Today is Monday!  And you know what that means, folks…only a few short days until the weekend!  🙂  It’s going to be another busy week around here, and I am counting down the minutes to the weekend more than you can know!  Now, will the week fly by, because I’m so excited for the weekend?  Some doubters may say “no way, Jose”, but I say “yes!”

QUOTABLES.


Favorite movie musical.  Favorite musical, in general.  Wonderful quote.

(I found this on Etsy a long time ago, but can’t find it there any longer, so I’m not sure who the seller/creator is…if you know, please drop me a line!)

CELEBRATIONS.

January 23, 2012 is…

Chinese New Year

Measure Your Feet Day

National Handwriting Day

National Pie Day AND

National RHUBARB Pie Day

So, I guess the goal for today is to celebrate the Chinese New Year by measuring your feet, writing down the results, and baking two types of pie, with one of them rhubarb….?

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I must confess…I don’t think I have ever read this book!  Thankfully for me, Wee One’s GodMoo got this for her (among many other wonderful things), and I have been so excited to read it ever since.  Today seemed like the perfect day!

Madeline

By Ludwig Bemelmans

The illustrations are DARLING, and the story is just as great!  I can’t wait to read more Madeline books!

DO RE MI.

I am missing my friends and family today, so this song popped into my head:

The More We Get Together

Sung by Raffi

To purchase and download “The More We Get Together” by Raffi, click below:

The More We Get Together

Lyrics:

The more we get together
Together, together
The more we get together
The happier we’ll be
Cause your friends are my friends
And my friends are your friends
The more we get together
The happier we’ll be

The more we play together
Together, together
The more we play together
The happier we’ll be
Cause your friends are my friends
And my friends are your friends
The more we play together
The happier we’ll be

The more we dance together
Together, together
The more we dance together
The happier we’ll be
Cause your friends are my friends
And my friends are your friends
The more we dance together
The happier we’ll be

The more we get together
Together, together
The more we get together
The happier we’ll be
Cause your friends are my friends
And my friends are your friends
The more we get together
The happier we’ll be
The more we get together
The happier we’ll be
The more we get together
The hap-pi-er we’ll be

I used to love singing this with my mama…oh yes, we were (and are!) quite the singing duo!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 23: Pie, oh my!

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

It’s Rhubarb Custard Pie Day!  (Which should be in summer, right?  Oh well, another holiday to celebrate at a later date!)  My mama makes the BEST rhubarb custard pie.  And, of course, she made one this summer when I was pregnant with Wee One, and had gestational diabetes (or “the ‘betes, as The Mister used to call it), so I couldn’t eat any.  So sad!  My mama-in-law also makes the BEST rhubarb BARS…we have some wonderful cooks in this family!

Rhubarb Custard Pie from Elsie Marley

Wow…this site is beautiful!  And, this recipe has a bonus–it comes with a lattice top tutorial!  Very handy for Pie Day indeed!!

ACTION.

It may seem obvious, but today’s activity is

Smile!

Now, I don’t need a reminder to smile when I’m around Wee One most of the time…she just lights up a room, and you can’t help but smile when you’re around her!  Of course, some days I’m so busy with work that I realize I haven’t even glanced her way in a few minutes, and when I do, I always SMILE!!  She loves it, and it makes my day just a little better (or brighter!) too!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

This is such a fascinating article, and the pictures are phenomenal:

The love story that changed history: Fascinating photographs of interracial marriage at a time when it was banned in 16 states By Lydia Warren

Excerpt:

….[T]he Lovings won the fight – with the Supreme Court branding Virginia’s anti-miscegenation law unconstitutional in 1967.

It wrote in its decision: ‘Marriage is one of the basic civil rights of man, fundamental to our very existence and survival.

‘To deny this fundamental freedom on so unsupportable a basis as the racial classifications embodied in these statutes, classifications so directly subversive of the principle of equality at the heart of the Fourteenth Amendment, is surely to deprive all the State’s citizens of liberty without due process of law.’

I wonder if our children will look back on the current climate of marriage and feel the same way I did when I read that this couple had been arrested, for marrying.

WORK IT.

Cardio Circuit

(From fitsugar.com)

One minute walking up and down the stairs
One minute strength training (30 seconds push-ups, 30 seconds crunches)
One minute jumping rope
One minute skipping around your house
One minute fast-paced jumping jacks

Repeat this five-minute circuit five more times for a total of six rounds.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Before I got back to my work project, Wee One and I spent some time, hanging out, watching Wildfire on Netflix…

I’d never heard of this show before Netflix, but it is pretty good!

WWW.

I love the articles in this magazine, and some can be found on the site:

Vanity Fair

If you’re traveling, it’s a great plane read….and even if not, it’s a nice way to read some interesting, sometimes thought-provoking articles…a good change of pace from the short articles found in a newspaper, or some other magazines…

HMMM.

What is your favorite line from a song?

Well…I’ve got to get back to work….enjoy perusing Vanity Fair!

