Today is a celebration of ballet, and it brings back my desire to learn ballet, and other dances.  I’m definitely NOT the world’s best dance by far, but I really LOVE dancing, especially doing more “choreographed” dances.

Do any of you take dance classes now, as adults?  I’d love to learn about your experiences!

QUOTABLES.

On with the dance! let joy be unconfined;
No sleep till morn, when Youth and Pleasure meet
To chase the glowing hours with flying feet.

George Gordon, Lord Byron, Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage

I really embrace the idea of joy unconfined!!

CELEBRATIONS.

February 7, 2012 is…

Ballet Day

National Fettuccine Alfredo Day

Send a Card to a Friend Day

OOH!  These are GOOD celebrations!!  I’ve always wanted to learn ballet (is 30 too late?), I secretly enjoy fettuccine alfredo, and cards in the REAL mail just can’t be beat.  Yay, yay, YAY!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Oh, how I WISH they would re-publish all of my favorite Little Golden Books!

Walt Disney’s Winnie the Pooh and the Pebble Hunt

This is no longer in print (boo!), but you can find a used copy here:

Walt Disney’s Winnie-The-Pooh & the Pebble Hunt (First Little Golden Book)

Reading this to Wee One made me want to go on a pebble hunt!

DO RE MI.

This may be my number 1, all time favorite, song.  I ADORE IT.

Edelweiss

From “The Sound of Music”

To purchase and download “Edelweiss” from “The Sound of Music”, click below:

Edelweiss

Lyrics:

CAPTAIN:
Edelweiss, Edelweiss
Every morning you greet me
Small and white clean and bright
You look happy to meet me
Blossom of snow may you bloom and grow
Bloom and grow forever
Edelweiss,Edelweiss
Bless my homeland forever.

CAPTAIN, MARIA, THE CHILDREN AND CHORUS:
Small and white clean and bright
You look happy to meet me
Blossom of snow may you bloom and grow
Bloom and grow forever
Edelweiss,Edelweiss
Bless my homeland forever

To download the piano, vocal, guitar sheet music version of “Edelweiss”, click here; for the easy piano version, click here.

There is something SO BEAUTIFUL about this song’s simplicity, and its lyrical qualities….ahhh….

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 7: Plie.  Jete.  Ballet.

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

What is it about beautiful pictures that makes a recipe SO much more appealing??

Fettuccine Alfredo from Life’s Ambrosia


I would also like to try this recipe for dark chocolate pumpkin butter.  That sounds like a a perfect fall treat!

ACTION.

Today Wee One and I had SO MUCH FUN!

Mimicking.

I made faces (like sticking my tongue out), and kept doing it….she watched SO INTENTLY.  I also mimicked her sounds (dadada), and she repeated them back.  I know it sounds obvious, this is such a cool activity for babies (and mamas!)

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

As mentioned before, The Mister and I have become addicted to Downton Abbey.

The Secret Appeal of Downton Abbey by Theodore Dalrymple

Excerpt:

“Downton Abbey” portrays a fairy-tale way of life in which butlers and footmen appear far better dressed than today’s billionaires—many of whom, after making their fortune, seem to want to be sartorially indistinguishable from the most sloppily dressed adolescent rebel. The series thus satisfies a secret or vicarious longing for elegance without imposing the hard work that’s necessary to achieve it in reality.

Thank you, Netflix, for having this!!

WORK IT.

Diagonal Leg

(From fitnessmagazine.com)

Targets: Abs, obliques, butt, quads, hamstrings, and calves

Lie face up on floor with knees bent, feet flat, hands on floor by hips.

Lift hips off floor and tuck left foot under right thigh, left knee pointing left.

Keeping hips lifted throughout, bring left knee out to left to untuck foot, then extend leg diagonally up to left.

Return left foot to tuck position. Do 20 reps. Switch sides and repeat. Do 2 sets.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

These window “coverings” came with the house.  Not QUITE our style!!

What window coverings do you recommend?

WWW.

LOVE. L.O.V.E.  LOOOOOVE this site.

The Domestic Gourmet

This is the type of site I CRAVE.  Wonderful pictures, great recipes…there’s just something about it that’s SO inspiring!

I really adore everything about this recipe:

Kale Caesar Salad from The Domestic Gourmet

This site gets TWO BIG THUMBS UP!!!

HMMM.

What is your favorite dance move or type?

I think I need to turn on some tunes and dance around the house….!

