com)

Targets: Calves and Thighs

Stand in a straddle position with your feet about four feet apart, toes turned out about 45 degrees. Place your hands in front of you on the floor for support; slowly bend your right knee to just short of 90 degrees, keeping your left leg straight. Flex your left foot. Hold for 5 to 10 seconds; repeat on the other side, alternating for 20 repetitions.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

I noticed that Wee One still has a Christmas gift from her Nana left to open.

Wonder what is inside?

WWW.

I have a photographer friend that I just HAVE to tell you about, especially if you live in the midwest or Texas.  (She has family in both places.)  She does awesome work, and I’m particularly fond of her newborn photos.  However, she also takes wonderful pics of families, maternity shots, and high school seniors.

Diane H. Photography

OH!  She’s also super nice and friendly and fun to be around, so that’s definitely a plus when you’re trying to choose someone to do your family’s photos!  🙂

HMMM.

Today is Tin Can day—do you have any creative uses for tin cans?

Still updating….one more post to go…woo hoooooo!

