What a long road trip back home!  But, it was well worth it.  And we got to listen to the GOP debate, which was…interesting.

QUOTABLES.

I walk on untrodden ground. There is scarcely any part of my conduct which may not hereafter be drawn into precedent.

George Washington

What a man of foresight.

CELEBRATIONS.

February 22, 2012 is…

Ash Wednesday

Be Humble Day

George Washington’s Birthday

Lent Begins

National Sweet Potato Day

National Margarita Day

Walking the Dog Day

I cannot believe that Lent has begun already.  One of my favorite of all church observations (other than Christmas), at least from when I was growing up, was Maundy Thursday.  Have you heard of that?  My home church did a really moving living last supper….

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I had never read this before, but what a fun way to learn the alphabet!

Dr. Seuss’ ABC

By Dr. Seuss

The rhyming really DOES get stuck in one’s head!

DO RE MI.

I think I sang this to Wee One on the night she came home from the hospital, as my mama used to sing to me

Kum Ba Yah 

Sung by Fran Bea

To download “Kum Ba Yah” sung by Fran Bea, click below:

Kum Ba Yah

Lyrics 

Kum ba yah, my lord, Kum ba yah!
Kum ba yah, my lord, Kum ba yah!
Kum ba yah, my lord, Kum ba yah.
O Lord, Kum ba yah

Someone’s crying, Lord, Kum ba yah!
Someone’s crying, Lord, Kum ba yah!
Someone’s crying, Lord, Kum ba yah!
O Lord, Kum ba yah

Someone’s singing, Lord, Kum ba yah!
Someone’s singing, Lord, Kum ba yah!
Someone’s singing, Lord, Kum ba yah!
O Lord, Kum ba yah

Someone’s praying, Lord, Kum ba yah!
Someone’s praying, Lord, Kum ba yah!
Someone’s praying, Lord, Kum ba yah!
O Lord, Kum ba yah

Oh, this song almost makes me cry a bit…I love it SO much.

NOURISHMENT.

In celebration of Margarita Day….

Raspberry Margarita from My Life as a Mrs.

Great blog….and tasty looking drink!  Definitely on the list of summer cocktails!

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

February 22: You say potato, I say sweet potato

Follow me on Pinterest.

ACTION.

Well, this activity worked a few times in the car.

“AH!”

I said “AH!”, and opened my mouth really wide, and Wee One mimicked this a few times in a row.  We haven’t gotten her to do it since, but we’re trying!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

I’ve always thought waiting tables was a study in psychology…..

How Waiters Read Your Table by Sarah Nassauer

Excerpt:

Called “having eyes” for a table, or “feeling” or “reading” the table by restaurant workers, it’s how the best waiters know what type of service you prefer before you tell them. From fine dining to inexpensive chains, restaurants are working to make service more individualized as the standard script (‘I’m so-and-so and I will be your server tonight”) is sounding dated.

Even chain restaurants like Denny’s, T.G.I. Friday’s, and Romano’s Macaroni Grill are focusing more on personalized service by training staff to note body language, eye contact and offhand remarks, hoping to make service feel less mechanical. Traditionally, eateries taught waiters to follow a script and push add-ons like desserts and drinks.

Have you ever worked in a restaurant?  If so, have you learned these things?

WORK IT.

Goblet Squat

(from oprah.com)

Targets:  Thighs and hips

Grab one end of a dumbbell with both hands and hold it vertically in front of your chest (pretend it’s a big goblet). Stand with your feet slightly beyond shoulder width [A]. Keeping your back naturally arched, push your hips back, bend your knees, and lower your body until the tops of your thighs are at least parallel to the floor [B]. Pause, and push yourself up to the starting position.

If that’s too hard: Do the same movement, but without the weight. (You can hold your arms straight out in front of you for balance.)

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

It was a loooooong trip…

Especially for our puppy!  I think he sat/slept like that for quite awhile!

WWW.

Great site with oodles of great content!

Lesley Graham

Gorgeous pics, DIY, recipes, decor…and so much more!  Definitely a super fun read!

Winter Root Vegetable Soup from Lesley Graham

Yum!  Lesley had a former blog at Homemade Grits…I’m assuming she copied her content over to the new site, but wanted to post a link to the old one, just in case she didn’t….it’s a wonderful site, too!!

HMMM.

Are you giving something up for Lent?

I miss everyone already!

