I believe I have mentioned this before, but seeing Wee One laugh is such a JOY!  I never know what is going to crack her up, and it’s a bit of an adventure each day!  For instance, today, The Mister thought it was a good idea to let her chew on his nose (No clue.  Don’t ask me.)  She got such a kick out of this, and kept squealing and giggling with abandon—just PRECIOUS!  I wish I could find so many things funny each day.  I think I need to become friends with a comedian—any suggestions?

QUOTABLES.

I am thankful for laughter, except when milk comes out of my nose.

Woody Allen

I love laughing.  (Lame statement, I suppose, since who DOESN’T love laughing??)  I even love it when milk comes out of my nose.  ‘Cause it means something is REALLY funny.  And I love things that are really funny.

CELEBRATIONS.

January 11, 2012 is…

“Step in a puddle and splash your friends” Day

Cigarettes are Hazardous to Your Health Day

National Hot Toddy Day

Milk Day

“Step in a puddle and splash your friends”?  Well, normally, I would laugh at the suggestion that this day occur in January, a time filled with many more snowdrifts than puddles.  However, with the high temperatures throughout the country this year, a plethora of puddles really isn’t out of the question!

I have always wanted to go jumping in the puddles, and, now that Wee One is a part of my life, I can see the potential for this in the future…yay!  (Although, we may need to postpone this celebration until sometime later in the spring or summer months.)

And, along with puddle jumping, I have always wanted to own a pair of rain boots…I did own a pair once, but never really made much use of them.  I’d like a pair of RED rain boots…the following come in red, and look so puddle-worthy!

I think that Wee One should have a matching pair…don’t you?  The following are adorable, but maybe in red?

Regarding the idea that cigarettes are dangerous to your health, this is quite a true statement.  I’ve never smoked one, but I know plenty of people who do, and many who wish they had never started.  May fewer and fewer people undertake this habit…

As far as hot toddy’s go, I highly recommend one on a winter’s eve, if you or another (adult!) friend or loved one has a severe sore throat.  (Of course, I’m sure some people drink these just for fun, but I’ve typically used the drink for its soothing and healing qualities.)  See today’s recipe!

And, finally—a celebration of MILK!  My mama must be so excited to know there is a day devoted to this cool beverage!  I remember growing up, and having to drink a glass of milk with nearly every meal.  (I was never partial to the cartoned variety they serve at school, however!)  What happened to those days?  Milk is so good for you—calcium, protein, DELICIOUSNESS!  What more could a person ask for??

THE WRITTEN WORD.

I had forgotten about this childhood favorite, until I found it in a stack of my books several months ago.  I first opened the book today to read to Wee One, and was pleasantly surprised to recall this charming tale.  (I’m not sure why I don’t have Tail One, but Tail Two is excellent, and I don’t think you’re missing anything from the first “Leo the Lop” adventure by going straight to the second book.)

Leo the Lop, Tail Two 

By Stephen Cosgrove

Oh Leo….this was such a good “tail”!

DO RE MI.

I remember my young cousin Kiel singing this when he was a Wee One himself…he was so cute singing it!

Do Your Ears Hang Low?

Sung by Joanie Bartels

To purchase and download “Do Your Ears Hang Low?” sung by Joanie Bartels, click below:

Do Your Ears Hang Low

Lyrics:

Do your ears hang low?
Do they wobble to and fro?
Can you tie them in a knot?
Can you tie them in a bow?
Can you throw them o’er your shoulder
like a continental soldier?
Do your ears hang low?

Do your ears hang high?
Do they reach up to the sky?
Do they droop when they are wet?
Do they stiffen when they’re dry?
Can you semaphore your neighbour
with a minimum of labour?
Do your ears hang high?

Do your ears flip-flop?
Can you use them for a mop?
Are they stringy at the bottom?
Are they curly at the top?
Can you use them for a swatter?
Can you use them for a blotter?
Do your ears flip-flop?

Do your ears hang out?
Can you waggle them about?
Can you flip them up and down
as you fly around the town?
Can you shut them up for sure
when you hear an awful bore?
Do your ears hang out?

To purchase and download the piano sheet music for “Do Your Ears Hang Low”, click here.

Thought this song was appropriate, considering the “tail” we read today.

PINTEREST BOARD OF THE DAY.

January 11: Milk.  (It does a body good.)

Follow me on Pinterest.

NOURISHMENT.

National Hot Toddy Day calls for a Hot Toddy Recipe.

Jean’s Hot Toddy at Emily’s Style Blog

Cheerio!

ACTION.

When Wee One was only a few days old, she and I took a bike ride around the neighborhood.  No, not an ACTUAL bike ride, silly….a pretend one!  I bicycled her little legs, and talked about all of the people we saw on our “ride”, and things we did.  It was such a fun way to introduce her to our li’l town!

Bicycle baby’s legs.

This can really be done at a very young age, and baby’s seem to truly enjoy it, so bike away!

EXTRA, EXTRA, READ ALL ABOUT IT.

Do you remember yesterday, when I talked about how I don’t watch much TV anymore?  Well, there is ONE show I was excited about this winter–the new Chelsea Handler sitcom.  I am such a fan of Chelsea, and really connect with her sense of humor—she cracks me up all of the time!

Well, I tuned in to the premiere of “Are You There, Chelsea?” tonight, and, dear readers…..so disappointed.  For some reason, Chelsea plays her sister, not herself.  The actress who plays Chelsea, from “That Seventies Show”, is just terrible.  Chelsea—girl, what were you thinking?  People like you because of YOU, not some cheap imitation!!  Needless to say, I won’t be watching this show again.  Boo.  Two thumbs WAY down.  I guess I’m stuck with Chelsea Lately….?

Here’s an article about Chelsea’s sitcom debut:

“Is Network TV Ready for Chelsea Handler?” by T. L. Stanley

Excerpt:

“So we’re clear that this single-gal-in-the-city tale isn’t ‘The Mary Tyler Moore’show, right?

In this post-‘Bridesmaids,’ Kathy Griffin, ‘2 Broke Girls’ era, female comedians are increasingly testing boundaries like never before, industry watchers say. And Handler, a late-night talk show host who sharpens her barbs on the stand-up circuit, is happy to march right up to the line of what’s considered acceptable broadcast humor with ‘Are You There, Chelsea?,’ which is loosely based on her bestselling book ‘Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea.'”

WORK IT.

Bicycle Crunches

(From shape.com)

Targets: Abs

Lie flat on the floor with your lower back pressed to the ground and contract your core muscles. With your hands gently holding your head, lift your knees to about a 45-degree angle. Slowly, at first, go through a bicycle pedal motion, alternately touching your elbows to the opposite knees as you twist back and forth. Breathe evenly throughout the exercise.

Complete 1 set of 60 reps.

A PICTURE IS WORTH 1,000 WORDS.

Shopping for baby clothes is so fun!  I usually go the “gently-used” route, since there’s really no sense in spending oodles on something Wee One will wear once or twice.

Besides, it will only be so long before she insists on being independent, and vetoes many of my suggestions, so I’m trying to make the most of this fun before it is over!

WWW.

I have loved “How About Orange”, probably since its inception…..

How About Orange

Jessica Jones is so, so, SOOOO talented….Jessica, can you somehow transfer some of that talent to me….just a teensy bit??  🙂  Her tutorials and downloads are FAB-u….check out this example!

Make a Garland from Woven Paper Balls

HMMM.

What is your secret cure for winter colds and flus?

The forecast is for snow—for me, it’s the first snow of the season.  Woo hoo!!  Yay for hot cocoa, fire in the fireplace, popcorn…so excited!!