It was Wee One’s 6 month well baby visit…I can’t believe how quickly this time is flying by!

What is your week looking like?

QUOTABLES.

It always surprises me how much hate is often invoked in the name of Christianity….if there’s one word to sum up what my faith means to me, I think this quote does quite a good job.

CELEBRATIONS.

February 13, 2012 is…

Clean Out Your Computer Day

National Tortellini Day

Westminster Dog Show

Interesting…I was JUST going through and deleting duplicate pics on my computer, and didn’t even KNOW it was “Clean Out Your Computer Day”!

THE WRITTEN WORD.

Today’s book is pretty cute.

Mrs. Toggle’s Zipper

By Robin Pulver

A silly concept, but cute!

DO RE MI.

This is one of my favorite songs to sing to Wee One.

A Bushel and a Peck

From “Guys and Dolls”

To purchase and download “A Bushel and a Peck”, from “Guys and Dolls”, click the link below:

A Bushel And A Peck

Lyrics:

I love you a bushel and a peck
A bushel and a peck and a hug around the neck
A hug around the neck and a barrel and a heap
A barrel and a heap and I’m talkin’ in my sleep
About you, about you
‘Cause I love you a bushel and a peck
You bet your purdy neck I do

A doodle-oodle-ooh-doo
A-doodle-oodle-oodle-ooh-doo

I love you a bushel and a peck
A bushel and a peck though you make my heart a wreck
Make my heart a wreck and you make my life a mess
Make my life a mess, yes a mess of happiness
About you, about you
‘Cause I love you a bushel and a peck
You bet your purdy neck I do

A doodle-oodle-ooh-doo
A-doodle-oodle-oodle-ooh-doo

I love you a bushel and a peck
A bushel and a peck and it beats me all to heck
It beats me all to heck, how I’ll ever tend the farm
Ever tend the farm when I wanna keep my arm
About you, about you
‘Cause I love you a bushel and a peck
You bet your purdy neck I do

A doodle-oodle-ooh-doo
A-doodle-oodle-oodle-ooh-doo
A-doodle-oodle-oodle-ooh-doo
A-doodle-oodle-ooh-doo-doo

Such a fun song!

NOURISHMENT.

I was so excited to see this recipe, in honor of National Tortellini Day, on a GREAT site!

Tortellini Soup from Annie’s Eats

The Mister and I tried a Bertolli brand frozen soup similar to this, but it was SO salty!  To THIS recipe, I might try adding chicken, and just a splish splash of cream.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 13: Snack-ity Snack

Follow me on Pinterest.

ACTION.

Wee One had a bunch o’ shots today, so she was really tired and a little sore this afternoon.

Cuddle

So, we spent extra time cuddling!  I sure hope she is a cuddle bug for a long, long time!  Wee One is quite an independent spirit, but still likes to cuddle sometimes…I hope this continues!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

I heart, heart, HEART Adele.  This isn’t because she is the biggest thing since sliced bread.  It is because she is an EXTRAORDINARY talent…particularly outstanding in today’s “pop” music environment, which, well, I pretty much despise.  All of the electronic yuckiness out there is enough to make me…well, vomit.

Adele: One and Only by Jonathan Van Meter

Excerpt:

One day in London, her publicist at Sony in the U.S., Benny Tarantini, brings her a bunch of year-end issues of American magazines, three of which had her on the cover, and one of which, Entertainment Weekly, contained a love letter of a piece written by no less than Julia Roberts. I watch from across the room as she absentmindedly flips through them while talking to Tarantini. When her miniature dachshund, Louis Armstrong, comes scampering up, she tosses the magazines aside and scoops up Louis, her priorities made visible.

It’s clear that Adele has very mixed feelings about the machinery of fame. When I jokingly ask her later if the novelty has worn off, she says very firmly, “The novelty’s not worn off.” She takes a second to think about it. “That Julia Roberts thing? I was flabbergasted. I no longer buy papers or tabloids or magazines or read blogs. I used to. But it was just filling up my day with hatred. So, loads of friends e-mailed me the Julia Roberts link. And that was truly like. . . . I can’t remember not knowing of her!”

And yet she doesn’t always enjoy the celebrity circus. “I hate the red carpet. I don’t feel insecure, I just feel like, Oh, I don’t want to do this. I literally get a stomach cramp. At the VMA’s last year I felt really out of my comfort zone because there were so many superstars there. But that’s been the case from day one. I never feel like, Oh, yeah, I should be here. And I was missing my best friend’s hen night. So I was a bit bitter that I wasn’t there, to be perfectly honest.”

I hope Adele and her music are along for a GOOD LONG, LOOOOONG while!  The rest of these less-than-one-hit-wonders need to exit the music scene, and make room for more lovely artists like A.

WORK IT.

Slimming Swirl

(from fitnessmagazine.com)

Targets: Glutei maximus, medius, and minimus, and legs

Stand with heels together, toes out, holding chair back with right hand. Lift heels (still touching) off floor; bend knees 90 degrees out to sides.

Maintaining plié, tuck pelvis as you squeeze glutes and then arch your back slightly. Do 10 reps.

Draw 10 clockwise circles with hips, squeezing glutes to tuck position at 12 o’clock. Do 10 counterclockwise circles; finish with 10 more tucks.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

I made Stuffed Pepper Soup, based on this recipe from Skinny Taste.

Stuffed Pepper Soup from Skinnytaste.com (Modified by Rally and Meels)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups cooked brown rice (I used frozen brown rice)
  • 1 lb 95% lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper (I used 1 whole green pepper)
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper (I used 1 whole red pepper)
  • 1 cup finely diced onion (I used 1 small onion)
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 cans (14.5 oz each) cans petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 3/4 cups tomato sauce
  • 2 cups reduced sodium, fat-free chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste
Additions by Rally and Meels
  • splash of red wine to brown rice
  • 1 teaspoon (or more) crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • cheese and light sour cream to garnish

Directions:

In a large pot or dutch oven, brown ground meat on high heat (with splash of red wine)  and season with salt.Drain fat if any, reduce heat to medium-low, then add peppers, onions and garlic (along with red pepper flakes, Italian seasoning, and garlic powder).  Cook about 5 minutes on low heat.

Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, marjoram and season with salt and pepper to taste. Cover and simmer on low heat for 30 minutes. Serve about 1 1/3 cups of soup in each bowl and top with 1/2 cup cooked brown rice (and cheese and sour cream).

Makes about 8 cups.

WWW.

Wonderful site for parents!  Oh, SO wonderful!

Modern Parents Messy Kids

I am very intrigued by Montessori activities, so I was VERY pleased to see some info. on this FABULOUS site!

5 Introductory Activities for the Montessori Newbie from Modern Parents Messy Kids

Do any of you participate in Montessori or Waldorf-type educational programs?

HMMM.

What one word would define your faith/religion/belief system?

How has your week started out?  Hopefully WONDERFULLY!

