It’s the middle of the week…and tomorrow is Wee One’s 6 month birthday!  MY, HOW time FLIES!

QUOTABLES.

So saith Albert Einstein.  So agreeth me.

CELEBRATIONS.

February 8, 2012 is…

Boy Scout Anniversary Day

Kite Flying Day

National Molasses Bars Day

OOH!  These are GOOD celebrations!!  I’ve always wanted to learn ballet (is 30 too late?), I secretly enjoy fettuccine alfredo, and cards in the REAL mail just can’t be beat.  Yay, yay, YAY!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

As I read this to Wee One today, I definitely remembered MY mama reading this to ME!

The Tale of Mr. Jeremy Fisher

By Beatrix Potter

Lucky for him, his macintosh and galoshes really came in handy!  I want some galoshes!!

DO RE MI.

This song always reminds me of Sister Act…gosh, I haven’t seen that movie in forever….

Oh, Happy Day

Sung by Aretha Franklin and Mavis Staples

To purchase and download “Oh, Happy Day”, sung by Aretha Franklin and Mavis Staples, click below:

Oh Happy Day

Lyrics:

Chorus
Oh happy days;
Oh happy days;
Oh happy days;
Oh happy days;

When Jesus washed;
(when jesus washed)
When Jesus washed;
(when jesus washed)
When Jesus washed
(when jesus washed)
He washed my sins away!

Chorus

He taught me how;
Taught me how to watch;
He taught me how to watch;
And fight and pray;
Fight and pray;
Yes fight and pray!

Chorus

And he’ll rejoice;
And He’ll, and he’ll
Rejoice in things we say
And He’ll rejoice
In things we say
Things we say
Yes in things we say!

Chorus To download the piano and vocal sheet music version of “Oh, Happy Day”, click here.

There is something SO BEAUTIFUL about this song’s simplicity, and its lyrical qualities….ahhh….

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 8: Let’s. Go. Fly a kite!

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

For some reason, I REALLY had a hard time finding a good molasses bar recipe + picture.  Grr.  SO, instead, I am posting a recipe for…(dum dah dah DUMMMMMM):

Whole Wheat Brown Sugar Banana Bread Pancakes from How Sweet It Is


Um, YES PLEASE!!  WOW….what a combo!

ACTION.

When Wee One was a new newborn, we tried giving her a bath in our tub.  She HATED it (even though we had a super cute whale tub–go figure), and I think The Mister and I have been scarred ever since.  So, on our next go-around, The Mister put on some swimming trunks, and hopped right in the tub with her….and she LOVED it!  Ever since, she’s enjoyed splashing about in the water…as long as one of us is there.

Family bath time

As a bit of a warning, if you’re going to hop in the tub with your baby, this is really a three-person job…well, at least for us!  One in the tub with Wee One, and one waiting out of the tub with a towel for her.  Babies are really slippery, as are wet tubs, so, to be safe, I think it’s best to have an extra set of hands there to help!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Y.E.S.

Gay Marriage Bill Passes in Washington State By Brett Smiley

Excerpt:

Republican representative Maureen Walsh, whose daughter told her she was gay a few years ago, voted in favor of the bill on the basis of equality. “Nothing’s different,” Walsh said. “She’s still a fabulous human being. And some day, by God, I want to throw a wedding for that kid.”

How many more states to go?

WORK IT.

Negative Sit Up

(From familycircle.com)

Start by sitting on the floor with your feet flat on the ground, knees bent and pointed toward the ceiling. Fold your arms in front of your chest. This is your starting position.

Slowly roll back and lower yourself to the ground, one vertebra at a time. The toughest part will be the second half of the exercise, when your lower back is already on the ground and you’re rolling the rest of your spine down.

Return to starting position without using your hands.

Complete 3 sets of 15 slow reps.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

This is the view from our guestroom bed.

Huge skylights and windows…my absolute favorite room in the house!

WWW.

This site is very creative, for you crafty-creatives out there!

Chez Beeper Bebe

This blogtress is just neat!

I mean, check out these fabric letters she made, as magnets!

Alphabet Sets from Chez Beeper Bebe

Grrrr…I need to learn to sew ASAP!  (And actually REMEMBER how to use the sewing machine!)

HMMM.

How do you feel about the legal status of gay marriage in the US?

It’s Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday…woo hoo!

