Oooh….lots of family around today.  I JUST LOVE IT!!

QUOTABLES.


Sometimes I’m in a wine mood, and sometimes I’m more of a mixed drink gal.  Now, by “sometimes”, of course, I mean once a week or so!  (Don’t want you to get the wrong impression!)

CELEBRATIONS.

February 18, 2012 is…

Crab-stuffed Flounder Day

Drink Wine Day

National Battery Day

Pluto Day

Hmmm….I wonder if there are days to celebrate EVERY planet….

THE WRITTEN WORD.

This book is one of Wee One’s favorites from her Grammy…they read it every time we go to visit!

Pajama Time

By Sandra Boynton

Oh, Sandra Boynton, you DO write such wonderful stories!

DO RE MI.

Wee One’s great grammy said today, “It’ll be what it’ll be.”  Which, made me think of this song!

Que Sera Sera

Sung by Doris Day

To download “Rolling in the Deep” by Adele, click below:

Que Sera Sera

Lyrics 

When I was just a little girl,
I asked my mother, “What will I be?
Will I be pretty?
Will I be rich?”
Here’s what she said to me:”Que sera, sera,
Whatever will be, will be;
The future’s not ours to see.
Que sera, sera,
What will be, will be.”When I was just a child in school,
I asked my teacher, “What will I try?
Should I paint pictures”
Should I sing songs?”
This was her wise reply:

“Que sera, sera,
Whatever will be, will be;
The future’s not ours to see.
Que sera, sera,
What will be, will be.”

When I grew up and fell in love.
I asked my sweetheart, “What lies ahead?
Will we have rainbows
Day after day?”
Here’s what my sweetheart said:

“Que sera, sera,
Whatever will be, will be;
The future’s not ours to see.
Que sera, sera,
What will be, will be.”

Now I have Children of my own.
They ask their mother, “What will I be?”
Will I be handsome?
Will I be rich?”
I tell them tenderly:

“Que sera, sera,
Whatever will be, will be;
The future’s not ours to see.
Que sera, sera,
What will be, will be.
Que Sera, Sera!”

To download “Rolling in the Deep” sheet music for piano, voice, and guitar, click here; for the easy piano sheet music, click here.

For some reason, the only memory I have of this song is playing it on the piano at MY grandma’s house…such GOOD memories.

NOURISHMENT.

I like crab, and firm white fish.  The combo is okay to me, but I guess I prefer them separately.  However, in honor of one of today’s celebrations, I looked for a “Crab stuffed flounder” recipe.  And, ya know what?  This looks pretty good!

Crab Stuffed Flounder from The Butter Dish

This site has lots of great looking recipes…you should give it a look!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 18: Time for wine

Follow me on Pinterest.

ACTION.

Wee One has a LOT of toys.  (I say they’re more for the Mister and me than they are for her!)  But, I should have known that today’s activity is one of her favorites!

Play with bowls, and other (SAFE) kitchen utensils.

She constantly wants to play with big kid stuff (computers, remotes, cell phones, dishes, etc.), so it’s really no wonder that she had a BLAST playing with plastic bowls and a spatula today!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Republic?  Democrat?  Independent?

What?  Me Worry?  By David Weigel

Excerpt:

The headline spoiled the column. James Pethokoukis, the chart-loving opinion-maker at the American Enterprise Institute, started with a warning: “How Republicans can win even if the economy keeps improving.”

How they can win? Had Pethokoukis lost the rights to his old pieces like “Obama Faces Worst-Case 2012 Scenario” and “If Obama Loses, It Will Be Because of This One Chart?” All of a sudden he was drawing up Republican battle plans based on contingencies, concluding that the party “just might” win if everything remains stagnant.

We’re living through the phony war of the Republican primary. Barack Obama’s buoyant poll numbers aren’t surprising anyone. The bigger worry is that Obama will get to preside over a solid economy. Republicans will re-enact the Bob Dole juggernaut of 1996. That’s not how this was supposed to work.

Do you have any thoughts about the upcoming presidential race?

WORK IT.

Tailbone Lifts

(from marieclaire.com)

Targets:  Lower ab muscles

Lie on your back, arms stretched straight over your head and legs fully extended and crossed in the air. Exhale and lift your tailbone, then slowly lower as you inhale (don’t just drop — resist on the way down). Repeat 30 times.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Wee One’s Grammy made cookies today.

They are bakery-worthy!

WWW.

I want to learn to sew SO badly, ESPECIALLY after viewing today’s site.

See Kate Sew

It. Is. PHENOMENAL!!!  Kate is one awfully talented chica, FOR SURE!

Don’t get me wrong, though…this site has more than just sewing!  There are lots of OTHER wonderful projects, too.

I think I could maybe manage this scrap map…if only I had fabric scraps!  (Any suggestions on where to find some??)

Scrap Map Tutorial from See Kate Sew

This would be SO perfect to hang somewhere in our house…argh!  I need to get crafting!!

HMMM.

Do you have a favorite type of wine?

Still a few more days of family bliss….yay!!!!

