I am SO GLAD that it is already Wednesday!  Time usually slows down when I am waiting for something, but this week is just speeding quite along!

Did you watch the State of the Union address last night?  I did not…how was it?

QUOTABLES.


Growing up, I was constantly taught that “life is about choices”.  Obvious, but true.  So many times people (and definitely myself included!) feel they are victims of some sort of circumstance, and often forget that we have choices to make in whatever circumstances we find ourselves in…..”choose the path of your own destiny” and all of that.  I think our choices show so much about our character.  People may have amazing abilities, but choose to use those abilities in ways that don’t benefit anyone.  Then, there are those with “lesser” abilities who chose to do far greater things….something to think about, huh?

CELEBRATIONS.

January 25, 2012 is…

Macintosh Computer Day

National Irish Coffee Day

Opposite Day

I HATE Macintosh Computers….oh wait, it’s Opposite Day!  I LOVE Macs….I don’t think I’ve ever had Irish Coffee, although I am partial to Baileys and coffee or hot cocoa during the Christmas holidays…

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I’ve only read a few books by Sandra Boynton, but this is by FAR my favorite!

Happy Hippo, Angry Duck

By Sandra Boynton

The illustrations crack me up….oh, that DUCK!

DO RE MI.

I had to head to work today, and this song just came to mind….so fitting, so Wee One and I sang it as we were getting ready….I think she is a Disney fan!

Heigh ho!

From Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

To purchase and download “Heigh ho”, click below:

Heigh-Ho

Lyrics:

We dig dig dig dig dig dig dig in our mine the
whole day through
To dig dig dig dig dig dig dig is what we really like to do
It ain’t no trick to get rich quick
If you dig dig dig with a shovel or a pick
In a mine! In a mine! In a mine! In a mine!
Where a million diamonds shine!

We dig dig dig dig dig dig dig from early morn till night
We dig dig dig dig dig dig dig up everything in sight
We dig up diamonds by the score
A thousand rubies, sometimes more
But we don’t know what we dig ’em for
We dig dig dig a-dig dig

Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
Heigh-ho

[Chorus]
Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
It’s home from work we go
[Whistle]

Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho

[Chorus]

Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
[Whistle]

Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
Heigh-ho hum

[Chorus three times]

Heigh-ho [until fade]To download the barbershop quartet sheet music for  “Heigh-ho”, click here; for the solo voice and piano version, click here.

Wow.  I thought the only words were “Heigh-ho, heigh-ho, it’s off to work we go…” Silly me!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 25: Cooking it slow

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

Irish Coffee…I’ve never had it, but might give it a try some day…?

Irish Coffee from 52 Kitchen Adventures

This site has such great photos, and so many great recipes….such as one for slow cooker (steel cut!) oatmeal.

ACTION.

So, I am always concerned about making the most of each day, and ensuring that Wee One gets a ton of quality time and oodles of attention.  However, today’s activity is also important:

Independent play.

Thankfully for The Mister and me, Wee One likes to play on her own, sometimes “demanding” to be left alone in her own little way.  I am so proud of her for this!  But, sometimes, I still feel “guilty” when I’m just letting her hang out on a blanket, slobbering away/talking to her various toys….but, I’ve read that it’s GOOD to allow children (and even babies!) to play independently…so, this eases some of my mama guilt!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Not a huge fan of fast food, but I think I might give McDonald’s a try if I’m ever in France…although, to be fair, there are SO MANY wonderful restaurants there, that I’m not sure McDonald’s would ever be necessary!

Why McDonald’s in France Doesn’t Feel Like Fast Food by Eleanor Beardsley

Excerpt:

Another reason McDonald’s works so well here is that the food is locally sourced and very high quality. As we all know, France is the land of haute cuisine. But it’s also the land of good cuisine. The French appreciate quality in any category, even fast food. Restaurateurs in France know they’ll go bust if they offer substandard products. I’ve had friends from India tell me that the Indian restaurants in Paris are among the world’s best.

They even have baguettes!!

WORK IT.

Stiletto Squat

(From shape.com)

Targets: Butt, quads, calves

How to do it: With feet hip-width apart, squat down as if you are sitting in a chair. Lift your heels as high as you can and hold for 10 seconds. Release heels and then stand. That’s one squat. Form check: Stick your booty back farther than you think you should—most women tend to curl their hips under in a squat, which can lead to lower-back and knee injuries. Your bum should not be over your heels..

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

A random picture of a BEAUTIFUL quilt we got from my Aunt C…

Wee One got SO MANY beautiful quilts and blankets…I will try to post pictures of some of the other gorgeousness!!  (This was near when I realized that I needed a picture for today….)

WWW.

If you like kids’ crafts, I’m guessing you’ve already become addicted to this site.  But, just in the rare event you have not run across it, here is one great place to find crafts for children:

Crafty Crow

This may be one of THE best compilation children’s craft sites out there…in the past, I have honestly spent HOURS UPON HOURS on this site…it. is.  AWESOME.

One brief example is this cardboard tube doll…cute, right?

Cardboard Tube Doll Featured on Crafty Crow

I need to tear myself away from this site, or I will literally be stuck here for days.  There are SO MANY GREAT IDEAS.  Kudos to Cassi…this site rocks.

HMMM.

What one food do you wish was more readily available at fast food restaurants?

It’s the middle of the week already….wow!  I hope yours is continuing to be full of fun and adventure!  🙂


