It has been just BEAUTIFUL here today, and these high temps are predicted to continue throughout the week.  Yay!  Nothing like a late January thaw to lift the spirits, and put a little more pep in one’s step!  🙂

QUOTABLES.

I attended a local chamber of commerce luncheon today, and the speaker mentioned this quote….I’ve seen it before, and thought it was a bit “cheesy”.  However, upon some reflection, I truly enjoy these words, for it really is true, isn’t it?  When I pondered it a bit, the feelings I get when around people are what I connect to my memories of them….therefore, I want to work to make people around ME feel good about themselves, positive about the world, and encouraged about life.  I know that sounds cheesy, too, but I think it’s a good goal to have, however “sappy” it may be.  I think the tough part will be making sure I try to do this on a daily basis, with the people I interact with!

CELEBRATIONS.

January 30, 2012 is…

Bubble Wrap Appreciation Day

National Croissant Day

I LOVED popping bubble wrap when I was little, and I had sort of forgotten the joy of this fun little activity!!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I like the illustrations of these books a LOT.

If You Take A Mouse To School

By Laura Numeroff

We have a lot of books by this author, and some are pretty cute…do you have a favorite?

DO RE MI.

It’s never too early to start teaching the alphabet, right?

ABC Song

Sung by Victor Johnson

To purchase and download “ABC Song”, sung by Victor Johnson, click below:

Abc Song

Lyrics:

A – B – C – D – E – F – G
H – I – J – K – L – M – N – O – P
Q – R – S – T – U and V,
W – X – Y and Z
Now I know my A – B – C’s
Next time won’t you sing with me?

Pretty self-explanatory, but a great way for kiddos to learn the A-B-C’s!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 30: Dried Plums 

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I don’t usually like deli meat, but sometimes a warm ham and cheese something sounds good…so this ham and cheese CROISSANT looks so nummy!

Ham and Cheese Croissants by Itsy Bitsy Foodies

This site is very cool…it’s about involving kids in meal choices and cooking, a philosophy near and dear to my heart!

ACTION.

Wee One finds different sounds funny, so today I made lots of:

Animal sounds

From chickies, to puppies, to piggies….this activity is awfully fun!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I LOVE to sing.  And, apparently, animals (other than birds!) do too!

Weird & Wild: Male Mice Have “Singing Voices” by Christine Dell’Amore of National Geographic News

Excerpt:

“It seems as though house mice might provide a new model organism for the study of song in animals,” study author Dustin Penn, of the University of Veterinary Medicine in Vienna, said in a statement. ”Who would have thought that?”

I’d recommend this short article…it’s quite interesting!

WORK IT.

The Hundred

(From prevention.com)

Targets: Arms, core

1) Lie on your back with your arms at your sides, palms facing down. Bend your knees so your feet are flat on the floor, under your knees.

2) Lift your head, neck and chest up off the floor. Gazing at your knees, or tucking your chin into your chest, lift your arms up, palms facing down. If this is too hard on your neck and shoulders, keep them on the floor.

3) Inhale. Press your palms down rhythmically as you exhale five short breaths, pumping your hands with each breath. Then turn your palms up, and press up rhythmically with five short inhales to complete one set. Aim for 25 breaths.

Make It Harder:
1) Start lying on your back. Bend your legs to form a 90-degree angle so your knees are directly over your hips and your calves are parallel to the floor. Scoop your belly in so your low back is flat on the floor.

2) Exhale as you lift your head, shoulders, and arms off the floor. The gaze is on the knees. Again, if your neck is uncomfortable, keep your head and shoulders on the floor.

3) Inhale. Press your palms down rhythmically as you exhale five short breaths, pumping your hands with each breath. Then turn your palms up, and press up rhythmically with five short inhales to complete one set. Aim for 50 breaths.

Try the Challenge:
1) With the same set-up as above, this time straighten your legs so they’re on a 45-degree diagonal off the floor.

2) Aim for a complete set of 100 breaths and arm-pumps.

For a bigger challenge, loop an exercise band around the tops of your shins to create resistance.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

This blanket was from Wee One’s Grammy.

It’s almost too nice for us to use!  (Sorry for the bad photo…I tried to think of some unique way to capture this blankie, and failed!!  It’s beyond beautiful, and of course this photo does NOT do it justice!)

WWW.

It was an absolute joy to discover this website!

Eighteen 25

Pinterest boards, crafts, links to OTHER wonderful sites…seriously, what more could you want?  This site is FABULOUS!

This is an example of a craft diy they posted (there are SO MANY other things on this site, too) for a neat way to keep make a “book” out of Christmas cards each year.

Christmas Card Books from Eighteen 25

This is such a wonderful idea!!

HMMM.

Do you agree with Ms. Angelou’s quote?  What do you remember most: what people say, what people do, or how they make you feel?

Gosh…I think I need to get all of my old cards out of storage, and put together some card “books”!

