Ah….family time this week and weekend…so nice!

Great lunch at a local bistro, a little shopping, and out to dinner at a local “steak house”…pretty good day over all!

QUOTABLES.

Oh….two of my favorite things!  Clothes AND books!  For so long, my sentiment would have been the reverse: Wear the NEW coat, by the USED book—however, since I’ve had Wee One, I think my thoughts would align with that of Minister Phelps.

CELEBRATIONS.

January 28, 2012 is…

National Blueberry Pancake Day

National Kazoo Day

National Seed Swap Day

Ah….Kazoos!  Gee, I had forgotten about these crazy instruments!  I’ll have to be sure to get Wee One one.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Wee One got this book from her Nana before she was born….I don’t think I’ve posted it yet!

On The Night You Were Born

By Nancy Tillman

Oh, this book brings tears to my eyes EVERY time!  SO sweet.  And so nice of Nana and Michael to read this to her tonight!!

DO RE MI.

Here’s a classic!

Old McDonald Had A Farm

It’s not my favorite version of this song, but it is an interesting arrangement—To purchase and download “Old McDonald Had A Farm”, sung by Ella Fitzgerald, click below:

Old McDonald Had A Farm

Lyrics:

Old MacDonald had a farm,
Ee i ee i oh!
And on that farm he had some chickens,
Ee i ee i oh!
With a cluck-cluck here,
And a cluck-cluck there

Here a cluck, there a cluck,
Everywhere a cluck-cluck
Old MacDonald had a farm
Ee i ee i oh!

Old MacDonald had a farm,
Ee i ee i oh!
And on that farm he had some dogs,
Ee i ee i oh!
With a woof-woof here,

And a woof-woof-woof there
Here a woof, there a woof,
Everywhere a woof-woof
Old MacDonald had a farm
Ee i ee i oh!

Old MacDonald had a farm,
Ee i ee i oh!
And on that farm he had some turkeys,
Ee i ee i oh!

With a gobble-gobble gobble-gobble here,
And a gobble-gobble gobble-gobble there
Here a gobble-gobble, there a gobble-gobble,
Everywhere a gobble-gobble-gobble
Old MacDonald had a farm
Ee i ee i oh!

Old MacDonald had a farm,
Ee i ee i oh!
And on that farm he had some cows,
Ee i ee i oh!
With a moo-moo here,
And a moo-moo there
Here a moo, there a moo,
Everywhere a moo-ooo
Old MacDonald had a farm,
Ee i ee i oh!

The Mister loves to come up with REALLY unique animals….like tortoises.  I mean, what kind of sound DOES a tortoise make??

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 28: Cakes.  In a pan!

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I think I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ve been on a pancake kick lately…I don’t know what it is about those fried circles of batter + syrup that just make me happy!  Oh yeah…probably the batter, and syrup, and fried-ness!

Blueberry Pancakes from Inspiring the Everyday

Yummy!!  SUCH gorgeous recipes on this site….very fancy schmancy (in a GOOD way!) with beautiful ingredients.  I bet this recipe for coconut tapiocoa is wonderful.

ACTION.

I’ve been staying home withWee One, and working from home, so Wee One, The Mister and I spend a lot of time together!  Thankfully, we have some OUTSTANDING friends and family to spend quality time with.

Expose baby to lots of different people and personalities.

We’re also looking for some mama’s groups/play groups for Wee One to be a part of, to socialize her even more.  (And for THIS mama to meet some new friends as well!)

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Are you familiar with the GOP candidates?  I’m not, really….and don’t know much about their wives either.  However, I have heard some commentary about Newt Gingrich’s wife, Callista, so wanted to read this article from “The New Yorker”.

The Good Wife by Ariel Levy

Excerpt:

She is a very disciplined, professional person,” he said. “She’s a classical pianist by training”—she majored in music at Luther College, in Decorah, Iowa. “She’s helped make seven documentaries. Just a very talented, competent person. She works very, very hard.” I asked when we’d be hearing from her, and Gingrich looked over at his wife and said, “I don’t know. What do you think?”

“When R.C. says yes,” she said brightly.

“We’re waiting for R.C. to unleash her,” Gingrich said with a smirk.

What are YOUR thoughts about Newt’s wife?

WORK IT.

Mogul Hop

(From womenshealthmag.com)

Targets: Butt

Place a rolled-up towel on the floor to the left of you, and stand on your right foot, knee slightly bent, elbows bent 90 degrees. Keeping your core tight, hop to the left over the towel and land on your left foot. Hop back to return to start. That’s one rep. Continue going back and forth at a quick but controlled pace, doing as many reps as you can in 60 seconds.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

So, we picked this pillow up a few years ago, and I thought it was SO NEAT….

However, although I’m not quite as partial to it lately, it’s colors are still vibrant, and Wee One is often taken by it!

WWW.

I found this site (in a roundabout way) while doing a search for good blueberry pancake recipes, and was SO impressed.

Somewhere Splendid

It’s a mixture of everything…DIY, entertaining and party suggestions, recipes…all of the good stuff!

This recipe for a pink lemonade cocktail looks divine!

Signature Pink Lemonade Cocktail from Somewhere Splendid

As a bonus, the site also includes instructions for how to make the sequined applique stir sticks here!

HMMM.

Books, or clothes—which is your priority?

Saturday, Saturday—big plans for tonight?  I think we may play Logos (have you heard of that game?), and drink some wine!  Pretty wild, I know!

