A relaxing Sunday….I was hoping to have an exciting day filled with lots of activities, but ended up just sort of lounging instead.  But, sometimes that’s okay, right?

QUOTABLES.

Spring is almost (?) here, and I am excited to spend lots of time outdoors with Wee One in the warmer weather!

CELEBRATIONS.

This week is:

Alzheimer’s and Dementia Awareness Week

Jello Week

Celebration of Love Week

Great Backyard Bird Count Week

Random Acts of Kindness Week

February 12, 2012 is…

Abraham Lincoln’s Birthday

Darwin Day

Man Day

Grammy Awards Day

NAACP Day

National Plum Pudding Day

A pretty diverse set of celebrations today and this week!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

This was another first-time book for me…I liked the rhyming, but the story was just “eh”, I guess…

Ed and Fred Flea

By Pamela Duncan Edwards

For somer reason, the fleas in the book weren’t that cute!

DO RE MI.

The Mister loves this song!

Here Comes the Sun

By The Beatles

According to The Mister, this may only be available on iTunes?

Lyrics:

Here comes the sun, doo doo doo doo
Here comes the sun, and I say
It’s alrightLittle darling
It’s been a long, cold, lonely winter
Little darling
It feels like years since it’s been here

Here comes the sun
Here comes the sun, and I say
It’s alright

Little darling
The smiles returning to the faces
Little darling
It seems like years since it’s been here

Here comes the sun
Here comes the sun, and I say
It’s alright

Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes

Little darling
I see the ice is slowly melting
Little darling
It seems like years since it’s been clear

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun and i say,
It’s alright

To download the piano, voice, and guitar sheet music version of “Here Comes The Sun”, click here; for the easy piano version, click here.

This song is SO cheerful!  I’ve sung it to Wee One MANY times!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 12: J-E-L-L-O!

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

Have you ever had plum pudding?  I have NOT, but it IS one of today’s celebrations, and this recipe looks quite delicious!

English Plum Pudding from Making Life Delicious

Now, is this something you can make year-round, or is it generally reserved solely for the winter holidays?

ACTION.

This morning I saw (and heard) the most adorable thing!

Sing with baby

The Mister sang “You are my Boo Bear, and I love you” to Wee One, and she “sang” right along!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

I struggle with bottled water.  On one hand, I am working hard to drink more water, and, when on frequent car trips, bottled water is a convenient choice.  However, on the other hand, I have several re-usable water bottles, plastic bottles create oodles of waste, and tap water is also quite convenient.  (Although, gas station tap water DOES gross me out for some reason…)

Battling the Bottle: Students and Industry Face Off Over Water by Ted Burnham

Excerpt:

Bottled water is trickling away from college campuses nationwide, thanks to the efforts of student activists and the non-profit groups that support them with campaigns like Ban the Bottle.

But that’s not going over too well with the International Bottled Water Association. The industry, which had $10.6 billion in revenue in 2010, went on the defensive this month with a YouTube video to counter what it calls “misinformation” used to turn college students against bottled water.

Is it better to choose bottled water over other drinks, or should bottled water be avoided at all costs?

WORK IT.

Windshield Wiper

(From prevention.com)

Targets: Abs

Lie face up with arms out to your sides, palms down, and legs bent at 90 degrees so feet are off the floor. Keep abs tight and slowly lower legs to the left as far as possible, keeping shoulders on the floor. Pause, then return to start. Repeat to the right. Do 20 reps, alternating sides.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Today, I made a spicy pasta…

Homemade spicy marinara sauce + veggies + tuna + pasta + parmesan = quick meal!

WWW.

OOOH…I am SO excited to share this AWESOME site with ya’ll!!

Giver’s Log

Recipes, tutorials, printables, books, organization…and so much more!  EEEK…I love it!!

For example, the site contains an entire section on happy mail…who doesn’t love REAL mail??

I mean, how neat is this?

Bubble Wrap Hopscotch from Giver’s Log

I want to make this for Wee One….but, am tempted to make it for myself!  Fun!

HMMM.

It’s a day to celebrate Abraham Lincoln and Darwin—which contributions of theirs do you value the most?  I tried to pick just one contribution from one of them, but couldn’t pick one over the other, so….feel free to pick one (or more!) from each.

Are you looking forward to the week ahead?  I hope so!  Imagine all of the exciting and wonderful possibilities in store!

