What a Saturday!  We spent most of the day either cooking, baking, or watching movies….it was so enjoyable!

What did YOU do?

QUOTABLES.

Don’t eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food.

Michael Pollan

The Mister has read some of Michael Pollan’s books…I haven’t, yet, but they look interesting.  I agree with this quote, to the degree that it applies to processed foods.  However, I don’t know that my great-grandmother would recognize “sushi”, and I still really am a fan of that!  🙂

CELEBRATIONS.

February 11, 2012 is…

Don’t Cry Over Spilled Milk

Make A Friend Day

National Inventors Day

National Peppermint Patty Day

Did you ever read the children’s book, “It Looked Like Spilled Milk”?  I remember doing a classroom activity based on this book once in elementary school….we all cut out a “cloud”, shaped like something else…if that makes sense? I won the book in a raffle, and I think I still have it somewhere.  My cloud was in the shape of a “swan” (if I remember correctly), but, well, let’s just say I’m not much of an artist!!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Another book by Lois Ehlert!

Eating the Alphabet

By Lois Ehlert

The book just has the alphabet, and the names of fruits and vegetables…but Wee One was entranced!

DO RE MI.

I wonder where this title came from…?

Skidamarink

Sung by The Countdown Kids

To purchase and download “Skidamarink”, sung by The Countdown Kids, click below:

Skidamarink

Lyrics:

Skidamarink a dink a dink,
Skidamarink a doo,
I love you.
Skidamarink a dink a dink,
Skidamarink a doo,
I love you.I love you in the morning
And in the afternoon,
I love you in the evening
And underneath the moon;
Oh, Skidamarink a dink a dink,
Skidamarink a doo,
I love you!

This song is SO cheerful!  I’ve sung it to Wee One MANY times!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 11: Breakfast.  The most important meal of the day!

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

I was in the mood for something chocolate-y today, so I found the following recipe:

Thick-n-Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies from The Kitchen Magpie

Here’s a photo I snapped of the resulting cookies:

Instead of using semi-sweet chocolate chips, I used 1 cup milk chocolate chips, and 1 cup butterscotch chips, leftover from another recipe.  Pretty tasty (if I do say so myself!), but awfully sweet…I think next time, I may just stick to the semi-sweet chips, even if I have to open a new bag.  🙂

 These cookies have an AMAZING consistency….it’s a great recipe!!

ACTION.

Wee One gets such a kick out of this activity!

Nose (“Eskimo”) Kisses

Every time we do this, she smiles

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

An interesting article on President Obama…

Obama, Explained by James Fallows

Excerpt:

Not knowing how the election will turn out, what can we say now? I’m not talking about how Obama looks to the roughly one-third of Americans who have been skeptical of him from the start—his highest approval rating was around 70 percent, just after he took office—nor about how he looks to the nearly comparable number who by the end of last year said they still had “strongly favorable” opinions of his performance. But for the seemingly huge number of people who sense that he has shrunk in office and that his administration has achieved less than it should or could have, and for scholars, historians, and political veterans who have matched it against presidencies of the past, is there an objective way to judge Obama’s competence and control?Chipotle stands out for some unusual process innovations as well. Their “barbecued” meat products—carnitas and barbacoa—are vacuum-packed and cooked sous-vide in Chicago before being shipped out for on-site reheating.

Thoughts?

WORK IT.

Flip-Flop

(From goodhousekeeping.com)

Targets: Abs

Lie facedown, arms overhead. Inhale and then, exhaling, contract abs and roll over onto back, arms still overhead.

From here, bring knees toward chest and lift shoulders off mat, sweeping arms down to sides. Lower body onto mat, arms overhead again, and flip back onto tummy. Repeat for one minute, alternating direction you flip each time.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

In addition to the cookies I baked, I also tried to re-create a Popcorn Indiana product…chocolate covered kettle corn!

First, I spread store-bought (Popcorn Indiana) kettle corn on a wax paper-lined cookie sheet.  Next, in a microwave-safe bowl, I melted 1 cup milk chocolate chips, 1 cup butterscotch chips, and 1 tablespoon of peanut butter.  I drizzled the chocolate mixture over the popcorn, and put outside to set.  (It’s really cold out!  A freezer also would have done the trick!)  Voila!  It was VERY good (no…really…even The Mister liked it!)

(And, yes, we had something very protein and veggie filled for dinner to combat all of this chocolate-y goodness!)

WWW.

I will be completely honest…When I saw the title of this blog, I was hesitant.  I am NOT a runner.  I have always WANTED to be a runner.  I have TRIED to be a runner.  But, I am NOT a runner.  However, don’t let the name sway you.  (Or, if you ARE a runner, then please, let it sway you!)  FOR…this is a FABULOUS blog!

Eat, Live, Run

I found it while searching for a peppermint patty recipe, and was so pleasantly surprised.

Make Your Own Peppermint Patties from Eat, Live, Run


I love peppermint patties, and am excited to try this recipe (and many others from the blog!)  I ESPECIALLY like that this recipe doesn’t call for wax, as many recipes do…for some reason, that kind of grosses me out!

HMMM.

What is your favorite type of popcorn?

Hmmm….I wonder what I’ll cook tomorrow?  I’m kind of getting into this cooking/baking thing!

