I am just SO EXCITED for this weekend.  For one, The Mister is to return from a week-long work trip, and I can barely manage without him.  (I guess that’s what happens when you marry your best friend!)  I just miss him sooooo much when he is gone!!

AND…we are having family come this weekend, so that is always fun.

PLUS, well, it’s the WEEKEND!  Two glorious days of relaxation, and FUN!

However, on a solemn note, today is a day of remembrance for Holocaust victims….I encourage you to take time to reflect on these events, and to vow to help others in similar circumstances around the world.  Although today is a day to remember a tragic moment in history, I have decided to continue with “happy” posts as well here at Rally and Meels.  I hope that is okay with you, dear readers.

QUOTABLES.

I LOVE The Wizard of Oz, and this line from the movie says a lot: There is no place like home.  I do enjoy traveling bunches, but sometimes, it is SO NICE to just be in your own home.  Especially when you’ve been gone for awhile.  And, there’s just something comforting about being surrounded with mementos and things from the past, things you cherish, and things that are familiar.

The features of the week are:

TOYLAND.

I really enjoy the toys by Manhattan Toy, and was so pleased to find this when I was searching for Wee One’s Christmas gifts.  The birds are SO adorable (each is different), and there are multiple ways to put the birds in, and take them out, of the birdhouse!

Manhattan Toy Put and Peek Birdhouse 

There are a lot of these “put in, take out” toys, but this is one of my favorites so far.  Do you have any other recommendations?

WEARABLES.

Wee One has a LOT of clothes.  But it seems like we always turn to some favorites, day after day.  One of these is a gray cardigan we got from Old Navy…it is a bit heavy, and has fit her for the past several months.  It’s so nice to be able to throw on over an outfit for added warmth and layers, especially in these frigid winter months!

Cardigan Sweaters

I’m sure you can get cardigans any number of places, but Old Navy is sort of an old stand by for us for baby things…they also have great long-sleeved onesies, and one-piece rompers.

FABULOUS FINDS.

Earlier this week, I posted a picture of the tumbler The Mister got me for all of the tea I have been drinking.  It is AWESOME, and I think I’m going to get a couple more for water and other beverages.

One Vessel Glass Tumblers

Some of the tumblers have two walls of glass, and some just have one.  Some also come with a strainer, perfect for loose tea, or whatever else you may want to strain.

WEEKEND TO-DO LIST.

Well, it is the last weekend in January, and that means only a couple of more months of winter…hopefully!  Although I have really enjoyed cozying up inside during these cold months, I’m also excited to be more active in the spring and summer months!

For this January weekend, the to-do list includes:

1.  Find one book from bookstore or library that you have never read.

2.  Go out to eat for one meal with a family member or friend, whether it’s breakfast, lunch, dinner, or even just a snack.  Enjoy the food and conversation you share.

3.  Plan your Super Bowl Sunday festivities, whether they’ll be spent out somewhere, or at home.

And now, for the regular features…..

The Dailys:

CELEBRATIONS.

January 27, 2012 is…

Holocaust Memorial Day

Auschwitz Liberation Day

Chocolate Cake Day

I almost didn’t even post about “Chocolate Cake Day”, as it really pales in comparison to remembering the innocent victims of the Holocaust.  Please take a moment to remember these souls, and to vow never to forget what happened those many years ago…and to never allow this to happen again.  Vow to fight against inhumanity everywhere, including places such as Rwanda.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Eloise is a simply MAHvelous story, and if you have never read this, you MUST MUST MUST, dear reader!

Eloise

By Kay Thompson

I adore the illustrations, and the precociousness of Ms. Eloise.  I would love to take Wee One to NYC and The Plaza one day….

DO RE MI.

The best concert I ever saw was a reunion of Simon and Garfunkel with my college roomie, KME.  We were just so thrilled to be able to watch a group that our parents had listened to when THEY were in college….and the music of Simon and Garfunkel is SO GOOD, isn’t it?

Homeward Bound

By Simon and Garfunkel

To purchase and download “Homeward Bound”, by Simon and Garfunkel, click the link below:

Homeward Bound

Lyrics:

I’m sittin’ in the railway station, got a ticket for my destination
On a tour of one-night-stands, my suitcase and guitar in hand
And every stop is neatly planned for a poet and a one-man band

[Chorus:]
Homeward bound, I wish I was homeward bound
Home, where my thoughts escapin’, home, where my music’s playin’
Home, where my love lies waitin’ silently for me

Every day’s an endless stream of cigarettes and magazines
And each town looks the same to me, the movies and the factories
And every stranger’s face I see reminds me that I long to be

[Chorus]

Tonight I’ll sing my songs again, I’ll play the game and pretend
But all my words come back to me, in shades of mediocrity
Like emptiness and harmony, I need someone to comfort me

[Chorus repeats 2x]

Silently for me

To download the easy piano version of “Homeward Bound”, click here; for the piano, voice, and guitar version, click here.

I HIGHLY recommend any albums by Simon and Garfunkel, or solo albums by Paul Simon.  Definite classics.

NOURISHMENT.

Chocolate Cake Day.  My mama-in-law is one of the world’s BEST cake bakers and decorators.  German chocolate, lemon, carrot….she has recipes for them all, and they are DELICIOUS.  Although it’s not hers, here’s a chocolate cake recipe that looks mighty good.

Molten Dark Chocolate Brownie Cake by Christina Marsigliese

Oh my gosh…I just love brownies, and so this brownie cake is so tempting!!

There are many tempting recipes on Ms. Marsigliese’s site!

If you’re interested in a peach melba COCKTAIL, click here.  (The Noble Pig site is ALSO quite wonderful!)

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 27: The MAHvelous Eloise!

Follow me on Pinterest.

ACTION.

Wee One and I played a bit of “peek a boo” with a toy, under blankets.

Hide toy under blanket, and encourage baby to find it.

She didn’t quite understand, yet, where the toy went…but it was still a fun game to play.  We will definitely keep doing this more often!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Since today is to be spent in recognition of public radio, I definitely had to post something from npr.org.  This headline caught my attention:

The Importance of Child’s Play by Lenore Skenazy

Excerpt:

Kids learn through play. When kids play, they’re not wasting their time. They’re learning everything from motor skills to social skills and numbers. Think of all the counting that comes with hopscotch, or with making two even teams. Those activities are a lot more fun than flash cards, but they teach the same thing: math. Kids playing outside also learn things like distance, motion, the changing of the seasons—things we take for granted because we got time outside. But many of today’s kids spend all their daylight hours in child care.

WORK IT.

Bench or Chair Dip

(from oxygenmag.com)

Targets: Tricpes

Hold on to the edge of a bench, with your legs extended and heels touching the ground. Bend your arms until your triceps are parallel to the ground, then extend to return to the start.

Try: Two to three sets of 10 to 15 reps. (But don’t stop there if it’s too easy!)

Tip: Beginners can bend their knees and bring their feet closer to their body. For a real challenge, try placing your heels on another bench in front of you.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

I’ve had this flower container for a long time…

I’m not sure why I bought fake flowers, as I’m not a huge fan….but it’s so hard to keep fresh flowers around year round…since I do NOT have a green thumb!

WWW.

My dear friend, KME, mentioned above, recommended today’s site:

Young House Love

It is SUCH a wonderful site!  So fabulously written, with lots of great tutorials and home fixes, such as this closet makeover:

Baby Closet Makeover from Young House Love

I want to be their friends!!

HMMM.

What is your go-to beverage container?  SIGG water bottle?  Glass Vessel coffee mug?

Enjoy your weekend, lovely readers.  And please, remember today those whose lives were sacrificed in The Holocaust, and their families.

