Well, I am about to get back in the trenches for work this week, but thought I should take time to post for today.  After all, dear readers, I would hate to disappoint you!

QUOTABLES.


Curiosity…isn’t it fun to see how curious little ones are about their world?  I hope to be JUST as curious about the world around me, even though I’m an adult.  (I’m not always great at this, though…sometimes I just keep moving forward, without asking questions, and exploring things around me.)  I’m going to try to be better at this!  🙂

CELEBRATIONS.

January 22, 2012 is…

National Blonde Brownie Day

Roe v. Wade/Celebration of Life Day (Depending on your preference!)

What are your thoughts about the pro-life/pro-choice debate?  Can we ever all reach a consensus?

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I’m trying to get a bunch of work done today, so The Mister is watching Wee One (and football!)…however, one of us will read the following:

My World

By Margaret Wise Brown

I don’t really remember reading these when I was a child (and by “these”, I mean “Good Night Moon” and “My World”, but have certainly enjoyed them with Wee One!

DO RE MI.

January is Hot Tea Month, and I’ve sure been enjoying my share!  I thought this song was particularly relevant, considering today’s Pinterest theme!

I’m a Little Tea Pot

Sung by Helen Goodwin

To purchase and download “I’m a Little Tea Pot”, sung by Helen Goodwin, click below:

I’m A Little Teapot

Lyrics:

I’m a little teapot, short and stout
Here is my handle (one hand on hip), here is my spout (other arm out straight)
When I get all steamed up, hear me shout
Just tip me over and pour me out!
(As song ends, lean over and tip arm out like a spout.)

I’m a clever teapot, yes it’s true
Here’s an example of what I can do
I can change my handle to my spout (Switch arm positions and repeat tipping motion.)
Just tip me over and pour me out.

Wow…every day, I try to search for the best version of the songs I list, but boy oh boy…a lot of children’s music is, well…bad!!  Do you have any recommendations?

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 22: A spot of tea

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I love brownies of all kinds, but growing up, blonde brownies were absolutely my VERY FAVORITE.  (I think it was really just my mama’s recipe!)

Blonde Brownies from The June Bride

These look VERY similar to the Blonde Brownies (or “Blondies”, as some people call them) that I grew up with!  Maybe I should try my hand at making them again….I just don’t know why they never turn out for me!

ACTION.

Wee One talks up a storm.  All the time.  She is CONSTANTLY cooing, and chortling…I love it.

Have conversation with baby.

Sometimes, I just let her sit around talking to herself, but it’s also fun to have her talk, and then respond, ask questions, and have her “answer”.  I’ve read that this encourages language development, but even if it doesn’t, it’s still pretty fun!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Vanity Fair AND National Public Radio…two of my favorites things to read and listen to…so, when I found an article in Vanity Fair ABOUT NPR…well, I just had to post it.

National Public Rodeo by David Margolick

Excerpt:

When most people hear “NPR,” they think Cokie Roberts, Nina Totenberg, Robert Siegel, and for some on the far right, all that is wrong with the mainstream liberal media. But beneath the veneer of the “Minnesota nice,” a simmering battle has been waged, and in the balance hangs NPR’s future and perhaps even its soul—as either a nonpartisan defender of in-depth journalism or a target of the partisan sniping of the sound-bite era. David Margolick explores how NPR’s management managed to squander the advantages of the national dole, deep-pocketed donors, a roster of top-notch reporters, and the loyalty of legions of devoted Click and Clack fans—and whether it can recover from theannus horribilis of 2011.

Oh….work/radio politics.  I hate it!  Can’t I just listen to “All Things Considered” or “Science Friday” without having to worry or think about this stuff?  Well, actually, I suppose I can!

WORK IT.

Abs Sprawl

(From self.com)

Targets: Abs, back, thighs

Sit with back at a 45-degree angle, knees bent, feet 6 inches off ground, holding knees with both hands to start. Hold for two seconds, then release knees, extending legs (in a “v”)  and arms (out to sides) for two seconds. Return to start for 1 rep. Continue for 1 minute.  Think of it as making a snow angel in the air.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

I have a TON of work to do, and have been drinking lots of tea….

So, The Mister got me this glass tea container…it’s AWESOME!  I love it!  Sorry for the quick not-that-great pic, but I must get back to work!

WWW.

I think you will really like this next site…

Makes and Takes

Each and every one of these writers, and their posts, are GREAT.  Crafts AND recipes!

I really like this idea….

Easy Hooded Bath Towel from Makes and Takes

Now….if only I could sew…..!

HMMM.

Is your Sunday a day of rest, or a day to get things done?

It’s almost Monday, and that’s okay…there is something to be said about starting the week refreshed and rejuvenated, and I hope that’s how ya’ll feel!

