“On the road again…” doo doo do dooo!

QUOTABLES.

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.

St. Augustine

There are times I’ve loved to travel, and times I’m quite the homebody.  The past few months, I’ve been staying at home quite a bit, and have yet again been bitten by the travelin’ bug…so, off we go to visit Wee One’s Grammy and Grandpa!  I can’t bear to think of only reading one page of a lovely book, after all!

CELEBRATIONS.

February 16, 2012 is…

National Almond Day

What is your favorite type of nut?  Peanut?  Pistachio nut?  Walnut?

Did you ever see that scene from “Best in Show” where one of the dog owners lists all of his favorite types of nuts?  Te hee…it makes me laugh!  If you’ve never seen it, it’s pretty funny:

Christopher Guest movies are hilarious.

THE WRITTEN WORD.

This was one of Wee One’s Valentine’s Day gifts from her Grammy…

Elmo Loves You

From Sesame Street

I used to LOVE Sesame Street, and I’m so excited to watch it once Wee One gets a bit older!

DO RE MI.

I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it a million times more.  I ADORE Adele!

Rolling in the Deep

By Adele

To download “Rolling in the Deep” by Adele, click below:

Rolling In The Deep

Lyrics (Warning: Some adult language)

There’s a fire starting in my heart
Reaching a fever pitch, it’s bringing me out the dark
Finally I can see you crystal clear
Go ‘head and sell me out and I’ll lay your ship [shit] bare
See how I leave with every piece of you
Don’t underestimate the things that I will do

There’s a fire starting in my heart
Reaching a fever pitch
And it’s bringing me out the dark

The scars of your love remind me of us
They keep me thinking that we almost had it all
The scars of your love, they leave me breathless
I can’t help feeling
We could have it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside your hand
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
And you played it, to the beat
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)

Baby, I have no story to be told
But I’ve heard one on you
And I’m gonna make your head burn
Think of me in the depths of your despair
Make a home down there
As mine sure won’t be shared

(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
The scars of your love remind me of us
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
They keep me thinking that we almost had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
The scars of your love, they leave me breathless
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
I can’t help feeling
We could have had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside your hand
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
And you played it, to the beat
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
Could have had it all
Rolling in the deep
You had my heart inside your hand
But you played it, with a beating

Throw your soul through every open door
Count your blessings to find what you look for
Turn my sorrow into treasured gold
You’ll pay me back in kind and reap just what you’ve sown

(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
We could have had it all
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
We could have had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
It all, it all, it all
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)

We could have had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside your hand
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
And you played it to the beat
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)

We could have had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside of your hand
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)

But you played it
You played it
You played it
You played it to the beat.

To download “Rolling in the Deep” sheet music for piano, voice, and guitar, click here; for the easy piano sheet music, click here.

Although there’s an “adult word” used in this song, it doesn’t bother me.  Wee One isn’t old enough to know what it means, and even if she was older, I think I’d still probably let her listen to it…what are your thoughts about profanity in song lyrics?

NOURISHMENT.

Almonds are QUITE nutritious, and pretty tasty as well!  I’m especially tasty to different flavors of almonds for snacking.

Cinnamon and Sugar Toasted Almonds as seen on Fitsugar

I always see (actually, SMELL!) the roasted cinnamon and sugar almonds at various fairs and outdoor activities, but I don’t think I’ve ever tried them.  They smell delicioso, and so I thought this recipe is worth a try!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 16: Almond Joy

Follow me on Pinterest.

ACTION.

I didn’t plan for this to be today’s activity, but it was SO funny, I just had to include it.

Wear hats

The Mister put a baseball cap on Wee One during one of our pit stops on our road trip, and she had so much fun with it!  Of course, it was way too big for her head, but whenever it fell, she sure thought it was awfully funny!  I bet she’d like other hats, too!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Are you an NBC sitcom fan?  We used to faithfully watch The Office, Parks and Recreation, and 30 Rock, but our viewing of these shows has waned since Wee One’s birth.

We started watching 30 Rock again, from the beginning, on Netflix, and I sheepishly have to admit I enjoy seeing the storyline progress, episode by episode.

Tina Fey and the Cult of Liz Lemon by Ali Goldstein

Excerpt:

Liz Lemon has always been compared to Mary Richards of The Mary Tyler Moore Show, another brainy, clumsy, proudly independent woman trying to prove she’s gonna make it after all. She gave her fans the same mix of intense devotion and identification, and the networks took notice. So every time Mary threw her hat up into the air, it landed on a Mary Tyler Moore knockoff: Rhoda, Phyllis, Karen, Sara and more. Yet Liz Lemon, like Fey herself, remains a fluke of the universe. Jack Donaghy (Alec Baldwin) once described her as “the Picasso of loneliness.”

Is Liz Lemon a character to last for decades?

WORK IT.

Prone Runner

(from cookinglight.com)

Targets:  Abs, back

Face seat of a sturdy bench or chair, hold outside edges, and step back into plank position, legs extended, holding weight between arms and toes. Slowly lower one knee toward the ground, without touching, then bring back to plank position and lower other knee. Keep abs contracted and back straight. Continue alternating knees. Perform up to 24 repetitions, 12 on each leg, per set.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Our dog loves to hop into the driver’s seat every chance he gets!

He’s so good on car trips, even those of the very long variety!  Ah, he’s such a good pup!

WWW.

A site with healthy recipes that look TASTY…can’t beat that!

Dashing Dish

Katie’s goal is to include healthy recipes that don’t sacrifice taste for nutrition.  I like that philosophy!

The Mister is a secret fan of Pizza Rolls.  He knows they’re “junk food”, but likes to snack on them occasionally.  I’ve tried them, and don’t really get their appeal.  BUT, since he likes them, I thought I’d try a recipe that looks quite similar to the pizza rolls in a bag, but is much more healthy!

Pizza Rolls from Dashing Dish

I showed The Mister this pic, and he said these rolls look awfully good….and he’s a tough critic!

HMMM.

What is your most favorite place to visit?

Time to get some rest…traveling is tiring!

