I read a magazine article today about how birth changes a woman’s body.  It was all true, I suppose.  They even forgot to mention some “fun” (aka painful or gross but no one wants to talk about them) post-birth facts.

I’ve mentioned this a bit before on the blog, but when I was pregnant with Wee One, I was SUPER sick….I even had to be hospitalized.  Needless to say, I warned every woman I could NOT to have kids, because pregnancy was “so terrible”.  One of my friends responded by saying she was glad I told her all of the bad stuff, because now she won’t have kids….she has since made comments about having children, so I don’t think I REALLY scared her off.

But….it made me really think:  How much should women without children, or women pregnant with their first baby, be told about pregnancy?  Is it best to describe it in all of its graphic glory, or best to let each woman learn things for herself?  After all, pregnancy and birth are different for everyone.  And, once you’re 8 months pregnant, that baby is coming, so does it really even pay to learn (and likely dread) some of the not-so-glorious things about birth and after that lie ahead?

QUOTABLES.

Whenever I held my newborn baby in my arms, I used to think that what I said and did to him could have an influence not only on him but on all whom he met, not only for a day or a month or a year, but for all eternity – a very challenging and exciting thought for a mother.  

Rose Kennedy

This quotation is quite humbling.  To think of affecting the life of Wee One, herself, is an honor (and somewhat of a fear!) in itself…but to think about how what I do not only affects HER, but those she meets…and that my actions will affect her, and others, FOREVER….wow.  It makes me want to do an even BETTER job of being a mother.  I’m constantly worried that I won’t be good enough, or will make mistakes, and this quote confirms what an enormous responsibility parenthood is.  At the same time, as Ms. Kennedy said, it’s a very exciting thought, too!

CELEBRATIONS.

January 21, 2012 is…

National Granola Bar Day

National Hugging Day

New England Clam Chowder Day

Squirrel Appreciation Day

Granola, hugs, clam chowder, AND squirrels?  Why, I don’t think there’s anything in that bunch that I DON’T like…what a wonderful day!  🙂

On Pinterest (of course!) I saw this neat ways to mail a “hug”—what a great idea if you have family members that live far away!

Long Distance Hug at Tons of Fun

Roots and Wings Co. also has a great “mail a hug” idea.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Ha ha ha…I should have looked ahead…today would have been the perfect day to read “Mommy Hugs”, since it is National Hugging Day!  Oh well, we were just a little ahead of the game on that one!  In any event, today’s book is JUST as wonderful:

A Silly Snowy Day

By Michael Coleman

I WAS going to read Squirrel Nutkin by Beatrix Potter, but couldn’t find it.  But, today IS a silly day, with snow (even though it’s not actually snowing).  So, this book was QUITE fitting!

DO RE MI.

I asked The Mister for a song suggestion today, and his response was “Sesame Street”.  Well, Wee One is far too little to watch TV, but…okay, Mister, “Sesame Street” theme song, it is!

Theme from “Sesame Street”

To purchase and download the theme from “Sesame Street”, click below:

Sesame Street Theme

Lyrics:

Sunny Day
Sweepin’ the clouds away
On my way to where the air is sweet

Can you tell me how to get,
How to get to Sesame Street

Come and play
Everything’s A-OK
Friendly neighbors there
That’s where we meet

Can you tell me how to get
How to get to Sesame Street

It’s a magic carpet ride
Every door will open wide
To happy people like you–
Happy people like
What a beautiful

Sunny Day
Sweepin’ the clouds away
On my way to where the air is sweet

Can you tell me how to get,
How to get to Sesame Street…

How to get to Sesame Street

To download the piano, vocal, guitar version of the theme from “Sesame Street”, click here; for the easy piano version, click here.

Gosh, I have SUCH GOOD MEMORIES of watching Sesame Street, Mr. Rogers, and other TV gems at my childhood babysitter’s home.  We used to try to guess what color sweater Mr. Rogers was going to wear each day….did any of ya’ll do that?

I haven’t watched Sesame Street in YEARS, so I wonder if it’s anything like I remembered it….maybe I’ll have to tune in one of these days!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 21: A little bit squirrel-y

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I used to really like creamy soups, and that included New England Clam Chowder.  Now, I’m more into soups with lots of ingredients and veggies, probably because I ate too much creamy soup when I was little or something.

Anyway, in honor of New England Clam Chowder day…well, here ya go!

Lora’s New England Clam Chowder from Masa and Meatballs

There were a LOT of clam chowder recipes online (as expected), but this actually looked really, really good.  I love the idea of using clams in the shell.  And, as a bonus, this comes with a recipe for Parmesan Oyster Crackers!

ACTION.

We’ve noticed that Wee One is becoming much more alert.  She looks up, and pays attention to, a variety of people and objects.

Help baby “find” you, by calling to her from different parts of the room.

We did this the other day, and she just thought it was a HOOOOOT!  I put her in her Bumbo, and went to different parts of the house, calling her name.  I made sure she could see a glimpse of me, wherever I was, and it was so fun for ME to be able to see her look around, find me, and break into a HUGE grin.  Ah…baby love.  It’s the best.

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

To be honest, I don’t know much about Chinese history.  That’s sad, isn’t it?  Such a great nation, and I’m basically illiterate about its culture, its people, and its past.

This story really captured my attention.

The Secret Document That Transformed China by David Kestenbaum and Jacob Goldstein

Excerpt:

In 1978, the farmers in a small Chinese village called Xiaogang gathered in a mud hut to sign a secret contract. They thought it might get them executed. Instead, it wound up transforming China’s economy in ways that are still reverberating today.

The contract was so risky — and such a big deal — because it was created at the height of communism in China. Everyone worked on the village’s collective farm; there was no personal property.

“Back then, even one straw belonged to the group,” says Yen Jingchang, who was a farmer in Xiaogang in 1978. “No one owned anything.”

At one meeting with communist party officials, a farmer asked: “What about the teeth in my head? Do I own those?” Answer: No. Your teeth belong to the collective.

It’s difficult to imagine living in a nation such as that…I should really read more about this, so that I can more fully understand what happened….

WORK IT.

Mountain Climber

(From Parents.com)

Targets: Chest, back, arms, legs, and abs

Start with your hands on the ground in a full push-up position, contracting your belly to support your spine and pelvis. Bring your left knee up to your chest, rounding your upper back slightly, then return to start position. Quickly repeat the same move with your right leg. Pick up pace as you alternate legs. Do three sets of 20

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

I’ve been eating a lot of pancakes lately, so that means The Mister has been eating pancakes too.

However, while I like mine plain, with syrup, he eats his with eggs.  Is that weird, or do a lot of people do that?

WWW.

Are you ready?  I am about to tell you about one of my all-time FAVORITE blogs.  I have tried many a recipe from Deb’s site, and am always pleased as punch by the results.  (Trust me, this is because of the RECIPE, NOT because of me as the cook!)

Smitten Kitchen

Since today is a celebration of Granola Bars, I wanted to link to her Granola Bar recipe.  I made a bunch of these when I was newly pregnant (when I had this random urge to bake about 50 things one weekend), and they turned out REALLY well.  Definitely got a lot of compliments on them.

Smitten Kitchen’s Thick, Chewy Granola Bars

I know you’re busy, but if you’re joining in on the weekend challenge goals, I know you need a cookie recipe, and this site is SURE to please!  So, get over there!

HMMM.

What is your favorite thing to give, or receive, in a care package?

It is Saturday—get out there and enjoy it!  (Or, stay IN and enjoy it!)

