Oh, Sunday!  A day I love for its many possibilities, and a day I dread to come to an end, for Monday and another week of work is to follow!  However, I’m trying to enjoy each and every day, even IF a lot of work must be done (as, well, is generally the case!)

Welcome Monday with open arms, dear readers!  Think of all that is ahead this week, and all there is to look forward to.

QUOTABLES.

Good bread is the most fundamentally satisfying of all foods; good bread with fresh butter, the greatest of feasts!  

James Beard

I LOVE good, fresh bread.  My mama grew up with HER mama making homemade bread, and coming home to fresh bread after school.  I grew up with MY mama making homemade bread and rolls (and want to pass this tradition on to Wee One.)  My mama-in-law makes AMAZING homemade buns, and great white bread too….there is just nothing that can compete with a thick slab of fresh, warm bread with butter.  MMMMM!

CELEBRATIONS.

January is ALSO:

National Thank You Month

National Skating Month

National Polka Month

California Dried Plum Digestive Month

(I canNOT believe I failed to mention these, but hey!  You have a couple of days left to celebrate, so eat some prunes while polka-ing on ice skates, and send a thank you to someone special when you’re done.  WAHOO!)

This week is:

International Snow Sculpting Week

January 29, 2012 is…

National Corn Chip Day

National Puzzle Day

I grew up doing puzzles with my family (I think my Dad in particular), and tried to complete a puzzle over the holiday break….I didn’t get it anywhere NEAR finished, but I just relish the thought of having a fresh, new puzzles, and taking time, methodically, to piece it together.  Wouldn’t it be great to have a little table set up in your home as a puzzle table?

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Today my mama read this book to Wee One.  She (my mama) and I are SUCH bit Little House fans!

A Little Prairie House

By Laura Ingalls Wilder

Reading this brought back such fond memories of the “Little House” series I read when I was a young girl…I think I need to get those books out again for another visit to Laura, Ma, Pa, and the rest of the wonderful “Little House” folks.

DO RE MI.

We pulled out a Broadway songbook today, and played and sang some tunes, including

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

From “Mary Poppins”

Sung by Julie Andrews (who else??)

To purchase and download “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” from “Mary Poppins”, sung by Julie Andrews, click below:

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

Lyrics:

It’s…
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Even though the sound of it
Is something quite atrocious
If you say it loud enough
You’ll always sound precocious

All:
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Um diddle diddle diddle um diddle ay
Um diddle diddle diddle um diddle ay!

Bert:
Because I was afraid to speak
When I was just a lad
My father gave me nose a tweak
And told me I was bad
But then one day I learned a word
That saved me achin’ nose

Bert, Mary Poppins and Chorus:
The biggest word I ever heard
And this is how it goes: Oh!

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Even though the sound of it
Is something quite atrocious
If you say it loud enough
You’ll always sound precocious
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Um diddle diddle diddle um diddle ay
Um diddle diddle diddle um diddle ay!

Mary Poppins:
He traveled all around the world
And everywhere he went
He’d use his word and all would say
“There goes a clever gent”

Bert:
When Dukes and maharajas
Pass the time of day with me
I say me special word and then
They ask me out to tea

Bert, Mary Poppins and Chorus:
Oh..
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Even though the sound of it
Is something quite atrocious
If you say it loud enough
You’ll always sound precocious
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Um diddle diddle diddle um diddle ay
Um diddle diddle diddle um diddle ay!

Mary Poppins:
So when the cat has got your tongue
There’s no need for dismay
Just summon up this word
And then you’ve got a lot to say

But better use it carefully
Or it could change your life

For exemple
One night I said it to me girl
And now me girl’s my wife!

She’s supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

Oh my, I haven’t watched “Mary Poppins” in AGES, but I truly ADORE this movie.  Have you seen the Broadway musical?  I bet it’s great, although I can’t quite imagine anyone BUT Ms. Andrews as Mary Poppins.  The books by P.L. Travers are also quite good.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 29: Skating, skating

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

Today, my mama made muffins, and was going to make this Cinnamon Roll Cake, but didn’t have time.  She says it’s easy, tasty, and that I MUST try it!

Cinnamon Roll Cake from Life As A Lofthouse

I DO love a good cinnamon roll (it was one of the first things I wanted after Wee One was born, and my gestational diabetes had subsided), so I am definitely excited to try this!

ACTION.

People did a bunch of cooking around here today, and Wee One was fascinated to watch it all take place.

Have baby watch you do daily activities, like cooking, chores, etc.

She enjoys being a part of the action, and it’s so nice to have company while cleaning and cooking!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Yes, another something from NPR…do ya’ll have any other news/magazine sites to which you frequently turn?

“The Snowy Day”: Breaking Color Barriers, Quietly by NPR Staff

Excerpt:

“It was no longer necessary that the book say, ‘I am an African-American child going out into the snow today,’ ” Pope says. “They realized that you don’t put a color on a child’s experience of the snow.”

I don’t really remember this book, but I’ll have to take a look!

WORK IT.

The Reverse Lunge

(From realsimple.com)

Targets: Butt, thighs, calves, hips

Stand on a step stool or the bottom step of a staircase. Take a large step back with your right leg, landing on the ball of your foot; bring both fists near your waist, elbows back. Bend both knees as much as 90 degrees, with your left knee over your left foot. Step back up to the stool. Switch legs.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Wee One played her first unprompted piano note today, and that was so fun to watch!

It’s amazing how much you forget, even after 10 years of lessons, when you haven’t played for awhile!

WWW.

I found this site (in a roundabout way) while doing a search for good blueberry pancake recipes, and was SO impressed.

Fuss Free Cooking

I was looking for a corn chip recipe in honor of Corn Chip Day, and came across this site, which has some tasty looking recipes!

Here’s one:

Corn Chips Salad from Fuss Free Cooking

There are a LOT of recipes on this site, so head on over there and look around!

HMMM.

What is your favorite children’s movie?

Wishing you a wonderful start to your week!

